Reasons to be Cheerful

On 29/07/2018 at 03:13, 19QOS19 said:

Aye, thought as much. I was on the PTTGOYN thread when my renewal quote came in. I can accept them giving you a renewal quote the same as the year before but I can't get my head around the companies asking for more.

They do it in the hope that people forget about their insurance and the renewal happens automatically.

57 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

They do it in the hope that people forget about their insurance and the renewal happens automatically.

I'm one of those people. Next time I'm going to comparison shop for the best quote and ask my firm to match it or at least drop their quote. I like the firm otherwise so I'd rather stay with them.

On 29/07/2018 at 03:13, 19QOS19 said:

Aye, thought as much. I was on the PTTGOYN thread when my renewal quote came in. I can accept them giving you a renewal quote the same as the year before but I can't get my head around the companies asking for more.

It's because the insurance market is fundamentally broken, and because the cost of fulfilling claims genuinely increases year on year.

On 28/07/2018 at 20:20, gav-ffc said:

We got a new corner couch and swivel chair last Sunday and tonight’s the first night I’ve had a chance to lie on them and I am not
Moving all evening.

I also recently went for a corner + swivel chair set up, bought from sofology. Tremendously comfortable.

I got asked for ID yesterday at Tesco. When I asked how old she thought I was she had a look and said 18.

Her face was a picture when she saw my age (29), and I walked out of the shop like

200w.gif

I got asked for ID yesterday at Tesco. When I asked how old she thought I was she had a look and said 18.

Her face was a picture when she saw my age (29), and I walked out of the shop like

200w.gif.2a2877bbc1d304e3a314d5bfd9c183f0.gif

I’ve been ID’d twice since I turned 40. Presumably because the Glasgow diet is, in general, so bad that there are 17 year olds in Glasgow that look more weather beaten than me.

21 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:

200w.gif

Maybe it was the acne.

200w.gif.2a2877bbc1d304e3a314d5bfd9c183f0.gif
Decent contender for the P&B Did Not Happen of the Year Award 2018...

15 hours ago, 19QOS19 said:

200w.gif

Did you give her guide dog a wee biscuit ? 

If I was a bullshitter I'm sure I could find something more interesting to talk about B)
If you'd added about everyone cheering and clapping as you left the shop then you'd definitely be in this year's Top 5 [emoji6]

21 minutes ago, ali_91 said:

Why not just show her your ID instead of trying to be smart? Every time I hear someone give the ‘how old do you think I am?’ ‘patter’ it makes my skin crawl. Terrible. 

I've sometimes asked that, but it's more due to the fact I want to know if they genuinely think I'm 17, rather than for any boasting purposes.  I'm 29 and up until a few weeks ago, sported a full beard. I'm quite a small/slight guy and I get ID'd a lot (sometimes I don't have it with me if I'm heading home from work or the like). It really pisses me off when I'm in Asda or the like and the reply is "I think you're about 23" - what the f**k you doing asking for ID then you complete fud (yes I realise it's "challenge 25", but that is a rule there to be used at the discretion of the staff, if they think I'm old enough to drink then they don't need to enforce it).

2 minutes ago, ali_91 said:

It’s not about thinking though. They could think you are 23 but still feel there is a chance you are under 18. People selling alcohol in shops are regularly tested by secret shoppers who are over 18 but under 25 to see if they will ID them. It’s absolutely not their fault if they feel the need to ID someone. I used to work in a bookies during Uni and you’d get a disciplinary if you served a mystery shopper. 

If you look younger than you are then you should carry your ID. 

ETA: I’d be interested in hearing what you think the purpose of ‘think 25’ is if it’s not to ID everyone you feel is under that age?

I understand the reasoning behind it, I just don't agree with it.  There's an easy way around these "secret shoppers", ask them directly what age they are - they can't lie when asked that question (you'll note a lot of local shops use this tactic). I just find it a stupid rule when people think you're of age and would be happy to serve you but instead need to insist on IDing you due to some stupid law which prevents precisely hee-haw in regards to underage drinking.

My driving licence was misplaced and my ID is now my passport until I get my replacement licence, I'm not carrying my passport on me all day, every day in case I fancy dropping in to buy 4 bottles of beer on my home. It's not a big deal tbh, I can go without 4 beers, it's just mildly annoying when it happens.

15 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

I understand the reasoning behind it, I just don't agree with it.  There's an easy way around these "secret shoppers", ask them directly what age they are - they can't lie when asked that question (you'll note a lot of local shops use this tactic). I just find it a stupid rule when people think you're of age and would be happy to serve you but instead need to insist on IDing you due to some stupid law which prevents precisely hee-haw in regards to underage drinking.

My driving licence was misplaced and my ID is now my passport until I get my replacement licence, I'm not carrying my passport on me all day, every day in case I fancy dropping in to buy 4 bottles of beer on my home. It's not a big deal tbh, I can go without 4 beers, it's just mildly annoying when it happens.

Think the mystery shoppers being referred to are the ones sent in by shops etc. to review customer service.

I worked in a supermarket when I was younger, and if you get one you would be disciplined if you didn't ask for ID despite the fact they were clearly not under 18. Could be a 24 year old but still have to ask them.

Why not just show her your ID instead of trying to be smart? Every time I hear someone give the ‘how old do you think I am?’ ‘patter’ it makes my skin crawl. Terrible. 
At what stage of the conversation was I "trying to be smart"? As I was reaching for my ID I asked the question. I'm sure any normal person who asks to see ID would rather some jovial conversation take place than the customer huffing or getting angry. FWIW, I look well over 25 and that's the first time I've been asked for about 5 years so I was as surprised as I was chuffed.

1 hour ago, ali_91 said:

the correct response is to covertly clock the girl's name off her badge and say - "heh - Chloe, love - when I scuttled your mum a couple of weeks back, I didn't have to give her proof of age, just ring the  Buckfast through now and I'll be on my way..."

I’m sure any normal person who asks to see ID would just like to see the ID instead of having some ‘jovial conversation,’ that they hear 20 times a day. Probably the same time of guy that whistles as he walks in public. 
Given we were having a laugh, she either wasn't normal or you're just a grumpy b*****d.

1 minute ago, 19QOS19 said:
6 minutes ago, ali_91 said:
I’m sure any normal person who asks to see ID would just like to see the ID instead of having some ‘jovial conversation,’ that they hear 20 times a day. Probably the same time of guy that whistles as he walks in public. 

Given we were having a laugh, she either wasn't normal or you're just a grumpy b*****d.

I thought he'd lighten up after leaving China and the porn ban.