Sons' sorrow

21 hours ago, The Moonster said:

Anyone any idea if we're bothering with a shirt sponsor this year? Usually announced long before now. 

Bangin' Pizza?

4 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

Have any season ticket holders been sent out their ticket yet?

Nope, also tried to get my seat changed to a different row. Not heard anything back. 

Just now, Silverton End said:

Bangin' Pizza?

Nope, also tried to get my seat changed to a different row. Not heard anything back. 

I believe Bangin' Pizza are only sponsoring the Man of the Match and setting up a stall to punt pizza - it certainly wasn't announced as a shirt sponsorship. 

Aye, I asked about changing my seat too and was told they would sort the seats out later once they knew what was happening with fans back but not heard anything since. Getting a bit tight on time now. 

1 minute ago, The Moonster said:

I believe Bangin' Pizza are only sponsoring the Man of the Match and setting up a stall to punt pizza - it certainly wasn't announced as a shirt sponsorship. 

Aye, I asked about changing my seat too and was told they would sort the seats out later once they knew what was happening with fans back but not heard anything since. Getting a bit tight on time now. 

Think we may be struggling for a shirt sponsor then. 

Wonder how many season books we have sold? It really shouldn't be a problem for DFC letting folks know about our seats, especially with the end of Covid restrictions on Aug 9th (hopefully)

It's a bit of a one-man band though with Antonia doing just about everything.

5 minutes ago, Silverton End said:

Think we may be struggling for a shirt sponsor then. 

Wonder how many season books we have sold? It really shouldn't be a problem for DFC letting folks know about our seats, especially with the end of Covid restrictions on Aug 9th (hopefully)

It's a bit of a one-man band though with Antonia doing just about everything.

Would be a shame if we were struggling for a shirt sponsor, C&G clearly stepped in when we couldn't find one previously but not sure we can go cap in hand to them again. Alan Findlay done a lot of work in that area and I know how much of a ball ache he found it. There aren't that many folk willing to pile thousands into small football clubs.

I did notice that Antonia has had another person in helping her over the summer so hopefully she's not burdened with everything. There's also no reason things should be a one man band anyway, we have a chairman, vice chairman, 1 Director, 3 Associate Directors, a Trust rep, an SLO, a deputy SLO, a full media team and a Marketing manager (provided by C&G). 

On going on to the website to check all the board members and media folks there I did notice that Henning and Kamilla are not listed as directors on the board - I thought they had appointed themselves to deal with the football side of things? Are they going to say Hello at any point or have we just to pretend they don't own the club?

1 hour ago, The Moonster said:

Would be a shame if we were struggling for a shirt sponsor, C&G clearly stepped in when we couldn't find one previously but not sure we can go cap in hand to them again. Alan Findlay done a lot of work in that area and I know how much of a ball ache he found it. There aren't that many folk willing to pile thousands into small football clubs.

Did we not appoint someone else to replace Alan Findlay? What does she do? Surely someone has picked up the commercial stuff and we aren’t depending on Antonia finding sponsors.

1 hour ago, the snudge said:

I wrongly assumed Bangin Pizza were the shirt sponsor for some reason. 

With Wrexham getting Ryan Reynolds involved we should put out a word to The Rock.

A couple of the fuds on the Facebook group wrongly proclaimed they were sponsoring everything from strips to the stadium.

1 hour ago, The Moonster said:

I did notice that Antonia has had another person in helping her over the summer so hopefully she's not burdened with everything. There's also no reason things should be a one man band anyway, we have a chairman, vice chairman, 1 Director, 3 Associate Directors, a Trust rep, an SLO, a deputy SLO, a full media team and a Marketing manager (provided by C&G). 

On going on to the website to check all the board members and media folks there I did notice that Henning and Kamilla are not listed as directors on the board - I thought they had appointed themselves to deal with the football side of things? Are they going to say Hello at any point or have we just to pretend they don't own the club?

I agree.

As for our Norwegian overlords, it's all too quiet.

How much does sponsoring our strips cost over a season, does anyone know?

5k? 10k? 

I see that the glorified boys club who share our pitch/straw have said they had 600 there last night. 

I guess that's good news for us ahead of the league starting. 600 would more than accommodate our home support - and probably some away fans too.

Does irritate me a fair bit that there were probably more folk from Dumbarton/The Vale going to watch Rangers Kids than local folk who would go and watch us. But that's probably a frustration for another time. I'll stick to being positive about there being 600 folk inside the Rock.

7 minutes ago, Jan Vojáček said:

I see that the glorified boys club who share our pitch/straw have said they had 600 there last night. 

I guess that's good news for us ahead of the league starting. 600 would more than accommodate our home support - and probably some away fans too.

Does irritate me a fair bit that there were probably more folk from Dumbarton/The Vale going to watch Rangers Kids than local folk who would go and watch us. But that's probably a frustration for another time. I'll stick to being positive about there being 600 folk inside the Rock.

Novelty. There's been a big push from Rangers to get fans down to these games for obvious reasons, I'll bet when the sun disappears and the novelty wears off, they'll be back to sub-100 crowds.

The pitch looks honestly horrendous though, I think we've been mad to rent the pitch out this season after the year it had last year. Dumbarton common is genuinely in better health and we need to get the finger out - I was happy to give some leeway last year when there was obvious cost cutting but there's no excuses for not getting the pitch in order this year. Hopefully the rain today has helped but there's no way the pitch should be in that state before the league even starts. 

10 minutes ago, Jan Vojáček said:

I’ve heard quite a few folk saying they are going down to watch the games (local Rangers supporting friends/colleagues not Sons supporters) but I reckon once the novelty wears off the crowds will die. Not a chance these folk are heading down there in the dead of winter to watch them get shagged 3-1 off Civil Service Strollers. A combination of nice weather, the novelty of a Rangers team playing locally and the fact none of them have been to Ibrox in near enough 2 years has meant inflated numbers. 

Out of interest are they charging for entry and if so, how much are they charging? 

1 minute ago, The Moonster said:

Novelty. There's been a big push from Rangers to get fans down to these games for obvious reasons, I'll bet when the sun disappears and the novelty wears off, they'll be back to sub-100 crowds.

The pitch looks honestly horrendous though, I think we've been mad to rent the pitch out this season after the year it had last year. Dumbarton common is genuinely in better health and we need to get the finger out - I was happy to give some leeway last year when there was obvious cost cutting but there's no excuses for not getting the pitch in order this year. Hopefully the rain today has helped but there's no way the pitch should be in that state before the league even starts. 

I’m astounded that between ourselves and Rangers that no one has been regularly watering that pitch. I have absolutely nae clue about grass or fitba pitches and even I know that has been massively neglected during weather where it needs doused regularly.

21 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

20 minutes ago, Bring Back Paddy Flannery said:

I’ve heard quite a few folk saying they are going down to watch the games (local Rangers supporting friends/colleagues not Sons supporters) but I reckon once the novelty wears off the crowds will die. Not a chance these folk are heading down there in the dead of winter to watch them get shagged 3-1 off Civil Service Strollers. A combination of nice weather, the novelty of a Rangers team playing locally and the fact none of them have been to Ibrox in near enough 2 years has meant inflated numbers. 

Out of interest are they charging for entry and if so, how much are they charging? 

Aye I agree on the novelty front. Summer holidays, cracking weather and being locked out of Ibrox for 18 months make it a perfect storm to get folk along. Just frustrates me a bit when we couldn't even sell all the tickets for the Stenny game (I don't think).

Sure I saw on Twitter that entry was standard Lowland League kind of prices. £8/£4 or something like that?

Just now, Jan Vojáček said:

Aye I agree on the novelty front. Summer holidays, cracking weather and being locked out of Ibrox for 18 months make it a perfect storm to get folk along. Just frustrates me a bit when we couldn't even sell all the tickets for the Stenny game (I don't think).

Sure I saw on Twitter that entry was standard Lowland League kind of prices. £8/£4 or something like that?

I'll be honest, I have no interest in attending games with set times to turn up, silly distancing rules and masks. When things are a bit more normal (and the majority of folk are double vaxed) I hope we'll see a return to our usual numbers. 

2 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

I'll be honest, I have no interest in attending games with set times to turn up, silly distancing rules and masks. When things are a bit more normal (and the majority of folk are double vaxed) I hope we'll see a return to our usual numbers. 

I hope you're right. I had really convinced myself that after so long locked out folk would be battering down the door to get back - but the factors you mention along with last season's dismal showing on the park seem to have turned folk off a bit.

The whole come in, sit in an allocated seat an hour before kick off, don't clump together with your pals and so on stuff is a shambles. Fwiw at Firhill (which came after restrictions were loosened a bit) things felt a lot more normal. There were bigger groups and, folk wearing masks to their seats aside, it felt pretty normal. I'd love to see the Rock feel like that for the Airdrie game - without militant stewards whipping everyone like its SAS Who Dares Wins.

2 hours ago, The Moonster said:

This. I can just about accept the distancing but the requirement to wear masks outdoors is not on. I trust that the club will not be maintaining that stance.

I’m astounded that between ourselves and Rangers that no one has been regularly watering that pitch. I have absolutely nae clue about grass or fitba pitches and even I know that has been massively neglected during weather where it needs doused regularly.
Dumbarton has big water tank that feeds the whole stadium including toilets and kitchen. When I was watering it you could only use two sprinklers, anymore empties the tank and it automatically shuts down. In weather like this I never switched the sprinklers off, moved them about the pitch every 3 or 4 hours with the last move normally about 10 at night and just let it go through the night. Then repeat the next morning. It was a baw buster but it was the only way. I've heard there is a problem with the pump but waiting this length of time to address it seems strange. I was lucky as I stay at the top of the road, wouldn't fancy doing it from West Kilbride.

1 hour ago, Dumbarton Rock said:
7 hours ago, Bring Back Paddy Flannery said:

Dumbarton has big water tank that feeds the whole stadium including toilets and kitchen. When I was watering it you could only use two sprinklers, anymore empties the tank and it automatically shuts down. In weather like this I never switched the sprinklers off, moved them about the pitch every 3 or 4 hours with the last move normally about 10 at night and just let it go through the night. Then repeat the next morning. It was a baw buster but it was the only way. I've heard there is a problem with the pump but waiting this length of time to address it seems strange. I was lucky as I stay at the top of the road, wouldn't fancy doing it from West Kilbride.

You would think that with a massive club like Rangers helping out with the pitch that some sort of arrangement could reached to keep the pitch watered as required.