The Famous Aberdeen - Season 2022/23

1 minute ago, Bob Mahelp said:

Not at all. 

Cormack himself has intimated that he reacted to 'fan pressure' in removing McInnes and appointing a pal. 

People screaming for McInnes to go and demanding that the grass should always be greener, were Cormack's useful idiots. 

Then that's still Cormack's and Glass's fault. Blaming it on the fans is bizarre.

If Cormack is the egotistical maniac people make him out to be and hell-bent on appointing his pal it's unlikely to have made a difference.

23 minutes ago, BucksburnDandy said:

It's over. Glass isn't up to it. Cut out losses and get rid.

Cormack will hold on no doubt because he won't want to admit the recruitment process of appointing a family friend was a farce

Sacked after a year, he's fucked up, sacked after a week, etc.

I've seen some bits and pieces of the Dons this year - don't think this team is in danger of going down, but they certainly don't look right just now. The big metaphorical book of Scottish football is short of an Aberdeen banter years chapter though, maybe it's coming. Glass will probably get a shot at the January window, but I doubt he gets past May. 

Guest Bob Mahelp
4 minutes ago, Rodhull said:

Then that's still Cormack's and Glass's fault. Blaming it on the fans is bizarre.

If Cormack is the egotistical maniac people make him out to be and hell-bent on appointing his pal it's unlikely to have made a difference.

OK, fairy nuff. I'll take a step backwards. Of course, it's not the direct fault of supporters that wanted change. 

I can't help but think though that Cormack used the desire of some supporters (not all) for the 'grass must be greener' change, to force McInnes out and bring it what looks very much like an idiotic, egotistical appointment. 

Regardless. We are where we are. 

And the fact is that Cormack will do nothing to change things, unless there is supporter pressure once again. 

Okay, so I got a loada grief for targeting Russel a few weeks back. I’m nae a Glass apologist, but, he’s been appointed and I still canna understand why we dinna have an auld heid as no. 2. Russel brings very little tae the table, ye wid think he could mhak the difference tae a team that has oor possession stats, but bar a few set pieces I dinna think he offers onything. Fitiver ye think o Glass and the setup, which, by the wye, disnae mhak ony sense, assistant manager is also team captain?? If yir trying something new wi a an inexperienced manager, at least have a number 2 wi something aboot him. Russel is fraud, the fact Marshall, the goalkeeper coach gets sent aff shows it hail bench set up is a joke. My point has aye been the Glass has been hung oot tae dry by Cormack nae supporting his inexperienced manager.

1 minute ago, 72redz said:

Okay, so I got a loada grief for targeting Russel a few weeks back. I’m nae a Glass apologist, but, he’s been appointed and I still canna understand why we dinna have an auld heid as no. 2. Russel brings very little tae the table, ye wid think he could mhak the difference tae a team that has oor possession stats, but bar a few set pieces I dinna think he offers onything. Fitiver ye think o Glass and the setup, which, by the wye, disnae mhak ony sense, assistant manager is also team captain?? If yir trying something new wi a an inexperienced manager, at least have a number 2 wi something aboot him. Russel is fraud, the fact Marshall, the goalkeeper coach gets sent aff shows it hail bench set up is a joke. My point has aye been the Glass has been hung oot tae dry by Cormack nae supporting his inexperienced manager.

I’d be more inclined to say The experience should be in the director of football role, IMO. I’m sure Steven Gunn is very talented but he’s not what glass needs above him. 

Glass still seems totally out of his depth in any case. 

1 minute ago, Dons_1988 said:

I’d be more inclined to say The experience should be in the director of football role, IMO. I’m sure Steven Gunn is very talented but he’s not what glass needs above him. 

Glass still seems totally out of his depth in any case. 

Maybe, but as I suggested a couple o weeks ago, if Cormack truly believes in Glass, then he should back him by getting rid o a specialist striker coach...sic and replace wi an experienced auldheid tae support Glass. It may be time for Glass tae get the bullet, but, my point has aye been, how can Cormack save face?

1 hour ago, Rodhull said:

That must be the beginning of the end for Glass now surely? Really hard to see us take more than a point or two at the very most before the next Scotland break. Given how much of a soft touch we are some of the upcoming games could get really ugly.

Then again Cormack may still be reluctant to give up on Glass that quick.

If he does turn it around then it's going to be one of those where it gets even worse before it gets better. 

16 minutes ago, 72redz said:

I mean, we literally scored from a corner in both previous games and had header cleared off the line from another tonight.

If anything he's the only one doing his job.

Okay, Monday morning, Cormack can either de nithin - likely and therefore questions will still be asked, pressure mounts for a hame game against Hibs

or, sack Glass, unlikely 

be seen tae de something, scapegoat, bring somebody tae help the manager.

Allan Russell is probably the only Aberdeen coach actually pulling his weight and contributing.

Clearly a personal vandetta on the go here from @72redz, as its just bizarre to be singling him out otherwise.

1 minute ago, Merkland Red said:

I mean, we literally scored from a corner in both previous games and had header cleared off the line from another tonight.

If anything he's the only one doing his job.

Sorry, but this is jist shite. The assistant manager, (canna count Broon in this role, he’s captain.. aye it’s fucked up). Craig Broon spiks some affa shite but he said the night that on average, a team scores once every 40 corners. You really saying we’re getting oor monies worth oot o Russel as a No2? Fuckin specialist coach disna count, that’s like a goalie coach, useful as a specialist, so, Russel may  have a role, but as assistant manager? Is he the good cop or the bad cop? Miserable b*****d that fir sure. Look I’m fine wi the get rid o the lot o them, but, we should never have accepted a situation far every member o the backroom staff has nae experience of e.g gan through o run o nae wins like we are.

Guest Bob Mahelp

I'd just like to point out that our next 4 games are Hibs, Rangers, Hearts and Motherwell. The way we're going at the moment, the odds pretty strong that will be second bottom in 3 weeks time. 

I say second bottom because I'm gambling that Ross County won't get 6 points in their next 4 games. 

That's 8 league games in a row where we've conceded first.  2 points from the last 7 matches. Humiliated in the League Cup. 

If anybody would like to use a word that describes our season other than 'freefall', I'll gladly take it. 

Edited by Bob Mahelp

I'd just like to point out that our next 4 games are Hibs, Rangers, Hearts and Motherwell. The way we're going at the moment, the odds pretty strong that will be second bottom in 3 weeks time. 
I say second bottom because I'm gambling that Ross County won't get 6 points in their next 4 games. 
That's 8 league games in a row where we've conceded first.  2 points from the last 7 matches. Humiliated in the League Cup. 
If anybody would like to use a word that describes our season other than 'freefall', I'll gladly take it. 

GASH

6 minutes ago, 72redz said:

Sorry, but this is jist shite. The assistant manager, (canna count Broon in this role, he’s captain.. aye it’s fucked up). Craig Broon spiks some affa shite but he said the night that on average, a team scores once every 40 corners. You really saying we’re getting oor monies worth oot o Russel as a No2? Fuckin specialist coach disna count, that’s like a goalie coach, useful as a specialist, so, Russel may  have a role, but as assistant manager? Is he the good cop or the bad cop? Miserable b*****d that fir sure. Look I’m fine wi the get rid o the lot o them, but, we should never have accepted a situation far every member o the backroom staff has nae experience of e.g gan through o run o nae wins like we are.

Log off, get some sleep.