The Famous Aberdeen - Season 2022/23

44 minutes ago, lubo_blaha said:

How are we as fans able to work out what value one coach is bringing compared to another? We don’t know what they work on at Cormack Park. With Russell being brought in as a set piece/striker specialist, you could say we’ve scored a few from corners but it’s hard to judge him given that we only have one striker, who has done pretty well but probably isn’t going to change his game dramatically as he’s already 30 years old.

I included Brown as he has the same job title as the other two but who knows how much time he’s actually coaching the team instead of training himself. Apaloo seemingly has a background in analysis and player development which would make his impact quite difficult to judge as well.

It’s clear the team’s output is less than the sum of their parts but I don’t think there’s any way to establish with substance if one coach is performing better than any other. Glass may need more experience but at the end of the day, all of the first team staff there were his choices (as far as I’m aware).

Officially though, Russell is the AM and Brown and Apalloo are coaches. 

Annual report:

"Stephen Glass was appointed as the Club’s new manager on 29th March 2021, and subsequently introducedAllan Russell as his assistant, along with Scott Brown as player/coach and Henry Apaloo as a coach. The Club then took the opportunity to restructure the Football Operation by promoting Steven Gunn to the role of Director of Football from his 
previous position as Director of 
Football Operations. In his new 
position, Steven is responsible for 
all of the Club’s football business 
including the youth academy, 
professional men’s teams, and our women’s team."

I wonder if we didn't sign too many players because we are cutting the budget because with the losses last season was far too high. I have a major concern about having to sell a player each year to balance the books. 

Cormark talks about being open with the fans but we have heard nothing from him about this transfer window with now 4 days have past. 

Officially though, Russell is the AM and Brown and Apalloo are coaches. 
Annual report:
"Stephen Glass was appointed as the Club’s new manager on 29th March 2021, and subsequently introducedAllan Russell as his assistant, along with Scott Brown as player/coach and Henry Apaloo as a coach. The Club then took the opportunity to restructure the Football Operation by promoting Steven Gunn to the role of Director of Football from his 
previous position as Director of 
Football Operations. In his new 
position, Steven is responsible for 
all of the Club’s football business 
including the youth academy, 
professional men’s teams, and our women’s team."

I was going off what’s noted here:

https://www.afc.co.uk/teams/management/

I wonder if we didn't sign too many players because we are cutting the budget because with the losses last season was far too high. I have a major concern about having to sell a player each year to balance the books. 
Cormark talks about being open with the fans but we have heard nothing from him about this transfer window with now 4 days have past. 

I would be surprised if our playing budget hasn’t increased from last year. Ramirez, Brown, Watkins, JET, Gallagher, Bates and Besuijen will all be on a good wage and I’d imagine we’d have chipped in for Longstaff too. It’s hard to argue that Glass hasn’t been backed financially.

29 minutes ago, lubo_blaha said:

I would be surprised if our playing budget hasn’t increased from last year. Ramirez, Brown, Watkins, JET, Gallagher, Bates and Besuijen will all be on a good wage and I’d imagine we’d have chipped in for Longstaff too. It’s hard to argue that Glass hasn’t been backed financially.

I was meaning January transfer window, I do agree with you that Glass was well backed in the summer. That is why I don't know why people are going for Gunn etc when the previous transfer window we signed a lot of players. 

Edited by betting competition

13 minutes ago, IDoNotKnowThisOne said:

I dare say we will be. 

Sherriff can pay stupid money. His scoring record is impressive, and he'll have more than us offering. 

He's been without a club for 2 months now so i can't imagine there's a massive queue of clubs. Maybe he fancies going back to Colombia but i'd like to think we'd at least be having a conversation about him. After all it seems we are going down to South American route a lot more now. And he's 27 aswell. Coming in to his peak. 

16 hours ago, IDoNotKnowThisOne said:

Because it's clear we failed to convince a fair few players to sign this January, when we really needed strengthening. 

That's the issue. We have a laudable strategy of developing good young players. Hopefully the general quality will rise in time. At the moment with an inexperienced team we struggle to convince established players to come. We therefore will rely more on our development of players.

2 hours ago, lubo_blaha said:

https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/19901905.aberdeen-boss-stephen-glass-opens-bruce-anderson-exit-livingston/?ref=twtrec

Looking at free agent strikers apparently.

If any of the recruitment team are reading, don’t you dare sign Griffiths.

It'll be even more puzzling if/when we sign a free agent striker who was also without a club last month...

Why would it be puzzling? There’s a strong suggestion that oor main target was the lad fae Rotherham, Ladapo, right up tae the last minute. Didnae transpire so we’re now having tae look for alternatives. That’s nae tae say we shouldn’t have maybe drawn the line wi Ladapo much earlier

1 hour ago, 72redz said:

Why would it be puzzling? There’s a strong suggestion that oor main target was the lad fae Rotherham, Ladapo, right up tae the last minute. Didnae transpire so we’re now having tae look for alternatives. That’s nae tae say we shouldn’t have maybe drawn the line wi Ladapo much earlier

Where's the strong suggestion? There was 1 article staring we had an interest in him and that was from "Football Insider" or some bollocks like that. He also handed in a transfer request with 3 weeks of the window to go and their manager confirmed on Deadline Day that there hadn't been an offer for him at any point up until that day when a club came in at the last minute to try and do a loan deal which they weren't interested in. So if that part is true and you are right in saying he was our main target then what a roaring c**t we made of it. No other words to describe it. Absolutely shambolic. 

Yup. Feels like we are in the first innings of another soul destroying run. That’s 2 points from 12 against a poor Rangers, St Mirren, Ross County, and now Livi. Almost guaranteed to be 2 from 15 at 9:30 on Wednesday.

Next up is a tough cluster of fixtures. Without a big uplift in form coming out of that, it feels inevitable that it’s time up. But Data-Dave would have to overcome his ego to realise its time to pull the trigger.

I really wanted it to work, but it's just not happening. He's not going to be sacked immediately, though, so just have to hope that we have a post-Dens-esque revival, as utterly remote as that seems. If we get thrashed by Celtic and then Motherwell knock us out of the Scottish Cup, it will turn poisonous. 

I think Jim Goodwin and Scott Brown get on well, apropos of nothing.