Car advice

11 hours ago, Boostin' Kev said:

Is that nationwide tow? Lot of the insurance add ons were 10 miles. 

Yes.  Local, national and at home with no excess is about £20 per year.  If you want personal cover instead then it goes up to about £49 which you can get down to £40ish with topcashback.  You can also add a second person to the personal cover for about £10.

On 09/02/2021 at 16:43, Granny Danger said:

I’ve had four over the years.  Brilliant driving experience but absolutely no use in this weather.  Very comfortable, well equipped and solid.  The rear wheel drive is the only major negative that I can think of,one minor one is that the rear seats do no fold down.

If you’re getting a new one and can afford it go for the 4WD.  That would be my ultimate drive outwith winning the lottery.

Picking one up tomorrow from Park's Maserati. 3 way split in rear seats so all good. That said, these are different times and I've not seen the car yet!

So due to impending unemployment (well, come the end of May) and with the end of my current car lease this year I'm looking to dip my toe back into the world of buying a second hand car to get around rather than lock myself into another lease.  There's no immediate rush as we don't need two cars whilst in lockdown and I wont be handing my lease car back for the next month or two, but it would be good to get a handle on the lie of the land these days as it's probably 8 years or so since I last bought one.

Is the art of haggling on price a thing of the past if you go to a large dealer these days? I would imagine their "screen prices" are cut to the bone given how easy it is to find a similar car at a click of a button, and with the "pile them high, sell them cheap" car supermarkets seemingly multiplying there can't be too much margin?  Will Covid have a negative impact on second hand prices? I have a healthy dislike for car salesmen and car dealers in general, so if I can screw money out of them then all well and good.

Sadly it wont be a Mercedes like HTG (he has an image to maintain after all....) something small, under £10k, and less than 5 years old is the aim.

59 minutes ago, Burnieman said:

So due to impending unemployment (well, come the end of May) and with the end of my current car lease this year I'm looking to dip my toe back into the world of buying a second hand car to get around rather than lock myself into another lease.  There's no immediate rush as we don't need two cars whilst in lockdown and I wont be handing my lease car back for the next month or two, but it would be good to get a handle on the lie of the land these days as it's probably 8 years or so since I last bought one.

Is the art of haggling on price a thing of the past if you go to a large dealer these days? I would imagine their "screen prices" are cut to the bone given how easy it is to find a similar car at a click of a button, and with the "pile them high, sell them cheap" car supermarkets seemingly multiplying there can't be too much margin?  Will Covid have a negative impact on second hand prices? I have a healthy dislike for car salesmen and car dealers in general, so if I can screw money out of them then all well and good.

Sadly it wont be a Mercedes like HTG (he has an image to maintain after all....) something small, under £10k, and less than 5 years old is the aim.

All the Asian ones Hyundai, Kia etc are the same. Cheap and reliable, but you won't pull a burd.

Other than them get a Skoda. It's just like a Volkeswagen...only cheaper.

I don't haggle, they know more than me and I know I'll lose, but I don't let them steer me to one " a bit more expensive, but a big step up."

All the Asian ones Hyundai, Kia etc are the same. Cheap and reliable, but you won't pull a burd.
I don't haggle, they know more than me and I know I'll lose, but I don't let them steer me to one " a bit more expensive, but a big step up."
My first ever lease was a Seat and was impressed with it, so going to take a look in that direction, also see what Peugeot have to offer these days, have had a few in the past, inc a 205 1.9 GTI. Sigh.

1 hour ago, Burnieman said:

as the proud owner of an - *alan partridge voice* 2016 Hwhat Car Magazine Car of the Year - 17 plate Astra then I reckon the hatchback variant would be worth a look, possibly a Corsa too.

their resale values are piss poor (I think due to there being absolutely millions of them in the UK) but the flip side means you should comfortably be able to find a really low mileage one in that budget with a higher spec, im aiming to run mine until it dies (especially with the petrol n' diesel ban, I know its for new sales but I'm pessimistic about road tax and fuel costs creeping up and up over the next few years)

6 minutes ago, Burnieman said:
25 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

My first ever lease was a Seat and was impressed with it, so going to take a look in that direction, also see what Peugeot have to offer these days, have had a few in the past, inc a 205 1.9 GTI. Sigh.

I saw one of them abroad in Spain on holiday a couple of years ago, ha! Next to no rust on the thing and all, brilliant looking wee cars.

I actually have an 18 plate Astra Elite Nav Turbo at the moment with all the toys, the only reason I have it is the leasing company were giving them away when I renewed last time.

However my days of owning 200bhp cars has gone really, so to buy a long termer I'll look for something a bit more frugal but maybe still some fun. 208 GT line petrol are catching the eye, not bad priced for 17 plates from what I can see. A 308 GT line diesel also looks decent.

I actually have an 18 plate Astra Elite Nav Turbo at the moment with all the toys, the only reason I have it is the leasing company were giving them away when I renewed last time.

However my days of owning 200bhp cars has gone really, so to buy a long termer I'll look for something a bit more frugal but maybe still some fun. 208 GT line petrol are catching the eye, not bad priced for 17 plates from what I can see. A 308 GT line diesel also looks decent.
The new Peugeots are nice cars but I'd recommend seeing one in person if its something your considering.

The driving position can be a bit weird in that the steering wheel is tiny and the gauges are positioned with the idea that you look over the top rather than through the steering wheel (if that makes sense).

Absolutely everything is integrated into the touchscreen which can be a pain in the arse. Changing the temperature, for example, while driving can be a nightmare as you need to take your eyes off the road to get to the correct screen. It also doesn't help that the screens don't tend to be very responsive.

My other half had a 208 a few years ago which she hated for the above reasons. She changed to a Mazda 2 which was a brilliant wee car.

43 minutes ago, Burnieman said:
1 hour ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

My Skoda is our second car. Seat Arona is our "big" one.

2 minutes ago, Ron Aldo said:

The new Peugeots are nice cars but I'd recommend seeing one in person if its something your considering.

The driving position can be a bit weird in that the steering wheel is tiny and the gauges are positioned with the idea that you look over the top rather than through the steering wheel (if that makes sense).

Absolutely everything is integrated into the touchscreen which can be a pain in the arse. Changing the temperature, for example, while driving can be a nightmare as you need to take your eyes off the road to get to the correct screen. It also doesn't help that the screens don't tend to be very responsive.

My other half had a 208 a few years ago which she hated for the above reasons. She changed to a Mazda 2 which was a brilliant wee car.

Aye the 208 is a bit unique as far as steering wheel / position is concerned.  Not driven one so obviously that would have to happen first to see if I liked it or not.  I believe the 308 has more controls on the touch screen than the 208, which is a bit off putting.

16 plate Citroën C3 with a gas leak in the front exhaust. Girlfriend has her heart set it on it but I'm telling her to avoid, big job that will almost definitely need done in less than year.

Am I overreacting or does that sound right to you all?
Price for a replacement exhaust and ask for that off then get it repaired. Exhaust leaks aren't great for the car or the driver tbf depending on where its leaking from.

@Burnieman don’t rush away from that Astra just yet. They won’t be all that keen to get a lease car back when there’s no real way of punting it back out and get top book for it. Leasing is explicitly a ‘no purchase option’ available but that’s because they want to control what to do with it at lease end.

A quiet enquiry about purchasing (bear in mind it’s a 1 owner car and you know every pothole it’s been through) nearing lease expiry and I think you’ll be surprised what they’ll sell it to you at. I’d suggest doing a WBAC on the Reg No and I expect they’ll sell it to you for that sort of money, not far from £10k I’d wager. No haggling with them but no dealer margin to support either...

17 minutes ago, alta-pete said:

@Burnieman don’t rush away from that Astra just yet. They won’t be all that keen to get a lease car back when there’s no real way of punting it back out and get top book for it. Leasing is explicitly a ‘no purchase option’ available but that’s because they want to control what to do with it at lease end.

A quiet enquiry about purchasing (bear in mind it’s a 1 owner car and you know every pothole it’s been through) nearing lease expiry and I think you’ll be surprised what they’ll sell it to you at. I’d suggest doing a WBAC on the Reg No and I expect they’ll sell it to you for that sort of money, not far from £10k I’d wager. No haggling with them but no dealer margin to support either...

Hmmm......interesting.   I didn't think there would be any way they'd entertain an offer on it, as you say it's a no purchase option.  Are there examples of this happening?

Currently, WBAC says £8200 which seems stupidly cheap for what it is, although given I only have it as it was at a give away lease deal in 2018 maybe 1.6T don't shift too easily these days.  the lease has 8 months to run, and I have asked for a termination quote which on past experience will be about half the monthly payments which is left, but if there is a realistic opportunity to actually but the thing at the end of the deal, well........

I’ve done it three times now. 

I’d say continue the lease - appreciate your personal finances are changing - but by the end of the year I reckon it’ll be £7k-ish from the current £8200 start point  

ETA - they won’t entertain an offer but they will tell you what they want for it. 

Edited by alta-pete

3 minutes ago, alta-pete said:

I’ve done it three times now. 

I’d say continue the lease - appreciate your personal finances are changing - but by the end of the year I reckon it’ll be £7k-ish from the current £8200 start point  

ETA - they won’t entertain an offer but they will tell you what they want for it. 

Cheers Pete, that certainly is food for thought.  I don't have an issue carrying on the lease to term, and I like the car - although admittedly it wouldn't be my first choice these days - but by the time is due to go back it wont have done 12k.

Looking at a new car but the only problem is it's in Stockport, what is the covid rules regarding traveling down from Edinburgh as it's quite a specialist car I'd like to inspect myself and the fact I'm getting quoted about £300 for it being delivered to me and I can get a train down for £60.