The Famous Aberdeen - Season 2022/23

5 minutes ago, Rodhull said:

I also don't understand singling Russell out for criticism or pretending he's the assistant manager when he's not to justify it. Truly bizarre.

Why is he nae the assistant manger? This is partly my point, naebody kens  fah the number 2 is. Apparently it’s Broon, but he’s on the pitch. Fah dis Glass turn tae? Russel has been referred tae as assistant manager numerous times in the press. Start o the season Russel looked like a no. 2, constantly conversing wi Glass, noo it looks like Goalie coach briefs the subs etc. Fuckin shambles

1 minute ago, 72redz said:

Why is he nae the assistant manger? This is partly my point, naebody kens  fah the number 2 is. Apparently it’s Broon, but he’s on the pitch. Fah dis Glass turn tae? Russel has been referred tae as assistant manager numerous times in the press. Start o the season Russel looked like a no. 2, constantly conversing wi Glass, noo it looks like Goalie coach briefs the subs etc. Fuckin shambles

It’s glass that structured his team that way though. 

2 minutes ago, 72redz said:

Because he's an assistant coach same as Brown and the other guy whose name escapes me. There is no assistant manager.

11 minutes ago, Bob Mahelp said:

Nope. The McGhee team was far worse. It was full of utterly hopeless fuckers like Ifil, Kerr, McDonald et al. And McGhee is a genuine khunt. 

What we've got at the moment is a team that on paper.....I know, I know....should be fighting it out with Hearts and Hibs up near the pointy end of the league. We have decent players. 

What we don't have is a team as such, or a manager that is capable of getting a tune out of the players available. I suspect that the players lost confidence is what the manager was trying to do around 4 games ago, and it simply won't come back. 

We'll go through the motions until Glass is sacked, but I'd stick a fair whack on a different, more experienced manager getting instant results out of this side. 

I winna disagree wi that, I jist dinna think Cormack will pull the trigger, and if he disnae, tae save face or he truly believes Glass has something aboot him - fit dis he de? Next weakest link, get that Russel tae f**k, we’ve learned the drills at set pieces, job done, noo we need an experienced heid that can organise a defence and kens fit tae de in a crisis.

5 minutes ago, Rodhull said:

Because he's an assistant coach same as Brown and the other guy whose name escapes me. There is no assistant manager.

That’s the problem, bar sacking the manager, which may be the sensible course o action, get him some help, he badly needs it

11 minutes ago, kent_don said:

I thought it was Apaloo who is the ‘number 2’?

But I guess this confusion is symptomatic of the mess Cormack has made of the new ‘management team’

At last, somebody seems tae get it - it’s a fuckin shambles. Alapoo was hired as an analyst. I get fit the original plan was - inexperienced manager surrounded by ‘specialists’ - Broon, the winner and motivator, Russel the striker coach. Alapoo the data analyst. Good in theory, but, we either sack the manager and the hail ‘project’ or, and my point is, fit options dis Cormack have? If ye dinna want tae ditch the hail project, mhak a change - no brainer, get an experienced no 2 tae support Glass

Edited by 72redz

4 minutes ago, Merkland Red said:

The facts are that he organises our set pieces. In the last three games we've scored from 2 set pieces and had another goal bound effort cleared off the line tonight.

Is that fit we’re depending on tae get 3 points? I’m nae questioning that contribution. Eence you’ve learned the drills, fit next? Fit is his relationship wi the players? Div they respect him? Can he see thingS unfolding in the game that Glass has missed? How good are we at turning possession intae goals?

Edited by 72redz

Guest Bob Mahelp

There are worrying parallels here with the 1994/95 season.

A Dons team that on paper looked far too strong to be in any kind of relegation problems. Until we were. 

Anyone else remember that season ? Our squad had players such as McKimmie, Irvine, Dodds, Shearer, Jess and yes, Steven Glass.

We started off the season with a first game win against Hearts, and then didn't win again until the very end of October. After 9 games, we had 8 points. 

We then went on another 20 game run, winning 4 of them and in the meantime losing to Stenhousemuir in the cup. It was around then that people began to take the prospect of relegation seriously. 

Regardless, we ploughed merrily on from the end of January to the middle of April without winning a game, at which point we weren't just standing on the edge of the precipice, we were on tiptoe, one foot over and blindfolded. A breath of wind would have tipped us into the abyss. 

But then the miracle happened. A win against Celtic, a last minute winner at Tynecastle, and the arse fell out of the Arabs. We couldn't stop winning, and halleluah we were saved.

The point I'm struggling to make is, I don't want that to happen again. What we have at this moment in time is a team that is relegation bound.....no confidence, no shape, no leadership, no belief. 

We can close our eyes, cross our fingers and click our heels, hoping and believing that it must get better soon......as we did in 1994/95. 

Our we can act now, before it's all too late and we sleepwalk into the same situation 26 years ago. 

Glass out. 

Edited by Bob Mahelp

5 minutes ago, Bob Mahelp said:

There are worrying parallels here with the 1994/95 season.

A Dons team that on paper looked far too strong to be in any kind of relegation problems. Until we were. 

Anyone else remember that season ? Our squad had players such as McKimmie, Irvine, Dodds, Shearer, Jess and yes, Steven Glass.

We started off the season with a first game win against Hearts, and then didn't win again until the very end of October. After 9 games, we had 8 points. 

We then went on another 20 game run, winning 4 of them and in the meantime losing to Stenhousemuir in the cup. It was around then that people began to take the prospect of relegation seriously. 

Regardless, we ploughed merrily on from the end of January to the middle of April without winning a game, at which point we weren't just standing on the edge of the precipice, we were on tiptoe, one foot over and blindfolded. A breath of wind would have tipped us into the abyss. 

But then the miracle happened. A win against Celtic, a last minute winner at Tynecastle, and the arse fell out of the Arabs. We couldn't stop winning, and halleluah we were saved.

The point I'm struggling to make is, I don't want that to happen again. What we have at this moment in time is a team that is relegation bound.....no confidence, no shape, no leadership, no belief. 

We can close our eyes, cross our fingers and click our heels, hoping and believing that it must get better soon......as we did in 1994/95. 

Our we can act now, before it's all too late and we sleepwalk into the same situation 26 years ago. 

Glass out. 

Only difference being this current Aberdeen team is nowhere near as good as the 1995 Aberdeen team.

I'm very concerned by our current form but at present we have a 5 point lead over Ross County so I ain't panicking about relegation just yet.

Guest Bob Mahelp
1 minute ago, highland_mechanic said:

I'm very concerned by our current form but at present we have a 5 point lead over Ross County so I ain't panicking about relegation just yet.

That 5 point lead can disappear quickly. County may not be all that good but I'll bet you they have more fight than we do. 

And regardless, with Glass in charge I certainly wouldn't fancy us in a play-off against the likes of Killie, ICT, Raith Rovers (brrr) or even Arbroath.