St Andrews thread

MrFanA

Do they have the quality within there squad to survive this season and miss out on relegation

Seen st andrews twice this season 1st time against boness and the 2nd against whitburn on the basis what i have seen i think they could go down

• Replies 194

St Andrews current league form isn't that bad compared to the likes of Tayport (2 points from eight games), Ballingry Rovers (1 point from last seven games). Going on their performance against Kelty Hearts they aren't any worse than Kelty either. Throw in Lochee United as well there are quite a few teams that could finish below them in the league.

There a few contenders for relegation this year as you rightly point out. St Andrews are definitely one of the contenders, but i believe they will turn things around as soon as they get the big defender Craig back and start playing like they want to win games. The same repeats every game with silly fouls and wasted chances. The big ginger defender James has shown some strength and has been a rock in the back until recently. He has had a couple bad games. The potential he shows is encouraging though. Theres a new signing a polish guy that has a bit of flare about him. Nips about a lot and always looks like he's going to create something. Has had a no bad start to the season so far and could turn out to be an asset. They have Sibanda sitting up front every game and that guy can score some superb goals. Just not often enough. Give him a sniff at a ball and he tries his hardest to collect, create or score. Midfield is a bit if a mixed bag. Shuffles around a lot due to injured players or absent players but could get better with formation stability with a full team present.

Cant wait to see what happens at Linlithgow. If i was a betting man i know where my money would be but stranger things have happened. "Optimist"

White Star may have been deleted from the Glenrothes oops I mean fife football forum coco but Martin is correct this time. Terry has been around those parts for many years now, longer than you in fact and is very much alive and kicking. He has no hatred of Glenrothes and knows almost everyone of their players and commitee but believes a football forum is for supporters to express their opinions.

For anyone who doesn't already know, the chairman of Glenrothes was annoyed recently when one of his commitee spoke out of school and every man and his dog found out what he had allegedly said about his ex manager behind his back. White Star posted said allegations on the fff and a witch hunt began. To cut a long story short, although goaded by the chairman/club secretary/players/friends and even a club sponsor of the same club White Stars account was deleted. He was given warning points for a "homophobic comment" for saying that's a gay song.

Their manager is also a moderator on the forum.

The squad has more local boys than it has for a while.

The club has recently joined with The Colts, Ammies and Uni in the St Andrews Community Club to try and improve football in the town but when the kids have to leave to get work etc and want there own houses there is nothing in St Andrews for them (£200,000 + for a 3 bed semi) so they move to Dundee and Perth etc and end up playing football there as well so there is a black hole from about age 18/19 where the talented kids play elsewhere and they are lost to the town.

As for the local talent 13 members of the squad live within 10 or 11 miles of the ground this season.

There is a good committee at Saints and we are all pulling in the same direction as its important for the club that we do stay in the Super League, alongside excellent backing from sponsors etc that would rival some league sides.

We could certainly have easier games than Saturday, you never know Lithgae might have another off day, although when was the last time they had two together, onwards and upwards

The club has recently joined with The Colts, Ammies and Uni in the St Andrews Community Club to try and improve football in the town but when the kids have to leave to get work etc and want there own houses there is nothing in St Andrews for them (£200,000 + for a 3 bed semi) so they move to Dundee and Perth etc and end up playing football there as well so there is a black hole from about age 18/19 where the talented kids play elsewhere and they are lost to the town.

As for the local talent 13 members of the squad live within 10 or 11 miles of the ground this season.

There is a good committee at Saints and we are all pulling in the same direction as its important for the club that we do stay in the Super League, alongside excellent backing from sponsors etc that would rival some league sides.

We could certainly have easier games than Saturday, you never know Lithgae might have another off day, although when was the last time they had two together, onwards and upwards

That's good that there's a nucleus of guys from in and around the town Mark.

Hopefully results start to go your way soon.

I'm glad the uni have involved themselves in the community aspect of the club mate. When I was there way back in the '90s there was no interaction at all which I thought strange due to the sheer number of potential supporters and players the uni could provide. Mind you relations between town and gown were a little strained at times back then...

Nice milestones to reach and hopefully they both continue to be so dedicated to the cause. Ricky plays well week in week out. Scores on occasion too which helps. Ryan has been in more positions than porn star so far this season. Shows great potential through ability to adapt to whatever is thrown his way.

Might be worth a wee bet on St Andrews on Saturday.

Linlithgow have McKillen, Ovenstone, Ruari McLennon and McArthur out injured and Herd is suspended while Hilland is working offshore.

That leaves us with only 12 players.

Might be worth a wee bet on St Andrews on Saturday.

Linlithgow have McKillen, Ovenstone, Ruari McLennon and McArthur out injured and Herd is suspended while Hilland is working offshore.

That leaves us with only 12 players.

Gees a shout when ure doon tae 8 players.

Going back to the subject of Ryan McInnes, I have been looking at his stats we Ryan has played central midfield(favourite position) right side, left side and right back and functioned well in all of those as well as just off the front two last season and clocked up 100 appearences in a short space of time since leaving Leven Utd which shows just what a versatile and invaluable player he is, as well as respected.

As for local players, Jim has stated on more than one occasion that he would love to field a team full of St Andreans if the talent was there, and most of the talented ones have had a chance at The Rec at some stage or other

Going back to the subject of Ryan McInnes, I have been looking at his stats we Ryan has played central midfield(favourite position) right side, left side and right back and functioned well in all of those as well as just off the front two last season and clocked up 100 appearences in a short space of time since leaving Leven Utd which shows just what a versatile and invaluable player he is, as well as respected.

As for local players, Jim has stated on more than one occasion that he would love to field a team full of St Andreans if the talent was there, and most of the talented ones have had a chance at The Rec at some stage or other

Mark, the local players comment wasn't a criticism. I'm quite sure I said in my earlier post that you can't play local players if they 're not of super league standard just because of their postcode.

I remember watching the Saints as a young boy and it was great to see guys like Mackie, Fin, Falls etc all play in a successful side. Those were local guys who could have played for any time in Fife at that time.

Edit to add...

Good luck against Lithgae - maybe a good time to play them if they are as depleted as is made out earlier in this thread. Even a weakened side will still be a quality side though!

Mark, the local players comment wasn't a criticism. I'm quite sure I said in my earlier post that you can't play local players if they 're not of super league standard just because of their postcode.

I remember watching the Saints as a young boy and it was great to see guys like Mackie, Fin, Falls etc all play in a successful side. Those were local guys who could have played for any time in Fife at that time.

Edit to add...

Good luck against Lithgae - maybe a good time to play them if they are as depleted as is made out earlier in this thread. Even a weakened side will still be a quality side though!

Good post mate,it certainly never came over as criticism to me. Hopefully with their centenary not too far away United can climb the table and remain in the super league for many years to come.

Good luck to the Saints for tomorrow. A draw would be an achievement. A win would be even better but its going to take a huge undertaking given our current form. Suppose we are better away than at home so far so fingers crossed. Onwards and upwards i hope!

I believe St Andrews will come good once injuries clear up but as much as I respect the manager could not believe his shout at one of his players to" hit him harder next time he is still walking" not the shouts you would expect to hear from a manager of a friendly club .

White Star may have been deleted from the Glenrothes oops I mean fife football forum coco but Martin

A long time since I've been called Martin White Star. So many people called me that at the glens I actually started to respond to it!

I believe St Andrews will come good once injuries clear up but as much as I respect the manager could not believe his shout at one of his players to" hit him harder next time he is still walking" not the shouts you would expect to hear from a manager of a friendly club .

Theres never an excuse for that type of behaviour on the park so coming from someone in his position questions need to be asked. Its getting beyond a joke the abuse coming from the St Andrews touchline be it a manager, coach or even some fans. Probably sour grapes because they cant get the results and this has been the case throughout last season too.

Maybe a shake up is required! Its bad enough going to watch them lose all the time but to add the overly aggressive macho bravado that comes out the mouths is just a joke. They make a mockery of the image of the team.

And some of the abuse from fans towards officials is beyond a joke! One ounce of brains lets you know you make yourself look like an eejit when you act like that. Im a saints fan and im embarrassed by the insults. Grow a pair and accept the decisions. If they have been to a game before then they should know nothing will change the decision and your abuse if anything is a hinderance towards your own team.

Once again im saying encouragement is needed towards the team and especially when your behind. Do you think the coaches and manager know this? If they do then they sure as hell ain't doing it. And to think i was going to get a season ticket! Not to listen to staff shouting abuse game in game out. Frustrated is an understatement.

Rant over*