Sons' sorrow

If anyone's wondering how skint we are, the club are now selling half price season tickets with 2 thirds of the home games remaining.

Makes you wonder about the value gained from your full price season ticket bought pre season.

Worth promoting to any sons fans who don't yet have a season ticket

4 minutes ago, sonsanorak said:

If anyone's wondering how skint we are, the club are now selling half price season tickets with 2 thirds of the home games remaining.

Makes you wonder about the value gained from your full price season ticket bought pre season.

Worth promoting to any sons fans who don't yet have a season ticket

The half-price season tickets are only valid for the second-half of the season - 9 games:

The full list of fixtures included -

Forfar Athletic - 5th Jan 2019

Montrose - 26th jan 2019

Raith Rovers - 9th Feb 2019

Arbroath - 2nd March 2019

Airdrie - 16th March 2019

Stenhousemuir - 30th March 2019

Brechin City - 6th April 2019

East Fife - 20th April 2019

Stranraer - 27th April 2019

https://www.dumbartonfootballclub.com/news/?mode=view&id=3861

11 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

Hi guys.

Just wondering what's been going on with Rory Loy? I see he's not played much so, is he injured or just not been selected?

I could write so much about Rory Loy that it would bore you to tears.

We'll begin at the beginning. He missed most of pre-season, finally coming on for his debut against Kilmarnock in the Betfred Cup. He was excellent, set-up our second goal and looked as if he'd stroll League One. The following week he was punted up top on his own, used as a targetman and we got hammered 6-0 by St Mirren. 

Anyway, the league season started (and so did Rory) alongside Calum Gallagher in our opening day victory against East Fife. Despite not getting on the scoresheet he was very good, full of cute flicks, clever play and did plenty of tracking back. Loy had the intelligence and ability, Gallagher had the pace, power and stamina. Things looked positive. That was about as good as it got though. We tumbled into a spiral of horrific football and horrific results, and you could genuinely see his confidence going from 'slowly rebuilding' to 'shattered'. 

As you'll know well, he's not a targetman. Unfortunately we only had one way of playing under Aitken - and that was direct. He therefore spent most of the game wandering about beside defenders who were dominant in the air, missing the chances that came his way by tamely firing them directly at the 'keeper. He almost looked too nice a player for League One - if that makes sense? Despite that Aitken stuck by him until the middle of September when he was benched for Jack Aitchison in a 2-1 win against Montrose.

Aitchison was forced off very early on, Loy came on and played well. His clever play won a penalty, and he generally looked useful. It wasn't enough for him to earn a start though - and so his last two appearances for us (22/9 and 29/9) both came as a sub after the 80th minute. 

Then, in the first week of October, he picked up a back injury...and we haven't see him in a squad since.

*Braces self for OKI* He's actually still our second top assister (4), despite only starting 7 games for us, so I'm still clinging to a bit of hope that Duffy might be able to get him back on the goal trail if/when he recovers from injury. Given our chronic lack of a cutting edge up front (and chronic lack of fit players) we really could do with him back pronto too.  

Tl;dr version: Injured, fit and promising, fit and not promising, injured.

32 minutes ago, Ross Forbes said:

We'll begin at the beginning. He missed most of pre-season, finally coming on for his debut against Kilmarnock in the Betfred Cup. He was excellent, set-up our second goal and looked as if he'd stroll League One. The following week he was punted up top on his own, used as a targetman and we got hammered 6-0 by St Mirren. 

Anyway, the league season started (and so did Rory) alongside Calum Gallagher in our opening day victory against East Fife. Despite not getting on the scoresheet he was very good, full of cute flicks, clever play and did plenty of tracking back. Loy had the intelligence and ability, Gallagher had the pace, power and stamina. Things looked positive. That was about as good as it got though. We tumbled into a spiral of horrific football and horrific results, and you could genuinely see his confidence going from 'slowly rebuilding' to 'shattered'. 

As you'll know well, he's not a targetman. Unfortunately we only had one way of playing under Aitken - and that was direct. He therefore spent most of the game wandering about beside defenders who were dominant in the air, missing the chances that came his way by tamely firing them directly at the 'keeper. He almost looked too nice a player for League One - if that makes sense? Despite that Aitken stuck by him until the middle of September when he was benched for Jack Aitchison in a 2-1 win against Montrose.

Aitchison was forced off very early on, Loy came on and played well. His clever play won a penalty, and he generally looked useful. It wasn't enough for him to earn a start though - and so his last two appearances for us (22/9 and 29/9) both came as a sub after the 80th minute. 

Then, in the first week of October, he picked up a back injury...and we haven't see him in a squad since.

*Braces self for OKI* He's actually still our second top assister (4), despite only starting 7 games for us, so I'm still clinging to a bit of hope that Duffy might be able to get him back on the goal trail if/when he recovers from injury. Given our chronic lack of a cutting edge up front (and chronic lack of fit players) we really could do with him back pronto too.  

Cheers for that.

The RL (version 1) that we had was an excellent player. Not a striker exactly, probably more of a #10 but could play in a two up top and certainly knew the way to goal. He's definitely not a target man or sole striker type though. As well as his ability his work rate was tremendous, so much so that I used to moan at him because he was away defending at our corner flag when he should have been on the half way line waiting for us to break! I believe he scored every 2nd game on average during his first spell though.

Version 2 however was a totally different animal. Overweight, unfit and looking decidedly disinterested.  He had looked not too bad in pre-season and the LC games but picked up an injury against St Mirren in the 1st league game and was out for a while.  I'm unsure if he was another who fell out with Hartley but he certainly didn't look up for it after he came in. He only scored once for us second time round, against Brechin!

There were strong rumours that he was having personal problems which were affecting his form so I hope he's managed to get over whatever it was and gets back playing well for you soon.

You are wasting your time debating with them.  That Sam in particular was a wee p***k before posting stuff about another fan, basically bullying him.
Better watch you don't get bombs (drum sticks) launched at you.

I know that wee Sam dunt. He's an absolute whopper. Claims Dumbarton's his local side despite living in the Stirling area and being a massive Celtic "supporter." The boy is genuinely a lost cause.

2 hours ago, Ross Forbes said:

And here I am....^_^  Like many others I though Rory Loy was an excellent capture but I honestly doubt that things could have gone much worse for both parties, and I will honestly be surprised if we see much mileage from him in future.  In his brief appearances you could see the signs  of quality but at times he reminded me of Tiger Woods in his days of being 522nd in the US rankings - it became painful.  Thing is, we are now in dogfight and thoughts must turn to who can perform for us.

12 hours ago, JakeSAFC said:

I know that wee Sam dunt. He's an absolute whopper. Claims Dumbarton's his local side despite living in the Stirling area and being a massive Celtic "supporter." The boy is genuinely a lost cause.

He isn't the only wee fud kicking about unfortunately.  His pals are equally as bad.

17 hours ago, ShaggerG said:

Cheers for that.

The RL (version 1) that we had was an excellent player. Not a striker exactly, probably more of a #10 but could play in a two up top and certainly knew the way to goal. He's definitely not a target man or sole striker type though. As well as his ability his work rate was tremendous, so much so that I used to moan at him because he was away defending at our corner flag when he should have been on the half way line waiting for us to break! I believe he scored every 2nd game on average during his first spell though.

Version 2 however was a totally different animal. Overweight, unfit and looking decidedly disinterested.  He had looked not too bad in pre-season and the LC games but picked up an injury against St Mirren in the 1st league game and was out for a while.  I'm unsure if he was another who fell out with Hartley but he certainly didn't look up for it after he came in. He only scored once for us second time round, against Brechin!

There were strong rumours that he was having personal problems which were affecting his form so I hope he's managed to get over whatever it was and gets back playing well for you soon.

Aye, that's the one.

I think I've changed my mind on Dom Thomas. He seems to be running the show in League 1 for you guys. Maybe he does have a future at Killie after all.

Every time he gets the ball I think we’re confident he’ll skin 2 or 3 players and get a good shot away. Yesterday was 4-1 going on 8-1 but I’m not confident we’d have won without Thomas.

28 minutes ago, Old Scrotum said:

I was told yesterday that there has been no complaint from Airdrie regarding the damage last weekend, and that the wee shites are now barred from home games.

Good outcome that. The kids that were there yesterday seemed like a good bunch - hopefully the Dom Thomas heavy entertainment show will have been enough to convince them to come back.

7 minutes ago, Ross Forbes said:

Good outcome that. The kids that were there yesterday seemed like a good bunch - hopefully the Dom Thomas heavy entertainment show will have been enough to convince them to come back.

There was something about a bunch of 10 year olds singing "There will be no relegation for The Sons!" that was both delightful and encouraging in equal measure.

13 hours ago, The Moonster said:

There was something about a bunch of 10 year olds singing "There will be no relegation for The Sons!" that was both delightful and encouraging in equal measure.

I spent the whole game thinking how much they reminded me of my younger self (and your and all the other guys too) when we first started attending games together. All good banter, plenty singing and no hassle. Shame we all grew up and got responsibilities which caused us to tone it doen a little :lol: