Sons' sorrow

1 hour ago, microdave said:

A 39 year old Bryan Prunty would probably be more effective than the current strike force.

That could be said of every season since he left really. When was the last time we had a striker that was effective at being a striker, and scored a few goals? Nade? Kane? I don't expect us to have a 40 goal a season guy but someone who could get 15 would be decent. 

3 minutes ago, pleslie99 said:

That could be said of every season since he left really. When was the last time we had a striker that was effective at being a striker, and scored a few goals? Nade? Kane? I don't expect us to have a 40 goal a season guy but someone who could get 15 would be decent. 

Calum Gallagher. Top scorer two seasons in a row (7 and 13 iirc), lead the line relatively well, worked defenders and almost all his goals were about 12 yards out. I'm not surprised at all that he's gone to Airdrie and been a very consistent scorer there. Especially given his goals to game ratio when playing as a striker for us was excellent.

It still irks me how hard a time he got from our fans because he ran in a weird way.

1 hour ago, Jan Vojáček said:

Calum Gallagher. Top scorer two seasons in a row (7 and 13 iirc), lead the line relatively well, worked defenders and almost all his goals were about 12 yards out. I'm not surprised at all that he's gone to Airdrie and been a very consistent scorer there. Especially given his goals to game ratio when playing as a striker for us was excellent.

It still irks me how hard a time he got from our fans because he ran in a weird way.

Ah yes my apologies, I forgot about him. 

I also forgot about Ally Roy before a certain poster comes along and shouts us down 🙈🤣

1 minute ago, O'Kelly Isley III said:

No, the last two seasons have been descent. 

On What planet have our last two seasons been decent? 

This has been facing us like the titanic that hit iceberg. For years. 

alarm bells should have started ringing when we signed about 15 players from exit trials and the likes 

Natural observer here resding and watching on

You beat our lot 3 times and were one mim away from 4th victory at New Bogheed

Thought you looked no bad and perhaps feelimg effects of losimg few players to airdrie and peterhead in the summer & look at their performances

I genuinely thought our lot were a moany bunch but it seems you didnt like Aitken. Murray. Duffy and now Farrell...

Would easily have taken 3 from 4 at my club and was actually bit disappointed when JD left us as his coaching brought on many good players like Declan gallagher. Lithgow and Brian McQueen through his excellent defensive qualities...

Expecrations maybe too high every season for some reason from you lads n lassies and genenrally every manager doesnt seem to be the one unless ive misread the odd post...

Personally i have my doubrs re Danny Lennon at Clyde but realisticly on similiar crowd who else we/you going to get if our manager(s) depart...

Good luck sat. Give me stags heed over Meadowbank any day o week

Edited by shawfield shed boy

5 minutes ago, shawfield shed boy said:

I genuinely thought our lot were a moany bunch but it seems you didnt like Aitken. Murray. Duffy and now Farrell...

Eh? Didn’t like Murray? Ian Murray is the best manager I’ve ever had the pleasure of watching at Dumbarton. I think you’d be hard pushed to find a Dumbarton fan that isn’t delighted with what he achieved bar the handful of happy clappers (who don’t post on here) who didn’t take to him because he didn’t entertain their pish such as waving at them after games etc.

Stevie Aitken was well backed by our board and despite this managed to relegate us and left us sitting at the arse end of League 1 (we were favourites for the league that year). He had his moments but like I said, he had the biggest budget of any Sons gaffer I can remember, including Ian Murray. He got us to a cup final and tried to play for a 0-0. When he left us he made some really snidey comments about the club. 

Duffy done well when he inherited Aitken’s squad, after that things went seriously south. He was completely out of touch with what sort of wages  were required to keep our better players so binned them off for exit trial rejects. He had extra money sitting there that he refused to use. Our sponsors had to step in and convince him to keep a couple of players he was willing to let go and they covered their wages outwith the playing budget. He left after leading us to 9th and scraping survival via the playoffs. His football was absolutely dreadful and the transfer windows were beyond depressing. We scored 14 league goals last season. I’ve nae idea why any Sons fan would’ve been happy with his tenure, we went backwards under him.

Stevie Farrell is the worst of the bunch. Bar a month long good run of form things have been absolutely horrible under him. He signed a decent enough squad, some of them on two year deals. When things got tough he didn’t have a clue what to do or how to man manage the players. Again we have gone backwards under him and we are about 99% certain to be a League 2 club next season. He shouldn’t be near a club at this level.

I’ve nae idea why youd expect anyone to be happy with managers that have us gradually moving backwards.

3 minutes ago, Bring Back Paddy Flannery said:

Eh? Didn’t like Murray? Ian Murray is the best manager I’ve ever had the pleasure of watching at Dumbarton. I think you’d be hard pushed to find a Dumbarton fan that isn’t delighted with what he achieved bar the handful of happy clappers (who don’t post on here) who didn’t take to him because he didn’t entertain their pish such as waving at them after games etc.

Stevie Aitken was well backed by our board and despite this managed to relegate us and left us sitting at the arse end of League 1 (we were favourites for the league that year). He had his moments but like I said, he had the biggest budget of any Sons gaffer I can remember, including Ian Murray. He got us to a cup final and tried to play for a 0-0. When he left us he made some really snidey comments about the club. 

Duffy done well when he inherited Aitken’s squad, after that things went seriously south. He was completely out of touch with what sort of wages  were required to keep our better players so binned them off for exit trial rejects. He had extra money sitting there that he refused to use. Our sponsors had to step in and convince him to keep a couple of players he was willing to let go and they covered their wages outwith the playing budget. He left after leading us to 9th and scraping survival via the playoffs. His football was absolutely dreadful and the transfer windows were beyond depressing. We scored 14 league goals last season. I’ve nae idea why any Sons fan would’ve been happy with his tenure, we went backwards under him.

Stevie Farrell is the worst of the bunch. Bar a month long good run of form things have been absolutely horrible under him. He signed a decent enough squad, some of them on two year deals. When things got tough he didn’t have a clue what to do or how to man manage the players. Again we have gone backwards under him and we are about 99% certain to be a League 2 club next season. He shouldn’t be near a club at this level.

I’ve nae idea why youd expect anyone to be happy with managers that have us gradually moving backwards.

Are you/we moving backwards or other teams progeessimg quicker..

Our first season in L1 we played east fife. Im like right here we go, we stole a 1-1 draw and that was a wake up call for me

Why?! I thought my lot were bigger and better than eaat fife and i was completely wrong

Sad facts were both L2 clubs compared to likes of Montrose. Airdrie. Qots and much bigger club budgets like peterhead. Kelty and QP. .

Last night result looked inexucable but maybe winning a few games in L2 better than pissing into rhe wind in L1..

Good luck Saturday. Couple of early goals and you never know

11 minutes ago, Bring Back Paddy Flannery said:

Aitken was sitting two rows in front of me last night.