The Famous Aberdeen - Season 2022/23

2 hours ago, big al said:

What’s Russell done wrong?

Striker and set pieces coach. Most of our goals come from set pieces as the midfield is pish.

Only 3 goals from 11 from League and Cup have been from set pieces, Fergie's shoulder, Broons heel and Ramirez's header at St Mirren...the latter being well worked. Not as many as you'd think. The Ramirez first goal at Breidablik was training ground and Considine's for the home leg was worked well. Maybe his remit is purely specialised and limited as you say. I'd be more keen on having someone though that realises 2 goals from open play in the last 6 games is unacceptable with all that possession and has a plan to sort this. 

18 minutes ago, Sheepster said:

Only 3 goals from 11 from League and Cup have been from set pieces, Fergie's shoulder, Broons heel and Ramirez's header at St Mirren...the latter being well worked. Not as many as you'd think. The Ramirez first goal at Breidablik was training ground and Considine's for the home leg was worked well. Maybe his remit is purely specialised and limited as you say. I'd be more keen on having someone though that realises 2 goals from open play in the last 6 games is unacceptable with all that possession and has a plan to sort this. 

Exactly min

4 hours ago, DrewDon said:

To be fair, I'm pretty sure Cormack said our wage budget was about £2m higher than any non-OF club last season. Whilst his relationship with McInnes undoubtedly would not have been as strong as Milne's was, that isn't the sign of a chairman who isn't giving the manager a fighting chance to succeed.

He was backed in the Summer. If i remember rightly we were great until Watkins and Hedges got injured then reverted to turgid shite. 

McInnes comments about the January window strongly suggest he thought he wasn't given the support he needed to turn it around.  I think Cormack thought he'd had his chance by then. 

1 hour ago, coprolite said:

He was backed in the Summer. If i remember rightly we were great until Watkins and Hedges got injured then reverted to turgid shite. 

McInnes comments about the January window strongly suggest he thought he wasn't given the support he needed to turn it around.  I think Cormack thought he'd had his chance by then. 

Watkins was fifth choice (brought in when all other strikers were injured or got covid.) Not many other clubs in the league would have afforded their manager that luxury.

Hedges was on the way out but took his second chance and repaid the managers faith 

Edited by Merkland Red

14 hours ago, lubo_blaha said:

If he was so influenced by fans’ opinions on Twitter the he would never have appointed Glass.

Possibly, but the whole open attacking football philosophy is on the back of all the 'eyebleeding' type comments from the last couple of seasons - that has been classic run before you can walk so far.

He has been known to contact people personally for a wee chat, who he notes have offered constructive criticism on that medium. Maybe not a bad thing, but it's definitely what he uses to gauge the mood music, and if it's anything like one or two of the mainstream social media sites I have seen, full of ludicrous reactions from people that enjoy using lots of profanities, hashtags and emojis to make their point.

On the Russell debate, need to see a bit more than a few decent set pieces to put this down as a success. I was tearing (what's left of) my hair out at the dreadful decision making/forward movement/quality of final ball on Saturday. Other than the odd flurry, we were snuffed out fairly easily by the bottom team in the league. Surely the one thing this new style of football should bring is a reasonable return of goals from open play, even if it still means having a defence that look like they've never met each other?

20 hours ago, 72redz said:

It’s ready made for Lennon, even in the short term. He’s available, apparently sounded oot fan Mcinnes was courted by the Govan mob, relationship wi Broon, nae compensation - no brainer

Lennon is good pals with McInnes , so that may count against him

9 hours ago, coprolite said:

And Cormack was correct, his time was up at the latest 18 months earlier.

Guest Bob Mahelp

McInnes is gone. And it should be time for Glass to follow him, before it's too late. 

I think Cormack will be forced into the decision in a fortnights time.

10 minutes ago, Suspect Device said:

I expect Glass to be in the dugout for our next 3 defeats and then someone else to be in charge after the international break.

That is what should happen if we lose the next 3. Not convinced it will however.

12 minutes ago, Suspect Device said:

I expect Glass to be in the dugout for our next 3 defeats and then someone else to be in charge after the international break.

Agree..........I think Cormack is meant to be around until mid November before heading back to the US.

These three upcoming defeats will allow him to be seen to give Glass every chance to show he can turn things round - and when that doesn't happen, whatever name he's working away on in the background will be unveiled.

Edited by tarapoa

Guest Bob Mahelp

A friend of a friend** is saying that Longstaff is trying to get his loan arrangement terminated. 

Says that he's fallen out with Glass, hence the reason why he wasn't in the squad for Saturday, and that the whole place is a shambles. 

**This obviously could all be utter pish, don't shoot the messenger.

24 minutes ago, Bob Mahelp said:

A friend of a friend** is saying that Longstaff is trying to get his loan arrangement terminated. 

Says that he's fallen out with Glass, hence the reason why he wasn't in the squad for Saturday, and that the whole place is a shambles. 

**This obviously could all be utter pish, don't shoot the messenger.

Wouldn't be too much of a surprise. I'm sure he thought he would come up here, play every week and maybe even head back in January if there was an option to after doing well only to find himself playing in a really struggling team competing with 3 or 4 others for one available space in the midfield alongside Brown and Ferguson.

John McGlynn or Alex Neil should be your next manager.  Absolutely crazy no premiership club has attempted to attract either. 

McGlynn has a average championship team playing some of the best football in our country, and being competitive.

Neil is already proven and has stated he would jump at chance back in Scotland to rebuild his reputation.

Guest Bob Mahelp
35 minutes ago, Counter-press said:

John McGlynn or Alex Neil should be your next manager.  Absolutely crazy no premiership club has attempted to attract either. 

McGlynn has a average championship team playing some of the best football in our country, and being competitive.

Neil is already proven and has stated he would jump at chance back in Scotland to rebuild his reputation.

I think many Dons fans have long believed that Alex Neil would be a good fit for Aberdeen. 

John McGlynn not so much (although I appreciate that he's doing an excellent job with Roth Raivers).

Guest Bob Mahelp
4 minutes ago, Rodhull said:

Not sure if Neill would even be interested. I'm sure he can get at least one more championship level job down south before having to come back up the road.

Maybe not, but you would say that on face value this would be an excellent gig for Neil.

A top Scottish club, floundering. A decent squad which can't play as a team. Really, the only way is up (you'd hope).

I'm actually surprised that he's only 40. You forget that he was player manager at Accies for a while. So he's young enough to have the hunger but experienced enough to have the respect of the players and know what needs to be done. Plus, he's not a soft touch and can boot egos where necessary. 

On top of that, his record is good enough for him to be in demand, as you say, with other Championship clubs.....I'm surprised he hasn't been snapped up already. 

He's unemployed, so no fee to be paid to another club. I really don't see any downside at all in approaching him and seeing if he would be interested. 

It would be mad to let an opportunity like this slip by, simply because Cormack wants to save face by refusing to admit his appointment of Glass was a disaster.