Youth Teams Discussion.

Enigma

Scotland u17s 1-1 Wales u17s at Forthbank tonight.
Scotland took a deserved lead through Celtic's Ben Doak before a soft penalty got Wales level. Our boys had the best chances to win it, but it finished level. Decent game.
20210902_185931.thumb.jpg.7488e5fff939dfd976575db34401fa43.jpg
How did Chris McGinn (Scotland's LB) play?

45 minutes ago, accies1874 said:
10 hours ago, Craig the Hunter said:
Scotland u17s 1-1 Wales u17s at Forthbank tonight.
Scotland took a deserved lead through Celtic's Ben Doak before a soft penalty got Wales level. Our boys had the best chances to win it, but it finished level. Decent game.
20210902_185931.thumb.jpg.7488e5fff939dfd976575db34401fa43.jpg

How did Chris McGinn (Scotland's LB) play?

Pretty well, defended well and was always willing to get forward. 

1 hour ago, albagubrath said:

What was the style of football like? Once they get to the 19s and 21s it is agricultural, but I don't know how the 17s are set up. I hope they are at least trying to teach them to play the right way.

Tried to play football, were good at spreading it wide and attacking down the wings. From that game it looked like they're set up to play the right way.

1 hour ago, albagubrath said:

What was the style of football like? Once they get to the 19s and 21s it is agricultural, but I don't know how the 17s are set up. I hope they are at least trying to teach them to play the right way.

Our u17 and u19s are well within the top 10 countries in Europe, and then our u21s collapse into perennial 3rd/4th place in almost every group.  It's a bewildering, and long lasting problem.

38 minutes ago, HuttonDressedAsLahm said:

Our u17 and u19s are well within the top 10 countries in Europe, and then our u21s collapse into perennial 3rd/4th place in almost every group.  It's a bewildering, and long lasting problem.

It's no really bewildering, it's pish management 

2 hours ago, Insert Amusing Pseudonym said:

It's no really bewildering, it's pish management 

Not just at the international squad level either. The clubs also have a tendency toward hoofball at senior level which substantively impacts on the development of the players IMO. When combined with a reluctance to actually play our best young players in club football, there has been a serious stall in development that occurs between U17 and U21 level for some time now.

I do genuinely think things are getting better, but it will take a long time to get out of the rut we found ourselves in. Thankfully efforts to improve things started quite some time ago, hopefully the fruits of those changes are starting to appear now.

33 minutes ago, albagubrath said:

Not just at the international squad level either. The clubs also have a tendency toward hoofball at senior level which substantively impacts on the development of the players IMO. When combined with a reluctance to actually play our best young players in club football, there has been a serious stall in development that occurs between U17 and U21 level for some time now.

I do genuinely think things are getting better, but it will take a long time to get out of the rut we found ourselves in. Thankfully efforts to improve things started quite some time ago, hopefully the fruits of those changes are starting to appear now.

Yep.  The 17s and below all play passing football in effectively the same formation.  Then we get them to Stark and Gemmill and totally change the way they play.  

‘Twas ever thus. At 16-18 we have always been excellent, we then go to shit between 18 and 21 and we stay there.
I remember the excitement on this forum when we reached the U19 Euro Final in 2006 and lost narrowly 2-1 to a very good Spain team that included the likes of Pique and Juan Mata. Consensus on here was that we had a golden generation on its way through and the 2010’s would be a great decade for us.
As it turned out only Lee Wallace and Graham Dorrans from that team ever earned a full cap, and neither exactly set the heather alight. The stars of that run were Michael McGlinchey (currently at Clyde) and Ryan Conroy (currently at Peterhead). Steven Fletcher did play and score in the group stages but was injured for the final, he was the only one to have any kind of respectable international career.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2006_UEFA_European_Under-19_Championship
We also the semi final of the under 17 Euros in 2014 after beating Germany in the group stage, but none of that team have made the step up either. That side had a strike force of Craig Wighton and Ryan Hardie, can’t see either of them getting capped any time soon.
I’m sure it was Souness said the drop off in the standard of Scottish players when they reach 18 was due to the three B’s. Booze, Birds and Burgers. Lifestyle choices seem to be why they struggle to make that transition between excellent youth player and excellent senior player.

Just now, Lex said:

‘Twas ever thus. At 16-18 we have always been excellent, we then go to shit between 18 and 21 and we stay there.
I remember the excitement on this forum when we reached the U19 Euro Final in 2006 and lost narrowly 2-1 to a very good Spain team that included the likes of Pique and Juan Mata. Consensus on here was that we had a golden generation on its way through and the 2010’s would be a great decade for us.
As it turned out only Lee Wallace and Graham Dorrans from that team ever earned a full cap, and neither exactly set the heather alight. The stars of that run were Michael McGlinchey (currently at Clyde) and Ryan Conroy (currently at Peterhead). Steven Fletcher did play and score in the group stages but was injured for the final, he was the only one to have any kind of respectable international career.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2006_UEFA_European_Under-19_Championship
We also the semi final of the under 17 Euros in 2014 after beating Germany in the group stage, but none of that team have made the step up either. That side had a strike force of Craig Wighton and Ryan Hardie, can’t see either of them getting capped any time soon.
I’m sure it was Souness said the drop off in the standard of Scottish players when they reach 18 was due to the three B’s. Booze, Birds and Burgers. Lifestyle choices seem to be why they struggle to make that transition between excellent youth player and excellent senior player.

Certainly, there's something wrong.  I went to Canada for the u20 World Cup in 2007, off the back of that Euros performance.  We lost all three - against fairly unimpressive teams.  We were dismal.  British Columbia was nice though.

From recollection, only six ever had a career of note, with only Dorrans, Fletcher, Considine, and Snodgrass having any sort of staying power.

We do seem to have a strong group of current 18-22 year olds right now, who whilst achieving nothing at youth level in Scotland, at least seem to be on the right track at club/senior Scotland level (Ferguson, Patterson, Gilmour, Turnbull, Hickey - maybe even Porteous and McCrorie).  The likes of Doig, Ramsay and Welsh also look promising, without being really tested yet (how many of these types of players end up more like Greg Wylde than Ryan Fraser, when they make they next big step?)

Just watched the highlights this morning. Ben Doak (Celtic) looked fabulous. Fast and direct with excellent dribbling skills and a good end product. I believe he is still 15 so a great prospect. Unusually for a Scottish 7 he looked big, at least a couple of inches taller than all the other lads when they were celebrating.

14 hours ago, albagubrath said:

Just watched the highlights this morning. Ben Doak (Celtic) looked fabulous. Fast and direct with excellent dribbling skills and a good end product. I believe he is still 15 so a great prospect. Unusually for a Scottish 7 he looked big, at least a couple of inches taller than all the other lads when they were celebrating.

Thon number 7 disnae gi a f**k brilliant

Not too sure how this team will line up. Presumably a 4-2-3-1 with Montgomery on the left of the three but Kennedy and Middleton also seem to play their best football there. I've never seen Mayo before but I think he's quite highly rated?