What's good on Radio 4?

Guest Kincardine

Comedy drama by Roy Smiles, about the friendship between John Le Mesurier and Arthur Lowe and the making of Dad's Army. Starring Anton Lesser and Robert Daws.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b01h6463/Afternoon_Drama_Dear_Arthur_Love_John/

45 mins and well worth a listen :)

Oh I heard that on iPlayer after I came home today and it was a really enjoyable 45 minutes. Captain Mainwaring came across as a right c**t!

He sure did/was.............. and JLM sounded a soft touch, but a really nice guy. Pretty true to life from what I remember.

Guest Kincardine

He sure did/was.............. and JLM sounded a soft touch, but a really nice guy. Pretty true to life from what I remember.

Aye but JLM was no great judge of women. Marying Hattie Jaques and then having his next wife being pumped by Tony Hancock?

Still, a really good drama and very believeable.

• 1 year later...

Wee bump for this thread since 1. There's too little discussion of Radio 4 and 2. This week's Chain Reaction was brilliant:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03nt8bk

Frankie Boyle in discussion with Grant Morrison. If you have a spare half-hour take a listen. You'll thank me.

radio 4 extra-brilliant comedy club, 7th dimension for all you sci fi geeks,crime dramas like P division even the reworking of dixon of dock green with david tennant is brill!

my fave comedies are I'm sorry I haven't a clue,

revolting people, mark steel lectures, dave gorman's genius (urinals that act like steel drums :lol: ), old harry's game-superb,News quiz, act your age etc etc....

Bumping this because 1. I started the thread and 2. tonight was a delight for we Radio 4 fans.

1. Mark Steel does this 'thing' whereby he goes to a town, rips the pish out of it but makes it/us feel good. Tonight was a classic in Southall:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03s76dh

2. I'd challenge any Canute who says he isn't entertained by Mathew Engle's thoughts on The Sabbath:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03s76dr

Bumping this because 1. I started the thread and 2. tonight was a delight for we Radio 4 fans.

1. Mark Steel does this 'thing' whereby he goes to a town, rips the pish out of it but makes it/us feel good. Tonight was a classic in Southall:

The Mark Steel stuff is great. Do I recall correctly - one on Arran?

• 9 months later...

Breathing life in to this thread based on invergowrie arab's post here:

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php/topic/218579-creationism-should-it-be-taught-in-schools/page-3#entry8943352

Infinite Monkey Cage podcasts can be found here:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/series/timc

In a similar vein In Our Time podcasts can be found here:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/series/iot

2. I'd challenge any Canute who says he isn't entertained by Mathew Engle's thoughts on The Sabbath:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03s76dr

Just listened to that - very good. (I can remember the childrens' swngs being padlocked on Sunday.)

Breathing life in to this thread based on invergowrie arab's post here:

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php/topic/218579-creationism-should-it-be-taught-in-schools/page-3#entry8943352

Infinite Monkey Cage podcasts can be found here:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/series/timc

In a similar vein In Our Time podcasts can be found here:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/series/iot

Now addicted to IOT

Jack Dee isn't the same as Humph but I do like his drollery and his "I don't give a f**k" attitude.

Completely agree. Humph was brilliant playing it as if he didn't really understand what was going on, especially with the Samantha/Sven stuff, while Jack's usual persona actually fits the show really well.

Would love to go to one of the live recordings - went to the tour show at the Kings in January, which was superb. Sometimes still play my kazoo!