Eddie Izzard

Colkitto

Eddie Izzard is holding a fundraiser night for Better Together called "Scotland,Please don't go" :unsure2:

the whole snp deceit seems to be devised upon.

the scots have been subsidised for 250 years thanks to agreeing to refuse others the oportunity to invade england from the north.

worked out very well for most scots, especially for the more adventurist. now scots do not need to depend upon the protection and the uk subsidy due to oil. we become all selfish. that is until shetland/orkney/western isles decide to separate and take their share of the oil and separate from the mainland. then when the oil runs out, our children will be materially worse off, all for a short sighted selfishness by a bunch of malcontents.

• Replies 108

the whole snp deceit seems to be devised upon.

the scots have been subsidised for 250 years thanks to agreeing to refuse others the oportunity to invade england from the north.

worked out very well for most scots, especially for the more adventurist. now scots do not need to depend upon the protection and the uk subsidy due to oil. we become all selfish. that is until shetland/orkney/western isles decide to separate and take their share of the oil and separate from the mainland. then when the oil runs out, our children will be materially worse off, all for a short sighted selfishness by a bunch of malcontents.

Is this a post trying to fit as many lies in as possible.

Coming on spouting rubbish that Scotland is subsidised and Shetland etc will succede with all the oil means you are:

a) incredibly thick

b) on the wind up

or

c) both

Unless you can evidence your absurd claims, off you pop.

You can add Bob Mortimer to the Yes list.

Good call. Todder's is right about Fred MacAulay, but if he got removed from the BT list for being unfunny then Susan Calman and Keith Farnan would have to come off it as well. Come to think of it, it's a long time since Kermit the Frog made me laugh either. Galloway's still amusing, but in an Andy Kaufman sort of way.

Ian Hislop came out for the No side today. Not sure where to put Billy Connolly - history suggests he'd be a No, but he refuses to comment now that the vote is a reality. Maybe put him down as undecided.

Eddie Izzard gave money to Ken Livingstone's bid for London Mayor in 2008 (he lost to Boris), the Labour Party's 2010 election campaign (they lost to Tories), and the Yes side in the AV referendum (they lost to liars).

Not a great record, really. Never back a horse on his say-so.

There's an auld boy near us who's a rabid nationalist, to the point of blind hatred at times. He's also a massive Eddie Izzard fan, to the point that most conversations with him somehow include an Izzard reference at some point.

Scared to check the obituaries after this, TBH.

Forgot about Armando Iannucci. He's an intelligent man, and one I find very funny, especially his writing, but he seems to lean towards the No side, and even harbours some vestiges of belief in the subsidy myth. Shame. I suppose for a political satirist Holyrood doesn't offer anywhere near the same opportunities for comedy as Westminster - that could be another motivating factor.

On the subject of stresses, strains and underlying structures, I ask Iannucci about Scottish independence. "Instinctively, I feel Scotland should stay part of the union," he says. "Also, I worry that the Scottish economy isn't quite strong enough. On the other hand, I feel countries are so inter-dependent now that it wouldn't be massively different."

Could this be the rare sound of the hardman of political satire prevaricating – indeed, being a politician – or is he genuinely unsure about the issue? "I've worked in England for the past 20 years and I don't feel entitled to be publically part of that debate. I'm interested in watching it, but I don't feel I have a strong enough opinion one way or the other."

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/profiles/armando-iannucci-how-i-conquered-america-7869871.html

Bit of a dissy, that.

"I totally respect that this will be a decision for the Scottish people but I admire Scotland far too much to not say anything about how I feel." Dae ye, aye?

"British patriotism is so quiet and understated" :lol:

"It is a decision for Scots, but before Scotland votes people should know that we, the rest of the UK, want them to stay." At least you're speaking on behalf of every single Brit Eddie, right?

In fairness it is severely getting on my tits that because the Yes side have a few anti-English racists in their ranks everyone on BT seems to assume Yes voters are all like that.

You're right. This isn't about the English.

It's about being ruled by a group of nations where one nation dominates so utterly in terms of numbers that their politics almost completely decides how we get to live.

The argument that we have had a few token PMs and chancellors over 300 years doesn't begin to repair that.

Why is it important to stress that it isn't about the English per se?

Because they need to stop thinking that what we need is for them to tell us how sorry they are about Bannockburn and Culloden.

For most of us this is now irrelevant.

What matters today is self reliance and self government.

What matters is leaving your parents house and setting up on your own accepting there will be risk but ultimately wanting to make your own life. We don't want to tell our parents to f**k off. We want to visit from time to time, work together on things which suit us both but play our own music from time to time without anyone telling us "turn that noise off".

Can people not understand this simple concept?

I like Eddie Izzard. I have tremendous respect for his battles against fuckwits hassling him in the street because he chooses to wear a dress but on this issue he doesn't appear to understand what our problem is.

So when the rest of us get fed up with central belt socialists screwing up the country we will further subdivide the country until, eventually, we are all being ruled by ourselves as individuals to ensure we each decide how to live?

What the f**k? Are you Reynard in disguise?

In all my time growing up in Ayr I never met a Tory - who'd have thought I would have to wait for a football forum to find one. Phil fucking Gallie.

No.