The East Fife Thread

50 minutes ago, sirscottyoung said:

Yeah but you can see the reasoning behind the decision that was made. Without that your still annoyed at what happened. 

But then fans disagree with the reasoning, wasn't how they saw it, then we look at the highlights and probe even further "how can he have seen it like that?" etc etc. 

But at least the referee has said it how he saw it, we might not agree with it but at least we would know!!!

Its the best we can hope for until VAR is made compulsory at all levels and as that's probably never going to happen, I refer you again to the best we can hope for part!!!

But at least the referee has said it how he saw it, we might not agree with it but at least we would know!!!  
Its the best we can hope for until VAR is made compulsory at all levels and as that's probably never going to happen, I refer you again to the best we can hope for part!!!

Nah, I'm not having this I'm afraid.

If we look at each one separately, and look at what the club are doing with asking for clarification. For what it's worth, I understand that Darren is doing a fantastic job and that's probably why the board have decided to back him here.

I have absolutely no idea what the club stands to gain from this clarification and all it does is make us look like a Rangers/Celtic tin foil hat wearers, claiming some sort of inherent bias in lower league refereeing. I've seen both incidents and aye, between them there's probably at least one penalty in there. I've always been a win some lose some sorta believer, we've no doubt had decisions for us this season that were incorrect.

By asking for clarification who do they want to respond? The SFA or the ref? And what do they want or expect to hear back? The SFA will rightly back the referee and the ref will say that at the time he didn't think it was enough for a penalty. Darren obviously disagrees, with the advantage of having seen it a) from a different angle and b) however many hundreds of times he's watched each incident on the highlights. If the ref said he got it wrong, who cares? It doesn't change anything and we're still out. Does it give you a warm fuzzy feeling knowing you were right? Of course it doesn't. You're still annoyed. If the ref stands by his decision, Darren will still disagree and still be pissed off and annoyed. The clarification of a decision, right or wrong, makes no difference to the result, that fans frustration or the standards of refereeing.

With regards the refs doing interviews after games, that would be an absolute calamity. If they did the interview directly after they're going to defend every decision they made, say they called it as they saw it, and if you've disagreed with the decision at the time then guess what? You're still going to disagree an hour after the game. Unless you've misinterpreted a rule of the game, them explaining a decision doesn't help. Your interpretation of your view of the incident is always going to be different than the refs. If you want further clarification of their choices after highlights it's the same as I've said above with Darren, nothing they say will make you feel better and nothing they do can change the result or outcome of the game. You have the advantage of having multiple angles and replays, the ref did not.

Refs having to explain decisions after the game would be an utterly abhorrent and all it does is vilify people who go to their work on a Saturday afternoon and take vile abuse for two hours from me, you and the other 800 fans in the stadium that think when they pay their £15 they can say whatever they like. Refereeing must be the worst job ever in terms of getting absolutely 0 praise when you're doing it well and getting treated like a piece of dirt when you make a mistake. I feel for them, and they allow our game to function, so as far as having them have to justify everything they do to us idiots on the sidelines, it's a big fat no from me. Forcing them to have to continue to potentially take abuse after 5pm on a Saturday would border on flat out bullying from the SFA if they enforced that.

Human beings make mistakes, and human beings have different interpretations of stuff on a fitba field. Some decisions you'll get and some you won't, it really is as simple as that.

If we look at each one separately, and look at what the club are doing with asking for clarification. For what it's worth, I understand that Darren is doing a fantastic job and that's probably why the board have decided to back him here.

I have absolutely no idea what the club stands to gain from this clarification and all it does is make us look like a Rangers/Celtic tin foil hat wearers, claiming some sort of inherent bias in lower league refereeing. I've seen both incidents and aye, between them there's probably at least one penalty in there. I've always been a win some lose some sorta believer, we've no doubt had decisions for us this season that were incorrect.

By asking for clarification who do they want to respond? The SFA or the ref? And what do they want or expect to hear back? The SFA will rightly back the referee and the ref will say that at the time he didn't think it was enough for a penalty. Darren obviously disagrees, with the advantage of having seen it a) from a different angle and b) however many hundreds of times he's watched each incident on the highlights. If the ref said he got it wrong, who cares? It doesn't change anything and we're still out. Does it give you a warm fuzzy feeling knowing you were right? Of course it doesn't. You're still annoyed. If the ref stands by his decision, Darren will still disagree and still be pissed off and annoyed. The clarification of a decision, right or wrong, makes no difference to the result, that fans frustration or the standards of refereeing.

With regards the refs doing interviews after games, that would be an absolute calamity. If they did the interview directly after they're going to defend every decision they made, say they called it as they saw it, and if you've disagreed with the decision at the time then guess what? You're still going to disagree an hour after the game. Unless you've misinterpreted a rule of the game, them explaining a decision doesn't help. Your interpretation of your view of the incident is always going to be different than the refs. If you want further clarification of their choices after highlights it's the same as I've said above with Darren, nothing they say will make you feel better and nothing they do can change the result or outcome of the game. You have the advantage of having multiple angles and replays, the ref did not.

Refs having to explain decisions after the game would be an utterly abhorrent and all it does is vilify people who go to their work on a Saturday afternoon and take vile abuse for two hours from me, you and the other 800 fans in the stadium that think when they pay their £15 they can say whatever they like. Refereeing must be the worst job ever in terms of getting absolutely 0 praise when you're doing it well and getting treated like a piece of dirt when you make a mistake. I feel for them, and they allow our game to function, so as far as having them have to justify everything they do to us idiots on the sidelines, it's a big fat no from me. Forcing them to have to continue to potentially take abuse after 5pm on a Saturday would border on flat out bullying from the SFA if they enforced that.

Human beings make mistakes, and human beings have different interpretations of stuff on a fitba field. Some decisions you'll get and some you won't, it really is as simple as that.

Bloody hell, you've had a think about that haven't you???
But you're still wrong imo, if cockwomble decisions have cost us big time by ineffectual and useless officiating, then those same officials should be made to stand to account for those same decisions, especially when they have cost people earnings, which in failure to reach a Scottish Cup Quarter Final and a Diddy Cup Final, the Club has lost out financially and the players have lost out in bonuses etc, if they've fucked up, they should be made to explain their reasons for their match changing decisions and held accountable for their ineptitude!!!

Bloody hell, you've had a think about that haven't you???
But you're still wrong imo, if cockwomble decisions have cost us big time by ineffectual and useless officiating, then those same officials should be made to stand to account for those same decisions, especially when they have cost people earnings, which in failure to reach a Scottish Cup Quarter Final and a Diddy Cup Final, the Club has lost out financially and the players have lost out in bonuses etc, if they've fucked up, they should be made to explain their reasons for their match changing decisions and held accountable for their ineptitude!!!
What do you mean by "held accountable"?

Is them admitting they were wrong enough?

Do you want them sacked and replaced?

What happens if their replacements make mistakes too? Another fresh batch of refs on order?

There is no good outcome to getting refs to explain things in the press or in statements afterwards, fans will never get "closure" on incidents because they will have their opinions on things and that won't change because the ref says he saw it differently.

20 minutes ago, Big Fifer said:

What happens if their replacements make mistakes too? Another fresh batch of refs on order?

There is no good outcome to getting refs to explain things in the press or in statements afterwards, fans will never get "closure" on incidents because they will have their opinions on things and that won't change because the ref says he saw it differently.

What do you think about the badge East Fife have BF? :rolleyes:

Referees are graded as to what level they can officiate at, if they receive too many upheld complaints then that should reflect in their grading, that is what I mean by accountable!!!
And I don't think "closure" is what would be achieved here as any outcome is not going to have any effect on any match result, but if players can be punished (or praised) retroactively then it should be the same for the match officials!!!

8 hours ago, King Kebab said:

Referees are graded as to what level they can officiate at, if they receive too many upheld complaints then that should reflect in their grading, that is what I mean by accountable!!!
And I don't think "closure" is what would be achieved here as any outcome is not going to have any effect on any match result, but if players can be punished (or praised) retroactively then it should be the same for the match officials!!!

Graded don't make me laugh Dallas has been consistently  awful in every league he has officiated in truly awful

But daddy Hugh less questionable but often crap has huge influence in development  and progress of Scottish referee's 

16 hours ago, Big Fifer said:

I could not agree with this more. If refs came out after a game to explain decisions they would be crucified even more than they are now, when would the analysis stop? would they then have to issue a statement to clarify their post game comments, when people still don't agree?

The refusal to accept decisions (good and bad) this season is already putting unfair pressure on referees. No-one will be 100% correct on every decision in every game. The penalty call in the game v Ross County could have gone our way, it didnt. Did it decide the game? for me a bigger factor on the game was not clearing the front post from the corner on the first goal. I accept the team will make these errors tho, as part-time lower league players... noone is perfect, i give the same leeway to the ref.

Anyone know how far away Aggy is? Looking at what teams we can put out, we really are just one body light to be able to comfortably rotate in the centre of the park for this ridiculous run of games, so hopefully the Murdoch deal comes good.

According to Aggy's Twitter feed, he's going back in on Monday to see a specialist, to see whether or not he is going to need surgery!!!☹️

Eta: which is a bit shite for us but especially for him!!!

According to Aggy's Twitter feed, he's going back in on Monday to see a specialist, to see whether or not he is going to need surgery!!![emoji852]️
Eta: which is a bit shite for us but especially for him!!!
Shiiite. Guessing that'll be why we're trying to get Murdoch in then.