The Famous Aberdeen - Season 2022/23

23 minutes ago, kingjoey said:

I’m a tad concerned that we will panic and offer Griffiths a contract. 

Could be wrong but If we were going to panic it would have been done while the window was open.

In fact I'm starting to think Diamond Dave has played a blinder here, watching all the other diddies fight over the detritus jettisoned by clubs during the shit window and is chillin by his pool with a rowie laughing at all the raging twitter kids with his wads of $ waiting for the real transfer window.😉

104153973-relax-in-the-pool-summer-young-and-successful-man-lying-on-a-sun-lounger-at-the-hotel-on-the-backgro.jpg.4254c8f571ae9521f8a5550164f4719c.jpg

26 minutes ago, Bogbrush1903 said:

I'm confused, I thought the transfer window was closed but now Campbell is off to Killie? The Daily Record page regarding the transfer seems to have been deleted

Domestic loans to the Championship downwards are allowed for another month.

20 hours ago, kilMARKnock said:

So Dean Campbell looks a goer for DM, thoughts gents?

My worry if I were a Killie fan would be that his very recent form has been dreadful.  He's had two or three games in a row where he can't seem to do anything right and to me looks like a player whose confidence is completely shot.  If Deek can fix that and get him back to playing at his best, he'll be an asset.

Edited by Game of throw-ins

I’m in no way suggesting that Glass was an ideal appointment, but, I genuinely don’t think he’s as clueless as folk mhak oot. I can see how he wants his team tae play but the times it’s clicked have been few and far between. I think ahbody can agree that the next 3 games are likely tae decide his fate. But I canna help thinking he has been badly let doon by Cormack. The model was tae be Glass as first team coach under a DoF with a Head of Recruitment- none of which were in place when Glass was appointed resulting in flawed summer recruitment. Appointing the inexperienced Gunn as DoF, Mowbury is the invisible man, leading tae a farce o a January windae - Glass has been hung oot. He’s also been let doon by nae appointing an experienced no. 2. I got pelters on here for questioning the value of Russell - apart fae a few interesting set pieces, the novelty value of which has lang passed, I dinna see fit this boy brings tae the table. Scoring goals is oor main problem, he is apparently an ‘elite’ striking coach - it’s nae working. And finally, Glass has been let doon time efter time by players poor judgement and decision making - baith defensively and going forward.  This may sound like a defence o Glass, it’s nae, if we continue tae struggle in the next twa games and get bulleted fae the cup then he should probably go. But the lack o key people in the background structure and the negligence o nae supporting Glass in the January windae has deen the manager nae favours.

24 minutes ago, 72redz said:

I’m in no way suggesting that Glass was an ideal appointment, but, I genuinely don’t think he’s as clueless as folk mhak oot. I can see how he wants his team tae play but the times it’s clicked have been few and far between. I think ahbody can agree that the next 3 games are likely tae decide his fate. But I canna help thinking he has been badly let doon by Cormack. The model was tae be Glass as first team coach under a DoF with a Head of Recruitment- none of which were in place when Glass was appointed resulting in flawed summer recruitment. Appointing the inexperienced Gunn as DoF, Mowbury is the invisible man, leading tae a farce o a January windae - Glass has been hung oot. He’s also been let doon by nae appointing an experienced no. 2. I got pelters on here for questioning the value of Russell - apart fae a few interesting set pieces, the novelty value of which has lang passed, I dinna see fit this boy brings tae the table. Scoring goals is oor main problem, he is apparently an ‘elite’ striking coach - it’s nae working. And finally, Glass has been let doon time efter time by players poor judgement and decision making - baith defensively and going forward.  This may sound like a defence o Glass, it’s nae, if we continue tae struggle in the next twa games and get bulleted fae the cup then he should probably go. But the lack o key people in the background structure and the negligence o nae supporting Glass in the January windae has deen the manager nae favours.

I don’t think anyone particularly defended Russell, I think it was just odd that he was singled out in an overall team that was failing. None of the coaching staff, manager, DoF, Mowbray or cormack from a football perspective, have really proven their worth yet. 

What makes you single out Russell and not Brown or Apaloo? I don’t really see how any fan would be able to determine whether one of our “Assistant First Team Coaches” is performing any better or worse than the others.

I’d say it’s hard to judge Russell as a striker coach in particular, given that we only have one striker on the books to work with and barely any attacking players who can supply him.

Broon is nae wye acting as the Manger’s no. 2, his role is clearly a player and captain and certainly fan it comes tae match days.  Fair point aboot Apaloo, but, disnae get awah fae the fact Glass should have the support o at least one experienced member o his backroom staff whether that be as a no. 2 or DoF. Fill yir boots and tell me fit value you see coming fae Russell? 

Edited by 72redz

2 minutes ago, lubo_blaha said:

What makes you single out Russell and not Brown or Apaloo? I don’t really see how any fan would be able to determine whether one of our “Assistant First Team Coaches” is performing any better or worse than the others.

I’d say it’s hard to judge Russell as a striker coach in particular, given that we only have one striker on the books to work with and barely any attacking players who can supply him.

Similar to what I was getting at in another thread (that I forgot to reply to)regarding Gunn, Cormack Et al.

Take Mowbray for example:

Leeds - Head of Performance Analysis - (Randomguy with a flat cap and whippets)

Boro' - Head of Technical Recruitment

Burnley - Player Recruitment

He's ok experience wise because he has "worked in recruitment" but apparently Gunn & Cormack (the guys who interviewed and employed the ok recruitment guy btw) are not fit for purpose was the vibe I got.

The point I'm already regretting alluding to is I have no problem in having differing opinions on people, their abilities or lack thereof. It's the folk, of which there are many that proclaim that x,y or z isn't up to a job because "stuff" that boils my piss.

Anyways..

SaCk The  BOarD

wets-pants-ralph-wiggum.gif.7f5fa40fe909290e23371ea0c624ad53.gif

4 minutes ago, TommyDickFingers said:

Similar to what I was getting at in another thread (that I forgot to reply to)regarding Gunn, Cormack Et al.

Take Mowbray for example:

Leeds - Head of Performance Analysis - (Randomguy with a flat cap and whippets)

Boro' - Head of Technical Recruitment

Burnley - Player Recruitment

He's ok experience wise because he has "worked in recruitment" but apparently Gunn & Cormack (the guys who interviewed and employed the ok recruitment guy btw) are not fit for purpose was the vibe I got.

The point I'm already regretting alluding to is I have no problem in having differing opinions on people, their abilities or lack thereof. It's the folk, of which there are many that proclaim that x,y or z isn't up to a job because "stuff" that boils my piss.

Anyways..

SaCk The  BOarD

wets-pants-ralph-wiggum.gif.7f5fa40fe909290e23371ea0c624ad53.gif

I don’t think anyone individually has proven themselves not fit for purpose. 

If I remember correctly the point made in the other thread was that collectively there’s a lack of experience throughout the leadership of the football operations. Everyone in there is new to the role, with the exception of Mowbray. 

nothing wrong with bringing through new guys if they’re good enough but when everyone in the room is inexperienced it can cause issues. 

Broon is nae wye acting as the Manger’s no. 2, his role is clearly a player and captain and certainly fan it comes tae match days.  Fair point aboot Apaloo, but, disnae get awah fae the fact Glass should have the support o at least one experienced member o his backroom staff whether that be as a no. 2 or DoF. Fill yir boots and tell me fit value you see coming fae Russell? 

How are we as fans able to work out what value one coach is bringing compared to another? We don’t know what they work on at Cormack Park. With Russell being brought in as a set piece/striker specialist, you could say we’ve scored a few from corners but it’s hard to judge him given that we only have one striker, who has done pretty well but probably isn’t going to change his game dramatically as he’s already 30 years old.

I included Brown as he has the same job title as the other two but who knows how much time he’s actually coaching the team instead of training himself. Apaloo seemingly has a background in analysis and player development which would make his impact quite difficult to judge as well.

It’s clear the team’s output is less than the sum of their parts but I don’t think there’s any way to establish with substance if one coach is performing better than any other. Glass may need more experience but at the end of the day, all of the first team staff there were his choices (as far as I’m aware).

20 hours ago, Game of throw-ins said:

My worry if I were a Killie fan would be that his very recent form has been dreadful.  He's had two or three games in a row where he can't seem to do anything right and to me looks like a player whose confidence is completely shot.  If Deek can fix that and get him back to playing at his best, he'll be an asset.

No point judging his recent performances as playing out of position, did quite well considering not a defender. 

Edited by betting competition