SHOW US YOUR DOGS!

Lofarl

28 minutes ago, mishtergrolsch said:

Waiting in the IKEA car park in Edinburgh to hear how Archie is getting on with his scan in the Dick Vets. Happens every few months and they've all been clear so far but my stomach is doing its best Russian gymnast routine. 

And with that I get the call saying he's totally fine 🤣

Wee shite putting me through the ringer again for nothing thankfully.

8 hours ago, mishtergrolsch said:

Waiting in the IKEA car park in Edinburgh to hear how Archie is getting on with his scan in the Dick Vets. Happens every few months and they've all been clear so far but my stomach is doing its best Russian gymnast routine. 

More detail required please, but maybe:

Simply the vets practice name?

Specialist genitalia vets?

Good vets but with attitude?

3 minutes ago, alta-pete said:

More detail required please, but maybe:

Simply the vets practice name?

Specialist genitalia vets?

Good vets but with attitude?

It's the Edinburgh University Vet School, I think

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Royal_(Dick)_School_of_Veterinary_Studies

Edited by lichtgilphead

5 minutes ago, lichtgilphead said:

Confirmed weejie here, never heard of it. We took one of ours to the Glasgow Uni Vet School in Bearsden with what turned out to be a spinal problem. As a word of advice - in my admittedly very small sample size of only one experience - if it gets to the stage that your local vet can’t deal with your dog but has referred you to the uni vet school, I fear you might be better off biting the bullet and contemplate the unthinkable.  

Aye. In 2011, we used up all of our first greyhound's £7.000 insurance policy (plus a further £2000 of our own money) for a 3 night stay and an operation at the Glasgow Vet school. Unfortunately, the clot in hs lymphatic system returned, so it only extended his life by a few months. 

I would imagine that 2011 prices would seem cheap nowadays.

3 hours ago, lichtgilphead said:

Bingo. And that's not my dogs name-o. And being fae Dundee I'd never heard of the place either till Archie was referred there.

3 hours ago, alta-pete said:

Confirmed weejie here, never heard of it. We took one of ours to the Glasgow Uni Vet School in Bearsden with what turned out to be a spinal problem. As a word of advice - in my admittedly very small sample size of only one experience - if it gets to the stage that your local vet can’t deal with your dog but has referred you to the uni vet school, I fear you might be better off biting the bullet and contemplate the unthinkable.  

We did worry (well, panic) it was the end of the road for Archie but the vets were brilliant, I'll not bore anyone with the story as I've done so before!

Amputation, chemo, meds and nearly two years on and he's as happy as Larry and so are we.

We were advised yesterday that the vets now think he's most likely in the clear(!) but suggest he still gets a scan every 6 months to keep an eye out for regrowth.

I agree there's a time to think about the unthinkable but I'm in the "if there's a chance it'll work then give it a shot" camp. Especially if insurance will cover it and the dog will cope with whatever treatment.

If we'd put him to sleep back then (which was a serious option) id not be able to get the what if question out of my mind and have serious guilt about the whole thing. But that's just me.

Edited by mishtergrolsch

This is wee bonnie, my parents dog. She had a really tough early life, multiple owners and time in a home, and was a bit of wreck when they first got her c.5 years ago, always frightened and nervous. She really grew into herself and was a great, incredibly gentle little dog, and especially seemed happy when they moved back to Scotland last year.

Unfortunately, yesterday while my folks were loading up the car and she was by them some Pitbull/staffie that had got out from round the corner came into the drive and attacked her. She died on the way to the vets. My parents, and my brother who's up visiting, came to tell us last night and were obviously absolutely distraught. I feel so awful for my brother and dad who were there and tried their best, kicking and stamping it, but these are dogs that once they have a hold of something they don't let go. It must have been very traumatic for them. And poor Bonnie must have been so scared. Getting myself a bit upset just writing this out 

Police were so far pretty useless, and apparently it's someone's boyfriend who has the devil dog and he's cleared off with it immediately. Have any P&Bers seen the same thing happen or had it happen to them? Should owners of such dogs be fined and have court orders preventing them from owning dogs in the future? While it's vaguely true that "there's no such thing as bad dogs, just bad owners" is there any justification to have breeds of dogs with that level of power and inability to release something they attack as pets.

IMG_20170908_212109.jpg

2 minutes ago, Genuine Hibs Fan said:

This is wee bonnie, my parents dog. She had a really tough early life, multiple owners and time in a home, and was a bit of wreck when they first got her c.5 years ago, always frightened and nervous. She really grew into herself and was a great, incredibly gentle little dog, and especially seemed happy when they moved back to Scotland last year.

Unfortunately, yesterday while my folks were loading up the car and she was by them some Pitbull/staffie that had got out from round the corner came into the drive and attacked her. She died on the way to the vets. My parents, and my brother who's up visiting, came to tell us last night and were obviously absolutely distraught. I feel so awful for my brother and dad who were there and tried their best, kicking and stamping it, but these are dogs that once they have a hold of something they don't let go. It must have been very traumatic for them. And poor Bonnie must have been so scared. Getting myself a bit upset just writing this out 

Police were so far pretty useless, and apparently it's someone's boyfriend who has the devil dog and he's cleared off with it immediately. Have any P&Bers seen the same thing happen or had it happen to them? Should owners of such dogs be fined and have court orders preventing them from owning dogs in the future? While it's vaguely true that "there's no such thing as bad dogs, just bad owners" is there any justification to have breeds of dogs with that level of power and inability to release something they attack as pets.

IMG_20170908_212109.jpg

I'm not a dog guy but that's a tragic story and heart-breaking for all concerned.  Poor little mite.

19 minutes ago, Genuine Hibs Fan said:

Should owners of such dogs be fined and have court orders preventing them from owning dogs in the future?

Off with their [the owners] fucking heads.

our last two were attacked by a similar breed, and were never the same since. Owner also scarpered as I’d have a new patio otherwise.

Feel for you GHF, I really do.

1 hour ago, Genuine Hibs Fan said:

IMG_20170908_212109.jpg

That's horrendous, my sympathies @Genuine Hibs Fan

On 09/02/2023 at 08:04, RH33 said:

She is beautiful. 

Wonder if a p&b dog walk would result in a happy band of pouches chanting FTOF and/or a mauling of an OF supporter!

Also Shug never barks at people at door. Went nuts last night when my ex handed something in the girls needed.

There'd be puddles getting drank out of left,  right and centre!

3 hours ago, Genuine Hibs Fan said:

IMG_20170908_212109.jpg

Police are absolutely useless in regards to dog attacks. 

My dog met a wee cocker pup (my dogs a 4 year old springer who adores pups) and both were playing on the lead when a lassie lost control of her Rottweiler which then attacked my dog and bit me.

police turned up the next morning and stated (swear this is true) ‘well, I cannae arrest a dog’ and that was the end of it. I complained and they apologised and promised to investigate - nothing happened so I provided the location of the lassies work - nearby industrial estate - still nothing.

my next door neighbours boyfriend actually stays in the same building as the owner and so advised the police of this - still got nowhere.

I complained further and someone at the police equivalent of higher level complaints agreed to issue an appeal via social media for the owner of the cocker puppy to come forward.

no appeal was ever made. I also met the cocker owner about 3 weeks after promised appeal and advised her of this. So she went direct to the police station who told her they wouldn’t even log this.

I made a further complaint which would now be about a year after the original incident asking why they refused to take the witness info, given they had agreed. It’s been over 3 months and I have had absolutely zero response.

to say I’m fucked off with the police would be a massive understatement at this point…

The police tend to not be able (or be unwilling) to do a lot if it's a dog attacking another dog which I always found odd for two reasons:

A dog is legally regarded as "property" of it's owner, so damage to property is surely something?

A dog that's managed to get a hold of another (especially one that was on a lead or in it's owners garden/driveway etc) would come under the dangerous dog act. There's a section of it which makes it an offence to allow a dog to be "dangerously out of control" which would apply in instances like this. There was a landmark case not that long ago in England where the master of a "trail" hunt was prosecuted and found guilty under this act when the hounds he was in charge of killed a little cat that was in it's own garden.

It's something that I've started to consider with Millie being on the dinky side. The only time we've seen a dog go for one of ours was when a friend's dog got hold of Jake one time. We knew this dog was dog aggressive but the trainer they were using had advised them to walk her with other dogs but obviously not allow her within biting range. One day we were all distracted by something and she got Jake by the neck so it was an attempted killing bite. Luckily she was on a lead at the time and we were able to get her off before she was able to do any real damage. She was also around about the same size as him and not a breed with particularly strong jaws.

I think the accepted advice now is to use the collar to choke a dog if it's wearing one. Problem is with some dogs the jaws are so strong that a single bite will do a lot of damage to a little dog. 

The issue of dog attacks is the reason Cooper will be the only dog I'll ever own. There's a guy local to me who's dog has had a go at mine 3 times thankfully none ending in injury, this moron still doesn't put the dog on a lead. On the third occasion it ended with me getting Cooper indoors and heading out looking for the guy, this is spectacularly out of character for me and was a blessing I didn't find him or I'd probably have ended up in jail.

Some people just couldn't care less how their dog behaves and have no intention to try and correct their behaviour. Cooper is permanently on a lead as he isn't great with other dogs, he has come a long way from how he was when we got him even making a few friends now but it took a long time and a lot of patience from us and the other dog owners.

I love dogs and would love to always have one but the stress is too much for me when it comes to other folks attitudes.