The Famous Aberdeen - Season 2022/23

2 hours ago, Buckets said:

Is anyone selling their tickets for Sunday or know where I could get 2? I've just moved to Aberdeen and can't buy tickets myself because you can't buy tickets for the first time against Celtic or Rangers.

If you're genuinely interested in going along to watch Aberdeen then you could take advantage of the new pick 6 offer.

16 hours ago, Bob Mahelp said:

I think it's arse kissing shite from a guy who is cosy with the high heid yins at Pittodrie. 

'I was pleased Glass got the job'....'I was aware of the great job he was doing at Atlanta' (says nobody, ever)....'every confidence the coaching staff will turn it around'....'season of transition' (why ?).....'not far away from being a very good side'. 

Heap of pish. 

We'll put you down as 'undecided'. 

6 hours ago, betting competition said:

Disagree with you since Willie Miller days. In March 2016 we was 1 point behind Celtic. They had belief they could win the league but the game that changed it was Celtic getting beat by Killie scored a last minute winner while we lost away to Motherwell with Robson getting sent off.

I have to agree to disagree.

Did the players really have belief they were going to win the title playing half the season with the English Scott Brown in goals?

Guest Bob Mahelp
2 hours ago, Bogbrush1903 said:

I have to agree to disagree.

Did the players really have belief they were going to win the title playing half the season with the English Scott Brown in goals?

I would say our biggest chance was actually the seaon before where Liverpool took Danny Ward back in January and a week later we lost Adam Rooney to injury to replace him with Simon Church. 

We were top of the league on 1st January, and Celtic under Deila were under pressure. 

This is the point where I shake my head at Milne and McInnes's refusal to invest in the team, and their lack of belief that Aberdeen could win the league. 

The Rooney-Church and Ward-Brown thing was the same season 2015-16.

As stated, that monobrowed fker Rogic scored late at Kilmarnock for Deila’s lot and then Brown contrived to throw them in at Fir Park then the following week at Tynecastle and it was gone…..

15 minutes ago, Bob Mahelp said:

I would say our biggest chance was actually the seaon before where Liverpool took Danny Ward back in January and a week later we lost Adam Rooney to injury to replace him with Simon Church. 

We were top of the league on 1st January, and Celtic under Deila were under pressure. 

This is the point where I shake my head at Milne and McInnes's refusal to invest in the team, and their lack of belief that Aberdeen could win the league. 

Milne yes, but mcinnes? Can’t see him refusing investment in the team and that season he definitely thought we had a chance at winning it, even if it was a small one. 

I remember it well and I loved him at that time, he wasn’t the same guy in his final years 

If Cormack wishes tae save any face without the embarrassment of sacking Glass this early in the season, he must get an experienced heid alang side Glass. Interesting that Russell seems tae be drifting further intae the background. I jist dinna get fit he brings tae the ‘project’. 

3 minutes ago, 72redz said:

We were sold the idea that Broon was Glass’ assistant but he canna be if he’s team captain. Apaloo was supposed tae be the analyst, I dinna doot he manages that - Russell is the big mystery for me

Russell is your striker and set play coach. Its absolutely weird that hes getting singled out considering you're so reliant on set play goals this season.

19 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Russell is your striker and set play coach. Its absolutely weird that hes getting singled out considering you're so reliant on set play goals this season.

The point is, can he organise a defence? Can he give Glass some insight during games? Fah dis Glass turn tae during this awful run that has experience of such situations? Craig Broon? Should a ‘specialist’ be the no. 2? If Cormack has faith in Glass as an inexperienced manager, mair thought should have been given tae adding some experience tae the backroom.

The previous manager’s high salary was mentioned a lot, but if Glass does get binned, any new boss will have to live with an ageing and expensive player/coach with 18 months left on his deal. 

I feel bad for thinking a guy should go only 6 months in, but the whole thing just looks and feels wrong.  We would have been no worse off keeping Sheerin in charge.

48 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Correct. I can’t be arsed checking but my gut tells me well over 50% of our goals have come from set plays, which will have been worked on by Alan Russell on the training ground.

What Glass does I’ve no idea. 

3 minutes ago, Thenorthernlight said:

Correct. I can’t be arsed checking but my gut tells me well over 50% of our goals have come from set plays, which will have been worked on by Alan Russell on the training ground.

What Glass does I’ve no idea. 

I can think of one goal that looked like it came fae the training ground, the rest has been the quality of Ramsay’s delivery, I’m sure Russell is worth every penny

Still quite annoyed that he dropped Lewis, although I had a feeling after his post-match interview last Sunday that Glass would do it - and, to be fair, Woods wasn’t directly accountable for either of the goals today. 

I accept that he hasn’t been at his best in recent weeks, but Lewis is one of the best goalkeepers in the league on his day and, at a very minimum, better than Woods at the goalkeeping fundamentals. Going into a difficult run of games leaving our best goalkeeper on the bench just doesn’t seem like a sensible move to me. 

If Cormack truly believes in Glass then his pride is gan tae tak an affa hit if he sacks Glass efter 6 months. The decent thing tae do wid be get somebody in, even short term tae support Glass. Maybe Broon will find himself finally in the role of assistant manager rather than team captain in the coming weeks. Either wye, Cormack will need tae be seen tae act.

Russell has been the one part of the coaching staff that has worked given the set play goals, including one today.

Questions about Glass, Apaloo and Brown are a lot more justified.

I probably said on the match thread that time is up for Glass. It isn't working with the lack of defensive organisation a strong issue and the lack of wins the key charge.

While McInnes's time was up, we certainly looked better defensively under him.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Guest Bob Mahelp
1 hour ago, 72redz said:

If Cormack wishes tae save any face without the embarrassment of sacking Glass this early in the season, he must get an experienced heid alang side Glass. Interesting that Russell seems tae be drifting further intae the background. I jist dinna get fit he brings tae the ‘project’. 

If this clusterfuck is all about 'Cormack saving face', then we're truly doomed. 

If Dave 'I'm a man of the people and I was in Gothenburg' truly understands football as much as he thinks he does, then he'll realise that we've moved very quickly past 'transitional period', and we left 'unlucky' behind a few weeks ago. 

This is a poor league, and we're struggling to the point that by the end of October time we could realistically be bottom of the table. To keep on on saying, 'ah this is a blip and it's going to get better, because it must', is to go against a hundred years or more of football reality. 

Glass is out of his depth and we need to get rid of him, and bring in an experienced manager. Now. 

I still have this nagging fear that Cormack's ego is going to destroy the club. 

8 minutes ago, DrewDon said:

Still quite annoyed that he dropped Lewis, although I had a feeling after his post-match interview last Sunday that Glass would do it - and, to be fair, Woods wasn’t directly accountable for either of the goals today. 

I accept that he hasn’t been at his best in recent weeks, but Lewis is one of the best goalkeepers in the league on his day and, at a very minimum, better than Woods at the goalkeeping fundamentals. Going into a difficult run of games leaving our best goalkeeper on the bench just doesn’t seem like a sensible move to me. 

Lets face it, neither keeper is up to it and that's a very big problem when you add to the mix the current state of our defence, which includes Ramsay I may add.