Forgotten scottish bands

tongue_tied_danny

Albaroots - Scottish reggae band. Saw them backing Toots and the Maytals years ago.

The River Detectives - Motherwell's finest (apparently)

Miss the Occupier - saw them supporting The Fall and thought they were destined for some success but never seemed to happen for them.

Edited by Suspect Device

Remember the Dialectics? I might be spelling that wrong as I am sure they may have played around with it. Parky was a real face on the Glasgow punk scene, I read somewhere he had died which is not surprising but would be nice if it was wrong.

On 16/12/2018 at 23:04, BillyAnchor said:

Remember the Dialectics? I might be spelling that wrong as I am sure they may have played around with it. Parky was a real face on the Glasgow punk scene, I read somewhere he had died which is not surprising but would be nice if it was wrong.

I saw them supporting Crass at Bearsden town hall. He had a band called the Noize Boyz, or something similar. I'm sure I seen them elsewhere as well. Park went out with a girl I know. He was a bit of an arse, not heard if he's dead though. You might be thinking of Animal, another well known face. Well known for violence, he got done for murder and I seem to remember someone topped him at a later date.

In saying that, most of that crowd will be dead now.

I remember hunting a wee pest hanging about, he's Bobby Gillespie now.

8 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

I saw them supporting Crass at Bearsden town hall. He had a band called the Noize Boyz, or something similar. I'm sure I seen them elsewhere as well. Park went out with a girl I know. He was a bit of an arse, not heard if he's dead though. You might be thinking of Animal, another well known face. Well known for violence, he got done for murder and I seem to remember someone topped him at a later date.

In saying that, most of that crowd will be dead now.

I remember hunting a wee pest hanging about, he's Bobby Gillespie now.

I tried to go to that Crass gig but I didnt really believe it was happening and some neds outside Buchanan Street threatened us and just getting to the bus seemed too much work for what seemed like  a probably wasted trip anyway. I actually went to school with Animal, he lost the plot big time, him and his older brother were both Jags fans. I didnt know he had died but it seemed likely he wouldnt live to be much of an age. I read about Parky dying on a thread somewhere, thats all I know and could easily have been wrong. he was entertaining outside gigs begging and stuff.

21 minutes ago, BillyAnchor said:

I tried to go to that Crass gig but I didnt really believe it was happening and some neds outside Buchanan Street threatened us and just getting to the bus seemed too much work for what seemed like  a probably wasted trip anyway. I actually went to school with Animal, he lost the plot big time, him and his older brother were both Jags fans. I didnt know he had died but it seemed likely he wouldnt live to be much of an age. I read about Parky dying on a thread somewhere, thats all I know and could easily have been wrong. he was entertaining outside gigs begging and stuff.

Animal was more a demanding with menaces than a begging kind of guy. The members of Crass were never all on the stage at the same, the ones I met were all balloons and seemed very old. I missed the train and got lifted trying to hitch it home. Happy days!

Eta, looked it up, one of the old trout I was talking to was Vi Sub versa from another support band The Poison Girls, who is definitely dead, she wasn't far off it then.

Edited by Sergeant Wilson

Saw loads of great Scottish bands around 95-2005 while living in Glasgow. Odeon beat club were one of the best. Anyone heard lonely tourist? Not many folk have written a song about an ex Livvy player to my knowledge

Aye. Paul is a fuckin cracking guy. One of life’s good guys. He’s got some belting tunes. Rattlin Around is brilliant.

These bands are all from a distant past but good music lasts.

Cado Belle, soul/rock

Chou Pahrot, once seen never forgotten. Would out-Zappa Zappa. And Eggy Beard played violin.

Mid 80s Falkirk scene had Pastis 51. Also singer songwriter Snowy - a legend who cited musical differences for his stopping playing.

So many and quite a lot have been already mentioned and some not really forgotton to be honest!  Sorry my list will be a bit indie 90s/early 2000 mostly!

Aereogramme
Arab Strap
The Associates

BallBoy
Belle and Sebastian
The Beta Band

Camera Obscura
Close Lobsters

De Rosa
The Delgados

Frightened Rabbit

The Jesus and Mary Chain