Sons' sorrow

1 hour ago, optimistic said:

Number 16 seemed nervous at first, then brought out a few saves, then scored. Definitely one to idolise since he’s built like a pipe cleaner and taller than nish

Who was he? Who cares? I dub #16 thee new Jimmy Lister

Thought no. 16 was pish initially but came onto a good game. I wouldn't be flinging a contract his way just yet, see how he gets on Tuesday (assuming he plays). I'd also put no.3 & 4 in that bracket. No. 7 (McKee?) and no. 15 (Langan?) did enough to be offered deals now.

23 minutes ago, C'mon_the_Sons said:

Too much time on his hands! Doubt it'll look like that in January! 😂

I would reckon that took him about 6 hours, biggest problem about doing that at this time of year is two days later your 6  hour shift is no more lol. Bet you don't see it again. Our park looked shit today as it's far too early. August 3rd is the first time I hope to have it looking the way it should. Ps the oyster catchers became parents yesterday hope they never upset anyone that went close to their nest.

3 minutes ago, Dumbarton Rock said:

I would reckon that took him about 6 hours, biggest problem about doing that at this time of year is two days later your 6  hour shift is no more lol. Bet you don't see it again. Our park looked shit today as it's far too early. August 3rd is the first time I hope to have it looking the way it should. Ps the oyster catchers became parents yesterday hope they never upset anyone that went close to their nest.

I'd be more concerned about the oyster catchers. One of the chicks tried to escape from the nest and the parents never went near the nest during the match so hopefully the chicks are ok.

3 minutes ago, C'mon_the_Sons said:

I'd be more concerned about the oyster catchers. One of the chicks tried to escape from the nest and the parents never went near the nest during the match so hopefully the chicks are ok.

Only one has hatched, still another two to go.

That was utterly bizarre yesterday, I've really no idea what to make of it - but given I was expecting a minimum of a 5-0 defeat I think I'm pretty confident in saying that we'll win the league.

First up I thought we looked fit and sharp which, for the first proper game of pre-season, I really wasn't expecting. McKee, Langan and Hutton were popping around some really sharp wee passes early on, and the fitness and general pace of the team looked decent. There no doubting there's some solid lads in there who won't shirk a challenge too.

In terms of the new signings, I thought McCluskey looked as lively as he usually did against us for Morton, and I can see what Duffy saw in Crawford. He's clearly not the finished article, but he's some size for a 19-year-old, strong, quick, brave and was buzzing up and down the wing all game without tiring. With the right coaching it'll be interesting to see how he develops. Neill didn't have the best of times; I'm fine with him just going and chucking himself at things, but he looks like he really needs an experienced head alongside him to talk him through the game. The penalty he conceded was maybe a bit soft, but it was a needless risk to take. Not convinced by Pettigrew either, his decision making when dealing with crosses was poor and he didn't look at all comfortable with the ball at his feet. Brennan was solid again when he came on, but given his form for Brechin last year I'm a wee bit concerned about our goalkeeping options.

As for the trialists, there were a few I'd be keen to sign up; namely Rico Quitongo and Joe McKee. Quitongo looked pretty comfortable in a totally new look and very inexperienced back four, and played like a guy with more first-team experience than he has (e.g. virtually none...). I liked how much he spoke to everyone around him too, he was the only vocal member of the backline at times - which I wasn't really expecting! We knew McKee would be a good signing before kick off, but he definitely proved it today. He was always looking to take the ball, his passing was by and large excellent, and he took his goal very well. Looked fit too, so I'd be delighted if we brought him in.

Liked the look of Langan as well, but I'd be keen to see him get 60-70 minutes on Tuesday before making a decision. If we sign McKee on top of Hutton and Carsy I'm not sure we need another centre-mid - unless he can play elsewhere? Zata took his goal well when he came on, but meh, I'm not sure he was as polished as the others. I'd like to see Crossan get a bit more gametime too, as he showed flashes.

The big guy up top was mental. Like I've no idea if he was amazing or awful. If he was a normal size and build then I might be able to judge, but he just looked so damn ungainly that I've no idea how good he was. Got himself in good positions, scored with a nice finish...but who knows what'll happen there. The other trialists (I think I've covered them all here...) ranged from meh to nope, and I'm not sure we'll see a few of them again.

All full of excitement for a bonanza of signing news prior to our 0-4 defeat to Hamilton on Tuesday now...

That was utterly bizarre yesterday, I've really no idea what to make of it - but given I was expecting a minimum of a 5-0 defeat I think I'm pretty confident in saying that we'll win the league.
First up I thought we looked fit and sharp which, for the first proper game of pre-season, I really wasn't expecting. McKee, Langan and Hutton were popping around some really sharp wee passes early on, and the fitness and general pace of the team looked decent. There no doubting there's some solid lads in there who won't shirk a challenge too.
In terms of the new signings, I thought McCluskey looked as lively as he usually did against us for Morton, and I can see what Duffy saw in Crawford. He's clearly not the finished article, but he's some size for a 19-year-old, strong, quick, brave and was buzzing up and down the wing all game without tiring. With the right coaching it'll be interesting to see how he develops. Neill didn't have the best of times; I'm fine with him just going and chucking himself at things, but he looks like he really needs an experienced head alongside him to talk him through the game. The penalty he conceded was maybe a bit soft, but it was a needless risk to take. Not convinced by Pettigrew either, his decision making when dealing with crosses was poor and he didn't look at all comfortable with the ball at his feet. Brennan was solid again when he came on, but given his form for Brechin last year I'm a wee bit concerned about our goalkeeping options.
As for the trialists, there were a few I'd be keen to sign up; namely Rico Quitongo and Joe McKee. Quitongo looked pretty comfortable in a totally new look and very inexperienced back four, and played like a guy with more first-team experience than he has (e.g. virtually none...). I liked how much he spoke to everyone around him too, he was the only vocal member of the backline at times - which I wasn't really expecting! We knew McKee would be a good signing before kick off, but he definitely proved it today. He was always looking to take the ball, his passing was by and large excellent, and he took his goal very well. Looked fit too, so I'd be delighted if we brought him in.
Liked the look of Langan as well, but I'd be keen to see him get 60-70 minutes on Tuesday before making a decision. If we sign McKee on top of Hutton and Carsy I'm not sure we need another centre-mid - unless he can play elsewhere? Zata took his goal well when he came on, but meh, I'm not sure he was as polished as the others. I'd like to see Crossan get a bit more gametime too, as he showed flashes.
The big guy up top was mental. Like I've no idea if he was amazing or awful. If he was a normal size and build then I might be able to judge, but he just looked so damn ungainly that I've no idea how good he was. Got himself in good positions, scored with a nice finish...but who knows what'll happen there. The other trialists (I think I've covered them all here...) ranged from meh to nope, and I'm not sure we'll see a few of them again.
All full of excitement for a bonanza of signing news prior to our 0-4 defeat to Hamilton on Tuesday now...
Couldn't make it yesterday but thanks for the report. Only thing I'd say is that there is no 'we' until we have a signed squad, that looks like a Dumbarton XI that won yesterday and for all we know Joe McKee could sign for Airdrie tomorrow.

Tuesday will be a big night and I'd expect that to be deal or no deal time - it will need to be LOL.

33 minutes ago, C'mon_the_Sons said:

Awfy quiet on here. Wonder where all the doom merchants have gone? 🤔

We won a friendly against a team from the league above, which was nice but it'll have no bearing on the season ahead.

The same issues are still with us, no real quality in the 1st team squad yet, very little ca$h & BrabCo.

2 minutes ago, Silverton End said:

We won a friendly against a team from the league above, which was nice but it'll have no bearing on the season ahead.

The same issues are still with us, no real quality in the 1st team squad yet, very little ca$h & BrabCo.

You're not wrong but sometimes you've got to take the positives from a situation. We don't get many as Sons fans!!

4 minutes ago, C'mon_the_Sons said:

You're not wrong but sometimes you've got to take the positives from a situation. We don't get many as Sons fans!!

Of course 👍

Would love to see a couple of signings announced tomorrow and them getting a run out v Accies.

Awfy quiet on here. Wonder where all the doom merchants have gone? [emoji848]
I really don't think we should be getting carried away with a friendly victory, involving 10 trialists, against a team who were playing their 2nd game in 24 hours.

Even if we sign the better of yesterday's trialists our squad still looks like a monumental downgrade on last season.

20 minutes ago, Silverton End said:

This is it. Nice to win a friendly but about 6 of our actual players played. If we can get some of the better of the trialists signed up then we can see what sort of shape we'll actually take.

2 hours ago, Bring Back Paddy Flannery said:

I really don't think we should be getting carried away with a friendly victory, involving 10 trialists, against a team who were playing their 2nd game in 24 hours.

Even if we sign the better of yesterday's trialists our squad still looks like a monumental downgrade on last season.

Would that be the squad that had us flirting with relegation all season, nearly bottom at Christmas and just scraping sixth place?

I know what you mean BBPF but there are a number of us who are quite thankful to have a revised squad.

I also think there us a general lack of trust in Duffy's abilities to bring out the best in whatever players we end up with.

Edited by Sons FC

Would that be the squad that had us flirting with relegation all season, nearly bottom at Christmas and just scraping sixth place?
I know what you mean BBPF but there are a number of us who are quite thankful to have a revised squad.
I also think there us a general lack of trust in Duffy's abilities to bring out the best in whatever players we end up with.
I'd bite my own balls off for 6th place and finishing 9 points clear of the relegation playoff spot tbqhwy. Even if that does involve a scrap at the bottom for most of the season.

If that vastly superior squad struggled then I think you're going to be in for a shock with what this revised squad is likely to produce. If you are thankful to have the current crop over what we had then fair play to you, I know what group of players I'd prefer.

Duffy isn't a magician, there's only so much he can do with players of limited ability. His recruitment so far has done very little to convince me that I should trust him.