The Alloa Athletic Thread

57 minutes ago, KierenAAFC said:

Andy Halliday touting an Andy Graham with Alan Trouten as a coach for the next Alloa job on the laetst Open Goal. 

Fair shout for the new management team IMO

3 hours ago, Robertsons said:

I’m not a fan of his but thought he came across quite well too. I recall listening to his brother Derek on the radio saying he went to watch one of his training sessions (when managing at Clyde I think) and Barry was getting the players to practice accurate long distance passing. He showed them what he wanted by pinging pin point passes across the pitch. When it was the players turn he became increasingly frustrated by the fact some players just didn’t have the same accuracy and couldn’t understand this. I think his brothers advice to him was although he could do things naturally with the ball he shouldn’t boil up assuming everyone can do the same. 

Loathe to say too much more about Ferguson but this line is pushed by his fans and I don't think it stands up to scrutiny at all. Ok we're a part-time side, but the players inherited by Ferguson had a reputation as being one of the best footballing sides in the Championship in recent seasons. Indeed we were often told we were playing too much passing football. There were obvious flaws in the team but the likes of Trouten, Cawley and Scougall are all technically very good players. They are also very good pros who had lived with full-time clubs for years and never looked out of place. Bizarre suggestion they would suddenly struggle to understand coaching instructions when Barry Ferguson arrived. Previous managers who had played at a high level had no issues. 

Funnily enough, Ferguson always seemed keen to implement a more direct style anyway. We were better when we ignored that and got the ball down. 

Barry Ferguson just isn't a good manager and however good a player he was is irrelevant. He signed loads of players with no clear coherent idea of how they'd fit into his team. A number of them weren't good enough and some have hardly been seen. He clearly struggled to set them up. He also wanted to play his own players even to the detriment of the team. He treated certain players badly for no reason and this caused bad feeling. Our best managers got people pulling together. Under Ferguson there was division and malaise all over the place. Was this a coincidence? I wasn't bothered that he didn't communicate with the fans because when he did he just turned out meaningless cliches. Indeed the more he said the more obvious it was he didn't know what he was doing. Saying he couldn't see the East Fife performance coming was another classic, we've been going backwards for ages. Lack of communication wasn't a problem but could have done without him antagonising the support. 

I'm sure he was doing his best but quite simply he didn't appear to have any of the qualities required to be a manager. That will be the case regardless of whatever level he is working at. 

Edited by Waspie

20 minutes ago, Waspie said:

Loathe to say too much more about Ferguson but this line is pushed by his fans and I don't think it stands up to scrutiny at all. Ok we're a part-time side, but the players inherited by Ferguson had a reputation as being one of the best footballing sides in the Championship in recent seasons. Indeed we were often told we were playing too much passing football. There were obvious flaws in the team but the likes of Trouten, Cawley and Scougall are all technically very good players. They are also very good pros who had lived with full-time clubs for years and never looked out of place. Bizarre suggestion they would suddenly struggle to understand coaching instructions when Barry Ferguson arrived. Previous managers who had played at a high level had no issues. 

Funnily enough, Ferguson always seemed keen to implement a more direct style anyway. We were better when we ignored that and got the ball down. 

Barry Ferguson just isn't a good manager and however good a player he was is irrelevant. He signed loads of players with no clear coherent idea of how they'd fit into his team. A number of them weren't good enough and some have hardly been seen. He clearly struggled to set them up. He also wanted to play his own players even to the detriment of the team. He treated certain players badly for no reason and this caused bad feeling. Our best managers got people pulling together. Under Ferguson there was division and malaise all over the place. Was this a coincidence? I wasn't bothered that he didn't communicate with the fans because when he did he just turned out meaningless cliches. Indeed the more he said the more obvious it was he didn't know what he was doing. Saying he couldn't see the East Fife performance coming was another classic, we've been going backwards for ages. Lack of communication wasn't a problem but could have done without him antagonising the support. 

I'm sure he was doing his best but quite simply he didn't appear to have any of the qualities required to be a manager. That will be the case regardless of whatever level he is working at. 

Agreed- natural hes still being discussed right now. But Im glad to say that (other than my "banter year" season retrospective in May 😉) from a couple of weeks time onwards I dont need to think about him, read about him or see daily comments about him on here.

3 hours ago, Father Barrys Sign (Top Half) said:

Agreed- natural hes still being discussed right now. But Im glad to say that (other than my "banter year" season retrospective in May 😉) from a couple of weeks time onwards I dont need to think about him, read about him or see daily comments about him on here.

That's where I'm at too. Thank God it's over earlier than I expected and we can try for a recovery now.

Anyone know why there's an apparent lack of ball 'persons' at present?  Virus restrictions?  Wee Barry ordering the ball to come back slowly as inevitably we go ahead?!?  Whatever the reason it comes across as a bit cringeworthy when eg goalkeepers have to walk over to corner to retrieve the ball.  Or are the weans not interested?

5 hours ago, Father Barrys Sign (Top Half) said:

Mark Guidi was the vomit inducer

Just watched the interview,  Guidi talked one lot of pish,  begging for Barry to get a gig in the big league, over the pail stuff,   most of these pundits are totally delusional. Old firm obsessed clowns....

14 hours ago, Passionate said:

Just watched the interview,  Guidi talked one lot of pish,  begging for Barry to get a gig in the big league, over the pail stuff,   most of these pundits are totally delusional. Old firm obsessed clowns....

There are an alarming number of Celtgers fans who have convinced themselves that money is irrelevant in Scottish football, so a shite manager who manages to win a league with an exponentially larger budget than everyone else is therefore a good manager. See the calls for Mark Warburton to be considered for Manager of the Year after winning the second tier with the second-highest budget in the country.

The same isn't true in Europe, where they obviously can't be expected to compete with the astronomical finances of the English and Spanish clubs.