Latest Polls and Latest Odds

Lex

A Yes vote will not benefit me greatly, nor will a No vote. But I'm not voting for me.

I tend to find Yes voters are voting for Scotland as a whole and future generations. No voters vote for themselves.

Because I'm a sweet natured soul I'm going to go with 'naive' :lol:

I think some folk (not many but some) vote on the basis that they want to be on the winning side. Its the same notion as glory hunters in sport.

I don't think that's true.

If it is it would only be something like 1%.

What I would say though is quite a few cast their vote with very basic knowledge of politics or who they are actually voting for. (ie, Labour cares about low skilled workers... Salmond's crew only care about Scotland... The Conservative care about high earners.. The Greens want to reduce the carbon footprint.. etc etc)

Because I'm a sweet natured soul I'm going to go with 'naive' :lol:

Just remember, a No vote is a Yes to Westminster.

Yes to austerity, foodbanks, trident, maintaining the massive rich/ poor divide, victimisation of the poor, squandering oil money and Johann Lamont.

By all means though, use a laughter smiley.

Why don't you tell us yet another betting anecdote. I'm sure that will work for you.

OK.

If you can manage to join @Betfair.com, you can lay or back and make some cash. The secret is to speculate right now. If you feel really strongly on the subject, depending on what side you want to win, you can have a flutter, your side loses, and still be happy on the 19th Sept. That's what I did.

If YES wins, I, as a NO voter stand to make a £429.57 profit. (I started off with a £200 free bet from @bet365.) I blew the first £100 on Dundee United to be runners up to Celtic last year. How pish am I at fitba betting eh? Am terrible.

So, give it a twirl. Open up an account that flings free betting money at you, keep mind you need to roll that free money over three times to get "free cash" but it is worth it in the long run. Here, I used to back a horse called Long Run years ago. So, aye, give it a bash. The 1/7 izny very appealing from your point of view mind.

Pretty much the entire campaign has been run on the basis of 'Vote Yes/No' and things will be better for you. When I lived in Leith one of the first public meetings that I saw advertised was by the Scottish Socialist Party, of all people, and it was titled 'Come and hear why independence will make you better off'.

Ah, Project Paradise.

It may well work. Project Fear isn't over the winning line yet.

I've very rarely cast a vote and been on the winning side :P

I will be this time right enough although that wouldn't have mattered. Id have voted yes if it looked halfway decent but its a badly thought out pile of shite run by idiots. So no. Maybe next time, I'm quite happy to wait on something remotely sensible.

I wouldn't have put it quite like that but I'm the same, I'm not against independence, I just don't fancy what's on offer either.

You do know that what is on offer is permanent independence?

What is on offer is whatever the Scottish electorate wants - whatever they vote for in the first general election post independence.

I presume you guys are talking about the transition process, the next couple of years?

Think longer term folks, its much more important.

And the next time we get the chance we will all be a good chunk older, or dead.

Oh my.

I didn't take Pandarilla for a bitter character.

I hope she/he feels better in the morning.

I can be very bitter Tryfield - and I very much hope I'm feeling better in the morning (I've had a terrible summer).

But I'm not really sure what particular point you're on about?

A quick google shows that the point of the meeting was that you will be "socially, culturally and politically better off with independence."

There. That took 30 seconds to debunk.

You do know that what is on offer is permanent independence?

What is on offer is whatever the Scottish electorate wants - whatever they vote for in the first general election post independence.

I presume you guys are talking about the transition process, the next couple of years?

Think longer term folks, its much more important.

And the next time we get the chance we will all be a good chunk older, or dead.

Oh well, seeing as how you put it like that.....

Err no I was copy shitestain or whatever he's called. The alias for that poster that got banned for calling the clown collective paedophiles.

I used to be indecisive about you shittoon, but now I'm not so sure. I think you are also mixed up about the paedophile allegation. More like a self declaration.

Really not sure what you want to hear tbh.

If you're so skeptical get a copy of the white paper. It's free y'know.

If you read all 600 pages (or the pages relating to the issues that most concern you) and decide once and for all you're not convinced then that's absolutely fair enough.

Really not sure what you want to hear tbh.

If you're so skeptical get a copy of the white paper. It's free y'know.

If you read all 600 pages (or the pages relating to the issues that most concern you) and decide once and for all you're not convinced then that's absolutely fair enough.

Thanks for the advice but I'm good to go ta.

What exactly were you looking for from the Yes campaign?

Don't get me wrong - I think they've made some mistakes. But you seem to be unhappy with the version of independence that's on offer? What is it that's missing that you would like?

There are a lot of unknowns because those things have to be negotiated. These negotiations will be long and complex. There will be some gains, and some losses. They would be carried out by a cross-section of Scottish politics - not the SNP or wee fat Eck.

If you have decided that independence is not for you then fine - fair enough. But I struggle to understand the view that the Yes campaign have not gave enough guarantees of what an independent Scotland would look like. It would be fake and disingenuous for them to do so.

Yes to austerity, foodbanks, trident, maintaining the massive rich/ poor divide, victimisation of the poor, squandering oil money and Johann Lamont.

Stick around, it's all sorts of fun. You p***k.

:)

If it's good for the goose its good for the gander old man :thumsup2

What exactly were you looking for from the Yes campaign?

Don't get me wrong - I think they've made some mistakes. But you seem to be unhappy with the version of independence that's on offer? What is it that's missing that you would like?

There are a lot of unknowns because those things have to be negotiated. These negotiations will be long and complex. There will be some gains, and some losses. They would be carried out by a cross-section of Scottish politics - not the SNP or wee fat Eck.

If you have decided that independence is not for you then fine - fair enough. But I struggle to understand the view that the Yes campaign have not gave enough guarantees of what an independent Scotland would look like. It would be fake and disingenuous for them to do so.

"There's not enough detail" has become the staple excuse for Nos and undecideds.

The truth is there is plenty of detail from the Yes side out there. The difference is it isn't spoonfed to us by the media and you actually have to look for it. In the year 2014 it shouldn't be hard to turn on a computer and look at some stuff for 15-30 minutes each day. That's if you genuinely care about the vote.

It's up to them to decide whether it's legit or complete bollocks.

No it isn't.

Saying no to one specific form of change does not mean one is saying no to any and all forms of change, nor does it necessarily mean they support the status quo. It simply means they are saying no to the, specific, form of change.

"There's not enough detail" has become the staple excuse for Nos and undecideds.

The truth is there is plenty of detail from the Yes side out there. The difference is it isn't spoonfed to us by the media and you actually have to look for it. In the year 2014 it shouldn't be hard to turn on a computer and look at some stuff for 15-30 minutes each day. That's if you genuinely care about the vote.

Give example's sources of information on Scottish independence.

(You will be laughed at if you start listing Nationalist blogs)