The Star Wars thread (includes spoilers for IX)

Quentin Taranbino

11 hours ago, mishtergrolsch said:

Watched it all now.

The Obi Wan and Vader stuff was top notch. Held the whole season together imo. Really wanted to love the show but left feeling it was a missed opportunity. 

Wasn't a big fan of the writing, some jarring plot holes and really terribly written conveniences. Some crap CGI and some really poor directing overall. The whole season was a big generic escort mission peppered with some great acting chops from McGregor and Christiansen and some nice light sabre fights. I thought it would open out to something better after the first few episodes.

Qui Gon was wasted imo, could have been done better however it was brilliant to see him.

Really didn't like Reva, I didn't buy the character. You don't sneak up behind Vader, ignite your lightsaber, lift it up and try swinging at him and expect him to not have a clue whats going on. I thought her storyline was an interesting idea poorly executed. 

I'd take a season 2 if Ewan is up for it. But where do you go from absolutely fucking up Darth Vader? Maybe Qui Gon helping Obi Wan to find Master Yoda? Or trying to find the remaining Jedi?

And no more escort missions please.

If they do a season two they could potentially unravel a new hope big time, they can get away with the season one plot as it was leia and obi wan and stuff, but a season two seems like too much maybe, yoda had to stay exiled given how known he was, same for obi wan

The Kenobi/Vader confrontations have really been the glue that has held the series together. Sure there was a lot of shite in those 6 episodes, but the pay off has been worth it.

Not fussed about another series as it's unlikely to have Vader, Luke or Leia in it as that would surely blow massive plot holes in ANH.

51 minutes ago, Ervin H Burrell said:

The Kenobi/Vader confrontations have really been the glue that has held the series together. Sure there was a lot of shite in those 6 episodes, but the pay off has been worth it.

Not fussed about another series as it's unlikely to have Vader, Luke or Leia in it as that would surely blow massive plot holes in ANH.

This is it for me. 

Some of the breakdowns and apparant plot holes that annoy people are hilarious to me. 

It's Star Wars ffs. It's always been filled with plot holes and it's always just been a casual goodies vs baddies repetitive yet epic style. I really don't know what some people were expecting.  

The canon/lore demons are the worst, as can be seen on this thread during the announcement of the series where one poster was saying they were looking forward to Obi Wan vs Vader and you had other people trying to argue this was impossible as it didn't add up in their personal little lore bubble... now we've had it and they've moved on to the next one. 

Another wee Easter egg, when you saw Vader in the bacta tank a couple of episodes ago he didn’t have the big f**k off axe wound scar on the top of his head that was pretty visible when Luke removes his helmet in Episode 6, that’s cos he gets it in that final fight with Obi-Wan when Kenobi twats him about the head and splits his helmet and mask in two!!!

7 hours ago, 54_and_counting said:

You said he doesn't kill him in ep 3, but come on he chopped 3 of his 4 limbs off and left him on fire burning to death, and given his shock at finding out anakin was vader he clearly thought he was going to die in ep 3, and walked away from him knowing this, 

So he clearly has no issue with anakin/vader dying, and even worse, when vader tells him that he himself killed anakin and theres nothing left, that should have been obi wans trigger to go "ah well f**k it" and kill him

😂

I give up.

7 hours ago, 54_and_counting said:

If they do a season two they could potentially unravel a new hope big time, they can get away with the season one plot as it was leia and obi wan and stuff, but a season two seems like too much maybe, yoda had to stay exiled given how known he was, same for obi wan

See, I feel the Leia of this series makes Leia in the OT look like a dafty tbh. Shes all technical and capable here, a super intelligent force sensitive kiddo whos important and then relegated to a side character mostly within 10 years. Then all of a sudden in the ST shes all important with the force Mary Poppins ability running the resistance. 

Then there's Luke who's never meant to see a lightsaber but gets run down and captured by a Jedi hunter in a life changing, traumatic chase but is a naive farm boy at the start of the OT.

Plus many many more.

So finding Yoda wouldnt really do much more than Disney already have tbh. Just more content that kind of sideways shits on the OT.

2 hours ago, King Kebab said:

Another wee Easter egg, when you saw Vader in the bacta tank a couple of episodes ago he didn’t have the big f**k off axe wound scar on the top of his head that was pretty visible when Luke removes his helmet in Episode 6, that’s cos he gets it in that final fight with Obi-Wan when Kenobi twats him about the head and splits his helmet and mask in two!!!

Aye and when luke removes his mask in RotJ you see a similar mark at the same point

For being the big bad ass he is, he's not very fucking good at times, thats both obi wan and ahsoka managed to skelp him about in a saber fight, 

Biggest let down for me was the music. As far as Star Wars music is concerned it was pretty weak IMO. Vaders theme was pretty shite. The fight scene was epic but one minor complaint I have are the drone angle shots. They were fighting against a fairly forgettable backdrop, some rocky pillars at night. The aerial shots would have worked better if it was a mustafar/naboo type place. Instead of those aerial angles I would have simply liked more shots at ground level showing the intensity of the fight.

Pissed myself laughing when obi dropped that “hello there.” I love how Disney acknowledged the meme. I then burst out laughing even more when Qui Gon appeared. It was a nice ending but funny all the same.

This is it for me. 
Some of the breakdowns and apparant plot holes that annoy people are hilarious to me. 
It's Star Wars ffs. It's always been filled with plot holes and it's always just been a casual goodies vs baddies repetitive yet epic style. I really don't know what some people were expecting.  
The canon/lore demons are the worst, as can be seen on this thread during the announcement of the series where one poster was saying they were looking forward to Obi Wan vs Vader and you had other people trying to argue this was impossible as it didn't add up in their personal little lore bubble... now we've had it and they've moved on to the next one. 
Leia not remembering Obi-Wan in ANH is a major plot hole that was not addressed and needed to be.

absolutely loved that final episode. Anakin/Vader flipping between Hayden Christensen/James Earl Jones' voice through a split helmet, and that exchange with Obi-Wan was for me the best SW scene to date - added to by that preceding lightsaber fight scene. 

I am probably being slow on the uptake here but why did Reva go after Luke? Did she realise his connection to Vader because of the hologram comm device that Obi-Wan dropped and she went to kill Luke for revenge? Or did she simply realise that Luke was clearly valuable to Kenobi (but at that stage I don't see why she would want to hurt him based on that)?

On 23/06/2022 at 09:33, Jack Burton said:

Pretty much of the same opinion with the flashback and last fight both excellent but little to recommend it other than that.

The plot is wafer thin with two episodes of Obi Wan rescuing Leia and even one of them is a poorly executed version from Jedi Fallen Order. I was hoping it would focus on Obi Wan coming to terms with what happened to Anakin and there would be flashbacks in every episode but it never committed to this.

The Reva character just doesn't ring true she wants to get revenge on Vader for killing her friends by working with him and killing and torturing innocent people and Jedis. Again it's just poorly executed and I wouldnt be surprised if she was only in it so they can now give her a spin off show and keep pumping out content for Disney+.

It has some of the most ridiculous Star Wars scenes ever the Leia chase scenes and hiding under a trench coat. Characters make dumb decisions just to drive the plot forward such as Vader leaving Reva alive, Bail recording an unencrypted message to Obi Wan telling everyone where Luke is and the fake Jedi just happens to drop it for Reva to find.

And being stabbed through the gut with a lightsaber is now equivalent to a paper cut.

Nailed it. They're just a content factory these days. I didn't watch it as I'm just jaded with Disney content these days and after reading and hearing about Boba Fett (and seeing some videos about it) I had no faith this would be any good.

A few of the guys whose videos I watch had predicted, from the trailer, that this series would be about Reva rather than Kenobi and they would just be using the name recognition of OWK to lure fans in to a show that was ostensibly a set-up for their new character. This appears to be exactly what happened.

What a complete and utter disappointment

It's done f**k all for me. A couple good moments but such a damp squib of 6 hour clusterfuck. I'm pretty fuming the more I think about it. McGregor like with the prequels did his best, but f**k me the writing was all over the place and so unbelievably fucking shallow.

Leia, lol those chase scenes and a Mary fucking sue.

Hayden Christensen. Two scenes? Is that it? Is this the best redemption you've got for all the stick and possibilities of giving him some redemption.

Reya. Absolutely predictable from start to finish. She's not really anything of a character. Are all lightsaber stabbings just flesh wounds now aye? Nothing overly bad, but nothing redeeming for me either. Nae danger she was going to switch and it's predictability was set to 11.

The prequels were mixed at the time, but at least they regained some respect over the years. They had such a good opportunity here and they made a show that's worse. Prequels had at least had heartstopping moments when firing on all cylinders. This had one or two at most. "Naw, I killed anakin." "K byeeeee."

The Light saber fights. The most dull environments for it imaginable. Rocks in the dark? Twice. What a waste of scenery that felt phoned in.Where's the Mustafa from ep 3 or those laser shields separating them in ep. 1? Although the glare or the sabers in the dark was a nice touch, the directing for them were absymal. You could hardly follow the fights. They just had to go back to Taken levels of shakey camera and doing my box in.

At the end. OH HI QUIGON YOU'RE MORE IRISH THAN I REMEMBER. Talk about phoning it in FFS.

Please don't do a season 2. There's f**k all story to tell after butchering this cash grab.

Edited by the jambo-rocker

1 hour ago, scottsdad said:

Would have been better if Liam Neeson had shown up at the start of the series, when Princess Leia was Taken. 

In Lego Starwars Qui Gonn interacts with the bot characters by telling them he has a specialised set of skills 😂

5 hours ago, velo army said:

Nailed it. They're just a content factory these days. I didn't watch it as I'm just jaded with Disney content these days and after reading and hearing about Boba Fett (and seeing some videos about it) I had no faith this would be any good.

A few of the guys whose videos I watch had predicted, from the trailer, that this series would be about Reva rather than Kenobi and they would just be using the name recognition of OWK to lure fans in to a show that was ostensibly a set-up for their new character. This appears to be exactly what happened.

It wasn't tbh. 

Reva was a new character and they had some focus on her but that description you've posted is inaccurate. The vast majority of plot and screen time is OWK. 

Not suggesting you are at all but old school nerdy Star Wars fans really don't seem to like black people having prominent roles.