The Famous Aberdeen - Season 2022/23

Stewart is Rangers daft by all accounts, so no huge surprise if he does jump at the chance to move there. 

I thought he was a bit better when he came on for the last half hour last night, with Motherwell beginning to tire and affording him a bit more time and space to play with. Maybe that's how we should be playing him for the rest of the season. Suppose the big concern is that he will absolutely phone-in his performances now to avoid any risk of injury. 

My prediction for Shinnie, based on absolutely nothing concrete whatsoever, is that he will end up at Alex Neil's Preston North End. A reunification with big Stockley. 

5 minutes ago, DrewDon said:

Stewart is Rangers daft by all accounts, so no huge surprise if he does jump at the chance to move there. 

I thought he was a bit better when he came on for the last half hour last night, with Motherwell beginning to tire and affording him a bit more time and space to play with. Maybe that's how we should be playing him for the rest of the season. Suppose the big concern is that he will absolutely phone-in his performances now to avoid any risk of injury. 

Stewart joining us would not be a big surprise.

" absolutely phone-in his performances"?  That's taking predictive text too far.  What did you mean to say?

Can you be “Aberdeen daft” or “Kilmarnock daft”?

Seems to be purely a tabloid label for the bigot brother supporters.

e.g Oliver Burke was “Celtic daft” as a kid

The Record linking us with Curtis Main who’s approaching the end of his contract. Sounds an unlikely one.

Also says that Shaughnessy is stalling on the contract offered.  But again its the record so not exactly reliable.

Main and Shaugnessy hardly going to get the dna mob excited .   Last seasons scottish cup semi Mcinnes put his hand up and said recruitment lacked quality 

and had  he  got it wrong  with his signings .      A year later our only cash signing is drinking temple bar Dublin , Then there  is  Glesson  not kicked ball all season and striker  Wilson  who is nae worth a comment about .      Mcinnes been well rewarded last 2 years with his  own  wage hike and its another reason you never hear him speak about budget.   The club have shown no intent for the last couple seasons  its all been a drive get the cash in  for Kingsford. and i undertsand that.       I   suppose the  potential Mckenna cash and psssible fraser  windfall  MIGHT  see some go to signings.       But we can not accept the same kind recruitment that we down last year no way .       .  we have  Stewart,  Lowe. Shinnie ,Mckenna,  Wilson. Gms.  Ball,  all llook like  leaving in summer ..  and expect Gleeson to go as well .  that is huge recruitment for us and one Mcinnes is  in charge of.       him and the board need to step up. 

Main and Shaugnessy hardly going to get the dna mob excited .   Last seasons scottish cup semi Mcinnes put his hand up and said recruitment lacked quality 
and had  he  got it wrong  with his signings .      A year later our only cash signing is drinking temple bar Dublin , Then there  is  Glesson  not kicked ball all season and striker  Wilson  who is nae worth a comment about .      Mcinnes been well rewarded last 2 years with his  own  wage hike and its another reason you never hear him speak about budget.   The club have shown no intent for the last couple seasons  its all been a drive get the cash in  for Kingsford. and i undertsand that.       I   suppose the  potential Mckenna cash and psssible fraser  windfall  MIGHT  see some go to signings.       But we can not accept the same kind recruitment that we down last year no way .       .  we have  Stewart,  Lowe. Shinnie ,Mckenna,  Wilson. Gms.  Ball,  all llook like  leaving in summer ..  and expect Gleeson to go as well .  that is huge recruitment for us and one Mcinnes is  in charge of.       him and the board need to step up. 

Good night last night, logie?

Just now, logie skid boys said:

Shaugnessy performances  last few months not been great is that right?

Hes been dreadful since January, can easily point at games against Hamilton and Livingston where I felt he was directly responsible for a total of four goals we conceded. Against St Mirren a week or so back, he let a ball roll under his foot and a striker was almost clean through, then he spent the next 15 minutes clattering into his own players trying to win headers, and refusing to kick the ball. Against Motherwell on Saturday he took such a poor touch in his own box it was 10 yards away from him, straight to a striker who got a shot.

He was better against a vile Dundee side on Wednesday, but they still managed two free shots from within 8 yards.

I'd imagine this has more to do with you cooling your interest than him stalling tbh, most of our fans have wanted him dropped.

5 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Hes been dreadful since January, can easily point at games against Hamilton and Livingston where I felt he was directly responsible for a total of four goals we conceded. Against St Mirren a week or so back, he let a ball roll under his foot and a striker was almost clean through, then he spent the next 15 minutes clattering into his own players trying to win headers, and refusing to kick the ball. Against Motherwell on Saturday he took such a poor touch in his own box it was 10 yards away from him, straight to a striker who got a shot.

He was better against a vile Dundee side on Wednesday, but they still managed two free shots from within 8 yards.

I'd imagine this has more to do with you cooling your interest than him stalling tbh, most of our fans have wanted him dropped.

Aye saints fan i know is  saying the same.  

9 hours ago, Rodhull said:

The Record linking us with Curtis Main who’s approaching the end of his contract. Sounds an unlikely one.

Also says that Shaughnessy is stalling on the contract offered.  But again its the record so not exactly reliable.

The first two words should be note before you look at the second sentence.

Can't imagine we'd even look at Curtis Main unless we were offloading Cosgrove.

Guest Bob Mahelp
3 minutes ago, Merkland Red said:

Yet signing dreadful players has still seen us finish in the top 2 the past 4 seasons.

Ignore him, he's on one one of wee Aberdeen hating rants again.

3 minutes ago, Merkland Red said:

The first two words should be note before you look at the second sentence.

Can't imagine we'd even look at Curtis Main unless we were offloading Cosgrove.

To be fair it's a Scott Burns story, I can't speak for how reliable he is with Aberdeen stories but he's usually bang on the money with Motherwell stuff. 

If you did get him (if he doesn't head back to England) if you can get the Curtis Main from the end of last season he would be a good signing especially if Cosgrove stayed as I can just imagine them both bodying centre halves all over the shop.  See last seasons Scottish Cup semi (sorry) for evidence with him and bowman totally dominating your defence. 

If you get this seasons Curtis Main prepare for lots of bodying, falling over and not too many goals. Again though in fairness, the games where he  holds it up well are the games we have looked good. 

15 minutes ago, weemac said:

To be fair it's a Scott Burns story, I can't speak for how reliable he is with Aberdeen stories but he's usually bang on the money with Motherwell stuff. 

If you did get him (if he doesn't head back to England) if you can get the Curtis Main from the end of last season he would be a good signing especially if Cosgrove stayed as I can just imagine them both bodying centre halves all over the shop.  See last seasons Scottish Cup semi (sorry) for evidence with him and bowman totally dominating your defence. 

If you get this seasons Curtis Main prepare for lots of bodying, falling over and not too many goals. Again though in fairness, the games where he  holds it up well are the games we have looked good. 

No need to apologise. He destroyed us that day and was a lesson for McKenna that he won't get it all his own way. Looks like he had a purple patch at the end of last season though.

Scott Burns is usually reliable with Aberdeen stories too, tbf.

Guest Bob Mahelp
18 minutes ago, gannonball said:

As much as McInnes likes a burly carthorse striker Curtis Main rumour is surely bullshit. 

The only game I can recollect him playing well in was the semi final last year, and even then we were ravaged with injury and suspension and a sitting duck for any team.

I actually had to check to see if he was still at Motherwell.