Lost Lanarkshire Junior League grounds

paulc

An update of Lanarkshire Junior League clubs which did not survive World War II, Kirkmuirhill and Shotts United left at the end of 1938-39, whilst Coalburn United and Shieldmuir Celtic left after the following season

Coalburn United - ground name not known

old map http://www.fileden.com/files/2012/9/25/3350994/coalburnmap1942.jpg

Google earth http://www.fileden.com/files/2012/9/25/3350994/coalburnearth.jpg

Kirkmuirhill - ground name not known

old map http://www.fileden.com/files/2012/9/25/3350994/kirkmuirhillmap1940.jpg

Google earth http://www.fileden.com/files/2012/9/25/3350994/kirkmuirhillearth.jpg

Shieldmuir Celtic ground name not known

old map http://www.fileden.com/files/2012/9/25/3350994/shieldmuirmap1938.jpg

Google earth http://www.fileden.com/files/2012/9/25/3350994/shieldmuirearth.jpg

Shotts United - Stanes Park

old map http://www.fileden.com/files/2012/9/25/3350994/shottsutdmap1940.jpg

Google earth http://www.fileden.com/files/2012/9/25/3350994/shottsutdearth.jpg

• Replies 77

Croy Celtic were another Lanarkshire junior club although i believe thay played in the Scottish Junior league rather than the Lanarkshire league. They were certainly still around in 1946 as they played kilsyth rangers in a friendly that year, but itmight have been their last. Don't know where their ground was, but I'm sure there are still some folk around who will.

I found it earlier today but it looks like the server I have the pictures on is down. It is still visible though it looks like it might be ash ...maybe it always was. Will post when up and running

post-44992-0-66510400-1366845009_thumb.jpost-44992-0-65875000-1366845022_thumb.j

Couple of photographs of Bedlay Juniors and the Colliery from 1912 to 1915.. the team list is from back row : L TO R : Drysdale (trainer), Jimmy Shaw, McGowan, Marshall, Jock Shaw, Tam McGowan, McGowan, McGowan, Davie Shaw, Will McGowan, Will Shaw and Charlie Shaw.

Looks like if you were not a McGowan or A Shaw ye did not get in this team lol ha

My Dad says his Dad had a pal who played for Bedlay juniors around this time!! He doesnt know his name but my bet he was a Shaw or a McGowan eh ha

My Dad also tells me that the famous Glasgow Rangers player Jock "tiger" Shaw hailed from Annathill. Could this be him 3rd from right in the back row?? Certainly does'nt look like the battle hardened and weather beaten player i have seen from old Rangers books, but who knows eh

On a sadder note i wonder how many of these poor souls suffered the horrors of the Great war? As they all looked young, willing and able enough to have signed up for the Somme, Ypres and Passchendaele.

My memory's a bit rusty on this one, but I think if you worked in the mines you were regarded as an essential war worker & exempted from conscription.

That's not to say some of them rashly joined up as volunteers, especially as some would have thought (wrongly) it to be no more riskier & a lot more glamourous than working in the mines.

John , wasnt it at " the Boag ", behind where the Spar shop now is?

attachicon.gifbedlay junior f. c.jpgattachicon.gifbedlayplate1.jpg

Couple of photographs of Bedlay Juniors and the Colliery from 1912 to 1915.. the team list is from back row : L TO R : Drysdale (trainer), Jimmy Shaw, McGowan, Marshall, Jock Shaw, Tam McGowan, McGowan, McGowan, Davie Shaw, Will McGowan, Will Shaw and Charlie Shaw.

Looks like if you were not a McGowan or A Shaw ye did not get in this team lol ha

My Dad says his Dad had a pal who played for Bedlay juniors around this time!! He doesnt know his name but my bet he was a Shaw or a McGowan eh ha

My Dad also tells me that the famous Glasgow Rangers player Jock "tiger" Shaw hailed from Annathill. Could this be him 3rd from right in the back row?? Certainly does'nt look like the battle hardened and weather beaten player i have seen from old Rangers books, but who knows eh

Talk about coincidences!!!!.I have doing a wee bit of research into Denny Hibs recently and while going through the archives,an interesting result sprang up........

April 25th 1931 Scottish Junior league Eastern Division

Bedlay 2 Kilsyth 1

over to you John!

There was also Glenboig Juniors and also Blantyre Celtic...

Made a complete mess of this earlier. Blantyre Celtic's ground Craighead Park was close to where all the buses are parked in this Google Maps image:

http://preview.tinyurl.com/d49mb3h

There are a couple of youtube clips of it available:

Found these old pictures of Castle Park where the Vics play:

http://www.britainfromabove.org.uk/image/saw033077

http://www.britainfromabove.org.uk/image/saw033080

and I think this one has Celtic's ground as well:

http://www.britainfromabove.org.uk/image/saw033079

Before my time but I think it coincided with the end of the mining industry a lot of the time. The likes of Douglasdale and Douglas Water Thistle in the southern part of the county were from very small villages that didn't have much else to fall back on economically. Further north there were probably too many clubs too close together for them all to be able to survive the arrival of TV and the growing pull of the Old Firm once people stopped working a half day on Saturdays. With Burnbank Athletic, for example, there would have been Hamilton Accies, Blantyre Vics and Blantyre Celtic all within not much more than a short stroll.

:)

A pal of ma faither played for Douglas Water Thistle back in the day, probably in the 50s, I'm sure he also played for Rigside, does anyone know if they had a junior team? Maybe they played under Douglasdale, but with the mining communities, it's possible there may have been three junior teams wihin a few miles of each other. Great thread though, question for Paul C, are there any books out there on Junior football back in the 50s/60s? Cheers

Lesmahagow's quite a pretty wee place, but Douglas Water and especially Rigside are some of the ghastliest dumps Ive ever been anywhere near.

Seriously- - the kinna places folk used to get exiled for pissing off the Czar.

:)

A pal of ma faither played for Douglas Water Thistle back in the day, probably in the 50s, I'm sure he also played for Rigside, does anyone know if they had a junior team? Maybe they played under Douglasdale, but with the mining communities, it's possible there may have been three junior teams wihin a few miles of each other. Great thread though, question for Paul C, are there any books out there on Junior football back in the 50s/60s? Cheers

I checked on Brian McColl's archive site and Rigside doesn't appear to have had a junior team post-WWII, so my guess would be that it was probably a juvenile side:

http://scottish-football-historical-archive.com/

http://scottish-football-historical-archive.com/lanarkshirejrleague.htm

There's a website with a lot of information about old teams from Douglasdale:

http://www.spanglefish.com/DouglasdaleFootball/index.asp?pageid=12132

Lesmahagow's quite a shitty wee place, but Douglas Water and especially Rigside are some of the ghastliest dumps Ive ever been anywhere near.

Seriously- - the kinna places folk used to get exiled for pissing off the Czar.

Bertie, Lesmahagow was rejected as a Gulag by Stalin for being too miserable.

The most depressing place on Earth, only serious rival being the Qattara Depression.

The place has been rescued by the arrival of the Hare Krishna, who searched the world for 200 years looking for the right place.

Must have been Blackwood you were thinking of.

The most depressing place on Earth, only serious rival being the Qattara Depression.

The place has been rescued by the arrival of the Hare Krishna, who searched the world for 200 years looking for the right place.

Place I was in had this understated, charming thing going on. It had the river Nethan running through it? Kinna had the feel of an old market town.

Dunno, I quite liked it anyway.

Douglas Water however - it sucked righteous ass.

Place I was in had this understated, charming thing going on. It had the river Nethan running through it? Kinna had the feel of an old market town.

Dunno, I quite liked it anyway.

Douglas Water however - it sucked righteous ass.

Cheers Bertie - you are right enough. OldLarky is so bitterntwisted he could be from La**rk.

If you are on facebook here's the url for the Gow page

https://www.facebook.com/#!/groups/115348398500028/

I once saw a quote " I thought I had come to the end of the world - and beyond it was Larkhall" very apt. Keep practising the walking for July auld yin

Talk about coincidences!!!!.I have doing a wee bit of research into Denny Hibs recently and while going through the archives,an interesting result sprang up........

April 25th 1931 Scottish Junior league Eastern Division

Bedlay 2 Kilsyth 1

over to you John!

John would have been at the game and written a report for the Kilsyth News