NFL General Discussion

Mr. Brightside

Spurs haven’t went to all that trouble with a retractable NFL surface and dedicated NFL locker rooms for two days a year use. No chance, I think it will happen, just not anytime soon. Not bothered either way, not much any of us could do about it anyway. What will be will be. Spanos has just shot down the London story using somewhat colourful language. 😀

11 hours ago, lichtie23 said:

I would actively root against any British team. I’d want to see them go 0-16 every year

I wouldn't go that far but I'd still support the Patriots ahead of any British team. The only exception would be if they brought back the Claymores and played their home games at Murrayfield!

6 minutes ago, Fife Saint said:

That's the thing, anyone with an interest in the NFL is going to have an allegiance to an established team. The Chargers would have the same issue here as they do in LA - very few people would start supporting them.

Thousands upon thousands of fans wouldn’t ditch their current team to suddenly support the ‘London Chargers’, but, as the London Chargers games would be the new London games, thousands upon thousands of fans would go to see the London team v Whoever. Just as happens now. I’ve just been back-to-back weekends from Scotland to see Rams v Bengals and Jags v Texans, wearing Broncos jerseys each time. Clearly, the 32 jerseys vibe for competitive NFL football, would see any London team have a fighting chance of making it a success. Kids would latch onto them. Those without a team would pick them. Folk like me, would be on their side against anyone bar the Broncos.

If they engaged with the UK as a whole, and indeed our friends in Ireland and Europe who come to Wembley and Spurs for games already, they’d have a chance.

The bulk of support, and ST sales, would need to come from the population in and around London, naturally. Still, London can support huge crowds at Chelsea, Arsenal, Spurs, West Ham, and Palace in our football already. Never mind your QPRs, Millwalls, Brentfords, Fulhams.... it’s a massive, massive market.

I am not bothered if it happens, but if it did, I would want it to work. Hugely. Otherwise we would likely just have lost real, competitive, brilliant NFL football an hour’s flight away from us. We are very well served by the London NFL series, I want it to grow in any way they see fit.

6 minutes ago, pozbaird said:

Thousands upon thousands of fans wouldn’t ditch their current team to suddenly support the ‘London Chargers’, but, as the London Chargers games would be the new London games, thousands upon thousands of fans would go to see the London team v Whoever. Just as happens now. I’ve just been back-to-back weekends from Scotland to see Rams v Bengals and Jags v Texans, wearing Broncos jerseys each time. Clearly, the 32 jerseys vibe for competitive NFL football, would see any London team have a fighting chance of making it a success. Kids would latch onto them. Those without a team would pick them. Folk like me, would be on their side against anyone bar the Broncos.

If they engaged with the UK as a whole, and indeed our friends in Ireland and Europe who come to Wembley and Spurs for games already, they’d have a chance.

The bulk of support, and ST sales, would need to come from the population in and around London, naturally. Still, London can support huge crowds at Chelsea, Arsenal, Spurs, West Ham, and Palace in our football already. Never mind your QPRs, Millwalls, Brentfords, Fulhams.... it’s a massive, massive market.

I am not bothered if it happens, but if it did, I would want it to work. Hugely. Otherwise we would likely just have lost real, competitive, brilliant NFL football an hour’s flight away from us. We are very well served by the London NFL series, I want it to grow in any way they see fit.

They would, but for how long. If the team struggles, how many are going to bother going to watch a meaningless game against run of the mill opposition a few years down the line?

Obviously, they've got a period of initial interest to try and build a fanbase but given the glory-hunting nature of most fans, a struggling team on the pitch might struggle to attract regular fans off it. 

18 minutes ago, Mr X said:

They would, but for how long. If the team struggles, how many are going to bother going to watch a meaningless game against run of the mill opposition a few years down the line?

Obviously, they've got a period of initial interest to try and build a fanbase but given the glory-hunting nature of most fans, a struggling team on the pitch might struggle to attract regular fans off it. 

Teams struggling (on the field) in the USA already see fickle fans bugger off in droves - Miami, Chargers. Miami have a problem in so many of the population moving there from more Northernly parts of the country, and already supporting other teams, so if the Dolphins are gash, you see it big time in the stands. Being pish wouldn’t be a London team problem alone. Dolphins, Jets and Bills fans already watch a lot of ‘meaningless’ games, as they take it up the arse from Brady & Belichick every season, fifteen in a row now.

You must assume all games would be at 60,000 Spurs, not 89,000 Wembley. That would help. As you say, the initial period would be critical to build a fanbase, and to be fair to the Jags, they’ve worked at that with various initiatives. Any permanent London team would be full-on in that regard. The NFL aren’t backwards at coming forwards in regard to marketing.

I think the issues facing a London franchise aren’t long-term ones regarding being rubbish and fans deserting them. I think the issues are in getting it going in the first place. Employment law issues, tax issues, front office staff, travel, logistics, bye weeks, divisional rivals, playoffs (aye, I know, but you never know!).... blah blah de blah.

I don’t see anything happening in the next twenty years, but you never know. As I said in an earlier post, I don’t believe Daniel Levy went to all that expense at the new Spurs place for a couple of games a year. It’s all about money though - which is why Florida have three teams.

What will be, will be.

Edited by pozbaird

A UK franchise would be ace, I reckon. I'd still support Da Bears but would want them to win their other games. I prefer expansion to relocation and would prefer them to play the odd game at, say, Murrayfield, Cardiff or Old Trafford rather than just being a "London" team, but would support them either way. 

Germany should have a team too. 

1 hour ago, pozbaird said:

Teams struggling (on the field) in the USA already see fickle fans bugger off in droves - Miami, Chargers. Miami have a problem in so many of the population moving there from more Northernly parts of the country, and already supporting other teams, so if the Dolphins are gash, you see it big time in the stands. Being pish wouldn’t be a London team problem alone. Dolphins, Jets and Bills fans already watch a lot of ‘meaningless’ games, as they take it up the arse from Brady & Belichick every season, fifteen in a row now.

You must assume all games would be at 60,000 Spurs, not 89,000 Wembley. That would help. As you say, the initial period would be critical to build a fanbase, and to be fair to the Jags, they’ve worked at that with various initiatives. Any permanent London team would be full-on in that regard. The NFL aren’t backwards at coming forwards in regard to marketing.

I think the issues facing a London franchise aren’t long-term ones regarding being rubbish and fans deserting them. I think the issues are in getting it going in the first place. Employment law issues, tax issues, front office staff, travel, logistics, bye weeks, divisional rivals, playoffs (aye, I know, but you never know!).... blah blah de blah.

I don’t see anything happening in the next twenty years, but you never know. As I said in an earlier post, I don’t believe Daniel Levy went to all that expense at the new Spurs place for a couple of games a year. It’s all about money though - which is why Florida have three teams.

What will be, will be.

Your point about fickle fans is right but in the US, you're talking about an established national sport. Over here, despite its rise in popularity, its still very much a minority sport. The London games sell out now, but theres still a certain novelty factor to them. 

40 minutes ago, Bully Wee Villa said:

A UK franchise would be ace, I reckon. I'd still support Da Bears but would want them to win their other games. I prefer expansion to relocation and would prefer them to play the odd game at, say, Murrayfield, Cardiff or Old Trafford rather than just being a "London" team, but would support them either way. 

Germany should have a team too. 

Can't play NFL in most UK stadiums due to lack of sideline space and sightlines needing tarped' off. Even Wembley tarps' off tons of seats.

Edited by pozbaird

If the unlikely London team idea was ever to gain traction it'd surely be opposed by the NFLPA as players could end up being traded across the ocean without a say in the matter. Same with players who get drafted.

Iv read they would be based in the states (probably east coast) and only travel to London for home games

15 minutes ago, Antiochas III said:

They can take that Snyder led team as long as the D.M.V gets an expansion team right away is a common cry from 'Skins fans...

Well, there’s four games a year now in London, so the London Four Skins.... 

Off to New York in December and getting my first chance to see the Giants at MetLife. Despite it being a game against the Dolphins in what will probably be blizzard conditions I am absolutely buzzing for it. Anyone here been to MetLife before and can give tips on what to expect at the stadium? Mrs Dave has family out there so will hopefully be properly tailgaiting with a few of them, if not I've seen a few tailgate parties that look decent, $40 for all you can eat/drink up until midday which will be fully taken advantage of should I end up there...

5 minutes ago, Dave said:

Off to New York in December and getting my first chance to see the Giants at MetLife. Despite it being a game against the Dolphins in what will probably be blizzard conditions I am absolutely buzzing for it. Anyone here been to MetLife before and can give tips on what to expect at the stadium? Mrs Dave has family out there so will hopefully be properly tailgaiting with a few of them, if not I've seen a few tailgate parties that look decent, $40 for all you can eat/drink up until midday which will be fully taken advantage of should I end up there...

Was at the Jets v Patriots in MetLife last season. I posted a few pics on here. Liked the stadium. The train to it out of the city goes the long way around the swamps of Jersey before doubling back to a station right next to the stadium, so don’t panic if you think the train is heading to Florida.... 😀

My photos are in the ‘NFL in the US’ thread, I hope.

3 hours ago, Dave said:

Check the NFL in the US thread 👍

As I'm still new to this sport I still don't 'support' a team and as casual as casual gets. London Chargers would be a great option for others like me who don't yet have a team and are very new to the sport.

P.s I hate myself for not watching this sport earlier. I was finally persuaded by a few of my colleagues and I fucking love it.