The All New Occasionally Aussie P+B Quiz League and ☕ Occasional Cup ☕

15 hours ago, WhiteRoseKillie said:
19 hours ago, Cardinal Richelieu said:
Are you referring to Civ? I don't recall that empire every making an appearance in any of its iterations. 

I had to do a quick Google myself, but that's apparently where my (correct) guess originated. I haven't played any civ games for years - in all honesty I preferred Colonization, although the railroad tycoon series was even better. #aginggamer.

Railroad Tycoon was immense. If every a game was crying out for a remake it's that one. 

12 hours ago, Arch Stanton said:

I played the originals on the Amiga 20-odd years ago and was sure I had downloaded Civ 3 and 4 from Steam about 10 years ago but have had several laptops since then.

When I ,logged in to my Steam account (after much head scratching over my login details) I've been able to restore Civ3 and 4 AND Day of the Tentacle and Grim Fandango!!!

Civ 4 (Beyond the Sword edition) is pretty much the pinnacle of the entire season. So much so that I'm playing an online game of it with my mate this evening. Another wild Saturday night for the lads. 

We have a Player of the Month to announce. 42 players took part during November, I thank everyone of you.

potmNov.PNG.0777e25f78ee692cdb3b12c49cf26dba.PNG @Arch Stanton breaks the cycle, and is the only the second person to claim the award.  Very well played.

How did you do....

potm1.PNG.319db7669f884ccc6276600c00e32453.PNGpotm2.PNG.3edb6fcba7523e2fe830280360ecdeae.PNG

Good luck for December.  We will march on through each day as normal.  If there is a day the quiz is not posted by the website (holiday), tough shite.

The final league tables are brought to you by The Chainsmokers - Roses

James Villa Holiday League

Less than a month ago, the toys were truly out the pram, he took a few weeks off reading to prepare and he's back with a bang @Tynierose today is celebrating his 12th Top tier title, with @WhiteRoseKillie collection his 17th second place.  Great stuff lads, enjoy your weekend.

@Bully Wee Villa late night starts are paying off as he is in the Europa Cup, we don't know who will join him as @Helpma & @MSU will face each other in a playoff to determine which cup they play in next week.

@Salvo Montalbano is in the Mugs Cup.

Scenes at the bottom as @German Jag didn't stay long @MixuFruit (least decorated player in the top league) time ran out & @Arch Stanton after receiving the PotM  is DOON!!!

@Leeds Saint playoff time.

jwTynie.PNG.d069726da4fda0bddd6f4a57b229c994.PNGj051220.PNG.8e57e55403d73dd89f5c81be92fe682a.PNG

Teletext Holiday League

He's taken time off from rioting to claim his 2nd trophy, this time the 2nd Tier @The Hologram, back in the top joining him are @gkneil, on a good bit of form, also @101  consecutive promotions.

@Arabdownunder gets a playoff spot.

Crashing to the seaside, sicknote @The_Kincardine taking his medicine. @ArmadaleKillie taking a beating and @JamesP_81 taking a riding.

@Spring Onion again a playoff (no copying this week) 

TWHolo.PNG.e1e03d0efd478b28b961b7e416fdcdc0.PNGt051220.PNG.dabb60d87bc8721e718c4636f2fad8f7.PNG

Club 18-30 Holiday League

Unlucky for some but not the @Cardinal Richelieu as he notches his 13th Diddy Title to bounce back on the first of asking.   We were all waiting, and it was a biggy @NotThePars slaps us all with a Monday 8 and secures second.  

@kingjoey & @Snobot will face each other in a playoff for the last promotion spot and second chance playoff.

It's been a tough old week in the 'Land of Smiles' first I ran over a cat, our first positive COVID person in my village and now to top it all, @SlipperyP is landed with the embarrassing spoon. FUCKUZALL 

cwCARDY.PNG.1a12b2c5f30bb52a4c2b2c23ccc2ca3f.PNGc051220.PNG.fa80411743e5a4fd452c2843e3efe0f6.PNG

Playoff will be after my dinner.😭

Back in twice the speed to welcome you to playoff #167

On the 2 seater this weekend are;

James Villa 4th & 5th Placing Playoff

@Helpma  image.png.835201247dfa91225d3df5ebe35c2dd1.png v @MSU  image.png.6747f8890800633d22340e0deac44780.png

Please answer the main playoff question.

Club 18-30 to see who get automatic promotion and who gets a second chance in the playoff playoff

@kingjoey  image.png.02c73c55673063970dd4e8740837b7c6.png v @Snobot  image.png.e06c11f4343d4a1090f6e6c04d77e5de.png

You have 2 questions to answer, please answer them both in the same PM.

This question will see who win automatic promotion and entry to the Mugs Cup

What is the population of Tullibody?

Ronnie and Reggie Playoff

@Leeds Saint  image.png.32c09f11ebfabc62667df4333a6a86d5.png P24 W8 L16 - last app 14th Nov '20

v

@Arabdownunder  image.png.86b23d64cd607bf388a3640b63988b17.png P3 W1 L2 - last app 17th Jun '17

Head to Head 0-0

Julius and Vincent Playoff

@Spring Onion  image.png.a005a9d13cbde409f6ebceae0779ca68.png P16 W7 L9 - last app 28th Nov '20

v

@Snobot image.png.02c73c55673063970dd4e8740837b7c6.png P10 W4 L6 - last app 26th Sept '20

Head to Head 1-1

Question -  Igbo Ora the 'twin capital of the world'. How many sets of twins per 1000 births does it boast?

Answers to be double barreled to my cradle no latter than Monday 07:00 TT

Good Luck

image.png

Edited by SlipperyP

Answers are eagerly sent and we have a winner of promotion to the teletext. 

Club 18-30 to see who get automatic promotion and who gets a second chance in the playoff playoff

@kingjoey  image.png.02c73c55673063970dd4e8740837b7c6.png I stay in Angus, so I would reckon that Tullibody will be a bit smaller than our main towns. So I’m going 9,364.

v

@Snobot  image.png.e06c11f4343d4a1090f6e6c04d77e5de.png Tullibody - 7500

What is the population of Tullibody?

@kingjoey gets automatic promotion and entry to the weekly cup.  @Snobot you have a second chance in the playoff.

Please don't post anything about your answers as the games are still live.

Thanks

Edited by SlipperyP

On 04/12/2020 at 09:54, pleslie99 said:

Its Friday, and as promised the cup is ready for the weekend. Round 1 is below. Nobody will get knocked out in round 1 as it is effectively a qualifying round which will determine seeding for future rounds. Everyone that completes the quiz will be through to round 2. If you don't use your P&B name on the site then please PM me your score. @SlipperyP does a smashing job at the quiz finding all the league scores, ill not pretend i have that much patience to sift through all the posts. You have been warned!

Deadline is Monday at 7pm. Enjoy.

Oh and for those of you that remember the australian days before the quiz of the day, this round may take you back.......

http://www.quizyourfriends.com/take-quiz.php?id=2012040437278959&cpy&

Here It Is GIF by DrSquatchSoapCo

I reckon about half our normal participants have taken the cup quiz so far. You have until Monday at 7pm to submit a score. I will maybe tag the stragglers tomorrow.

Anyone want to own up to the names "bearfy" and "sam" on the leaderboard? 

I reckon about half our normal participants have taken the cup quiz so far. You have until Monday at 7pm to submit a score. I will maybe tag the stragglers tomorrow.
Anyone want to own up to the names "bearfy" and "sam" on the leaderboard? 

If either have scored better than NJ2 I’ll take one [emoji106]

9 hours ago, alang1993 said:

Sunday Quiz

Sunday quiz at 4:05pm

Come on chaps let's get a good turnout today.

@NotThePars @Helpma @WhiteRoseKilie @JamesP_81 @scottmcleanscontacts @BigBo10 @Cardinal Richelieu @Silky Si McFly @Bully Wee Villa @101 @alang1993 @Jacksgranda @pleslie99 @NJ2 @Snobot @kingjoey @Geaky @German Jag @MSU @Leeds Saint    @Rugster @Arabdownunder @LincolnHearts @Blootoon87  and everyone else.

1604 kick off.   Lets do it.

Edited by Tynierose

5 minutes ago, Tynierose said:

You didn't tag me, that's ok, I'm thick skinned , 16:05 ko is 23:05 TT, I will be in my bed, I'll hand it over to someone else to win it.😊

20 minutes ago, Tynierose said:

I’d love to but that’s prime slaving in the kitchen time for me on a Sunday. 

56 minutes ago, Tynierose said:

Will have a go at this today, what we do to join mate?

Come on chaps let's get a good turnout today.
[mention=25417]NotThePars[/mention] [mention=16108]Helpma[/mention] [mention=48748]WhiteRoseKilie[/mention] [mention=72090]JamesP_81[/mention] [mention=7157]scottmcleanscontacts[/mention] [mention=62469]BigBo10[/mention] [mention=4857]Cardinal Richelieu[/mention] [mention=78193]Silky Si McFly[/mention] [mention=31670]Bully Wee Villa[/mention] [mention=66969]101[/mention] [mention=20423]alang1993[/mention] [mention=22050]Jacksgranda[/mention] [mention=55832]pleslie99[/mention] [mention=73487]NJ2[/mention] [mention=69028]Snobot[/mention] [mention=48577]kingjoey[/mention] [mention=49716]Geaky[/mention] [mention=8056]German Jag[/mention] [mention=65435]MSU[/mention] [mention=2439]Leeds Saint[/mention]    [mention=1852]Rugster[/mention] [mention=46627]Arabdownunder[/mention] [mention=62179]LincolnHearts[/mention] [mention=35135]Blootoon87[/mention]  and everyone else.
1604 kick off.   Lets do it.
Might be able to make it today - that final round is an absolute battle royale!

The more the merrier- watch out for starjen, though...

3 hours ago, Tynierose said:

as an everyone elser that’s 02:04 in real Adelaide time so this chapmid chapping.