Banff

Evil Jim Fenner

There's a cracking little pub called the Ship Inn about five minutes walk from the ground. It's not massive, so could be a struggle if a few of you are heading in, but it's a great wee place.

^^ Fit he said.

The Ship is probably the best pub in Banff. There is another pub nearby called The Auld Fife, but no sure if it's still open as I don't drink in Banff these days.

^^ Fit he said.

The Ship is probably the best pub in Banff. There is another pub nearby called The Auld Fife, but no sure if it's still open as I don't drink in Banff these days.

Probably why it's maybe not open...

Cheers boys.

Is there a social club at the ground ?

much of a nightlife ?

There is a pub called the Seafield which is the local 'nightclub' but don't expect anything like the Hamilton Palace or the Commercial in Wishaw mate. Still if there is a few of you guys making the trip up North, then I am sure they will welcome you with open arms and you will have a good day / night out.

There is a wee bar in the main stand.

Stayed in Buckie quite a number of years ago after a QP pre-season match there. Excellent social club and they made us very welcome. There were some weird folks wandering the streets though.

We were told to keep out of neighbouring Buckpool (where the junior side play). A couple of the lads ventured into a pub there and were glowered at until they left. A bit Royston Vasey! We were subsequently told that the only reason they weren't given a doing was that they were recognised as not being from over the border in Buckie.

Enjoy!

Edited to add....totally misread the title; thought it said Buckie! Ah well, not to worry.

Stayed in Buckie quite a number of years ago after a QP pre-season match there. Excellent social club and they made us very welcome. There were some weird folks wandering the streets though.

We were told to keep out of neighbouring Buckpool (where the junior side play). A couple of the lads ventured into a pub there and were glowered at until they left. A bit Royston Vasey! We were subsequently told that the only reason they weren't given a doing was that they were recognised as not being from over the border in Buckie.

Enjoy!

Edited to add....totally misread the title; thought it said Buckie! Ah well, not to worry.

Buckpool looks like the posh part of that settlement. When through watching football at Merson Park in Buckpool (Home of Buckie Rovers) the club house at the golf course next door comes in handy.

and yes there does seem to be some strange characters about Buckie also the resident neds who take great pleasure at throwing stones at away fans from outside Victoria Park.

Buckpool looks like the posh part of that settlement. When through watching football at Merson Park in Buckpool (Home of Buckie Rovers) the club house at the golf course next door comes in handy.

and yes there does seem to be some strange characters about Buckie also the resident neds who take great pleasure at throwing stones at away fans from outside Victoria Park.

They have been known to chuck coins, lighters, stones at Vale fans in the enclosure at Viccy Park and they have also been known for getting slapped about by Vale fans for doing this.

• 1 year later...

Not much happening in Macduff these days. Stick to Banff. This is coming from a Macduffer.

The Springs is a bit out the way mind, and the Auld Fife is your best bet. Some B&B's just off the high st (forget which street but up past the Job Centre IIRC.

B&B next to the Job Centre is decent, owners sound. Used to stay round the back of her.

Aul fife is decent, Ship Inn along the harbour front and the Railway Inn up the hill from the harbour are decent boozers.

You have the Castle Bar on high street which is busy at weekends you should find some local talent and a younger crowd in there they used to gather up there then end up going to the night club called the Seafield just along the road.

Not sure if the Central Bar is still open.

I think Macduffs closed.

Cheers VVV, that B+B looks good, just checked out their website. What's the pitch like for postponements? Weather doesn't look too bad, bit of rain on Friday and dry and chilly on Saturday but not sub zero. Bit nervous of booking B+B after being caught out at places like Fort.. :1eye

Can never tell at this time of year. Not sure if the ''bomb'' will effect the game.

Fort is a c**t, was all ready and raring to go saturday past. Checked the Vale facebook page at 9 game was on then 20 minutes later the game was off.

Would have been a close game, i think Vale/Clach will be close.