The East Fife Thread

40 minutes ago, King Kebab said:

But you know it's a fact at that level, Darvel rumoured to be paying Meggatt between £500-700 per week, these fuckers seem to play under different rules than the Senior Clubs!!!

If a junior Club has a busy puggy in the Social Club it doesn't go through any books and goes straight into some players pay packet!!!

Sorry son. We can't afford to keep you on for next season. The puggy's been cleaned out twice this week.

f**k knows what Kelty have to gain if this is true, would be hilarious if Ferguson still managed to f**k it up and not sure anyone would be surprised either. From looking like such a well run club who would've eventually got themselves into a position where they had a chance to come into the league they've gone all Ballingry.

The argument of "aye but we're letting players go too" as a reason why lowland league teams are managing to sign numerous players from two and three levels above them in the pyramid is absolute nonsense. If we signed two premiership players but let Kane and Court leave that doesn't really mean that we've balanced ourselves.

Kelty are clearly spending money. Which is fine, every clubs entitled to do it if they can, but let's not pretend otherwise. You're not telling me players are going there for the love of the team or the blessed privilege of working under Barry fucking Ferguson.

1 minute ago, FullTimePint said:

Ferguson at Kelty will probably have a bigger playing budget and better players available, than when he was managing Clyde in Lg2. Wouldnt surprise me if we see a few shock results in the early rounds of the scottish this year

I'm sure he wasted a fair amount of money at Clyde as well to be fair. I'd be shcoked if they didn't have the largest budget in L2 when we won it a few years back.

There was chat he was contributing to the wages himself but I've no idea if that was a load of shite or not.
That's the hallmark of a great manager. Using your own cash to try get the edge. Breathtaking if true.

6 minutes ago, Big Fifer said:
19 minutes ago, Bring Back Paddy Flannery said:
There was chat he was contributing to the wages himself but I've no idea if that was a load of shite or not.

That's the hallmark of a great manager. Using your own cash to try get the edge. Breathtaking if true.

There were a few years where Clyde would make these signings in teh summer and immediately be everyone's favourite for the league.... then fail to get promoted.

Even Jim McInally can eventually get a club out of League Two if he gets enough cash to throw at it.

4 minutes ago, Gordon EF said:

There were a few years where Clyde would make these signings in teh summer and immediately be everyone's favourite for the league.... then fail to get promoted.

Even Jim McInally can eventually get a club out of League Two if he gets enough cash to throw at it.

There surely comes a point as a manager when you realise that if you're managing a team with one of the biggest budgets in the league, have them sitting in 8th having used your own cash to try and get better players, that maybe fitba management isn't for you. Off to Kelty he goes where they seem determined to spend to win, if it works out god forsake the team that thinks Barry is the reason for the success and hires him next.

Edited by Big Fifer

Ferguson at Kelty will probably have a bigger playing budget and better players available, than when he was managing Clyde in Lg2. Wouldnt surprise me if we see a few shock results in the early rounds of the scottish this year

I'm not sure. I mean the players rumoured are all good ones, especially Easton, Reilly and Austin but they're no that good. On paper it's a very strong side for the lowland league and they names individually are top of League 1 type players but as an overall team it can be a different story as has been shown before.

Chris Kane has joined the Kelty gravy train along with Scott Linton!!!

They may have the money but Ferguson is still a pish manager!!!

They said they were announcing 6 new signings Sunday

So

Linton
Kane
Reilly
Easton
Austin

And?

5 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

They said they were announcing 6 new signings Sunday

So

Linton
Kane
Reilly
Easton
Austin

And?

Lee Robinson was the other name mentioned on their thread. Can't help but feel like they're going a bit overboard - unless they sign those guys on long-term contracts with the aim of being in League One within a couple of season.

Remember though, they aren't chucking money at it. They get good crowds and have good sponsors ;)

12 minutes ago, Ross Forbes said:

Lee Robinson was the other name mentioned on their thread. Can't help but feel like they're going a bit overboard - unless they sign those guys on long-term contracts with the aim of being in League One within a couple of season.

Remember though, they aren't chucking money at it. They get good crowds and have good sponsors ;)

That poor wee puggy in the social club's in fucking tatters.

The juniors must be littered with stories like this over the years tho, big money benefactors coming forward and throwing money at clubs. In relative terms you probably get more bang for your buck investing in a junior team with regards to cup runs/wins and league challenges. 

I had always looked at the bigger names in juniors as boys who were falling out of the pro game either through age or a couple of seasons of bad form. The 6 they are reportedly signing could all stay in the leagues comfortably. 

Tbf- he was in the team for our great run of 8 games and then was castigated to the bin after injury!- he would of stayed if he felt had a chance at least of playing..... more shocked if Austin goes- he is so much better than Kelty with all respect- at least 2 years playing at a level well below his quality-guess money talks....

2 minutes ago, gogsy said:

Nobody says that's the whole reason ya nugget , its just part of the reason . As for the last part how many players sign for the love of East Fife and the blessed privilege of working under Darren Young :lol:

If you let 3 players go on £50 a week, then bring in 6 players on 5 times that, moving players on is an infinitesimally small part of "the reason".

Nobody here has signed because they love East Fife or Darren Young. But lets just be honest about what Kelty are doing here.

It's not a dig. We've done it.  It's how we won the league in 2008. Wullie Gray came in and started spunking money around, using us as a wee side project for whatever beef he had with the Rovers at the time. We absolutely scooshed the league by about 20 points. Would we have done that without his cash? No. Would the players be there without being paid fat stacks more at East Fife than they were elsewhere? No. Why were they at East Fife? Money, pure and simple.

And that is exactly why these players are all going to Kelty.