America

qos_75

I wouldn't miss Las Vegas if you are close.

You can get a cheap flight from SFO or OAK to LAS.

Only 270 miles from your final destination.

Casinos do nothing for me, so you can skip Portland if that is what floats your boat.

Savannah is also worth a stop if your driving down.Really nice city with a lovely bay area full of bars and restaurants and also a wee main square which also with the bench that Forrest Gump was filmed,but dont get pished and fall alseep on it :unsure2:

Booked Florida for 2 weeks in October! Can't wait to go back - 2 years this week since I got back. Girlfriends family have a time-share in a nice resort so just the flights to pay which is always a cracking bonus. Stocking up on $ now as the exchange rate hit a massive high.

As i say, been before, but open to suggestions of things to do so anything would be welcome. Going to see The Buccaneers vs the Ravens in Tampa but apart from that got a free schedule.

I was thinking of taking time off from work and do the trek America 3month tour of the states, anyone done this?

I done the Trek America Trailblazer last year, absolutely amazing! it was a 2 month tour and covered 30 states as well as a bit of Canada.

Did you take any pals along or did you go solo?

I'd recommend Trek America too, I'm just back from a Coast to Coast express trip and it was probably the best fortnight of my life. I went on my own but the group was great and we all got on well. Already thinking of doing the Atlantic Dream next year.

• 2 months later...

Where in Florida is the timeshare? I'm going In October too, let's be pals!

Lake BuenaVista - just round the corner from Disney. Got tickets for the NFL and NHL in tampa so pretty excited.

Anybody got any Orlando suggestions outwith the usual tourist stuff? I like to find some more unseen places, decent bars etc. Any suggestions would be great as i'm starting to get excited and have a quiet week at work where Orlando planning is pretty much top of my to-do list.

I was thinking of taking time off from work and do the trek America 3month tour of the states, anyone done this?

A friend of mine just got back after 3 weeks - hired a car in LA and drove to NYC. Said it was the best thing he's ever done in terms of travelling and I am incredibly jealous.

Go to celebration near Kissimmee for a walk about one night, pretty cool there. There's a restaurant called Mannys chop house I'm dying to try which does seem to be aimed more at residents.

Is that not the creepy Disney built town where all of houses are the same and all the gardens and everything look exactly the same?

There's a restaurant called Mannys chop house I'm dying to try which does seem to be aimed more at residents.

This. I try to tell friends and family when coming over to eat where the locals go instead of the same old Denny's, Olive Garden and Outback Steakhouse pish.

Savannah is also worth a stop if your driving down.Really nice city with a lovely bay area full of bars and restaurants and also a wee main square which also with the bench that Forrest Gump was filmed,but dont get pished and fall alseep on it :unsure2:

I was a bit underwhelmed by Savannah, trying too hard to look a bit European. The locals got really annoyed if you didn't gush about it. Segregation hasn't changed since before Kennedy and LBJ's efforts. Much preferred the nearby tacky seaside resort of Tybee Island. Spent a week in a sleazy bar full of redneck republicans there during the second Bush election in 2004. They adopted me as their pet haggis eating surrender monkey. Wound them up something rotten to the point where the landlord held a gun to my head, and the locals ushered me quickly out of the back. Tried to attend the vote as an independent international observer after all the shennanigans down in Florida the election before, but was firmly advised to "GO HOME NOW SIR!."

Really? I was in Houston a couple of weeks ago and I didn't find it that bad. I was there for a good few days before those storms hit and while it was hot, I still found it bearable. Granted, I went to Vegas after (last week) and while it was "hotter" it felt more comfortable with the lower humidity, but I honestly didn't find Houston that uncomfortable.

Was in Houston a few years back on business in October and found it ok.

Everywhere has air conditioning blasting out and the shopping centre is cracking. Would recommend the restaurants. Not sure about nightlife. We walked from the hotel and everyone was beeping at us as if we were mental. Apparently it's really dangerous, tried a Mexican restaurant and noticed that we were the only white people there. Same with a nightclub. Once they found out we were tourists it was ok.

Get the feeling that all ethnicities do their own separate things. Not like here, Mexicans go to a Mexican restaurant etc.

Told that he time to go is during Mardi gras. Missed it by a week.

Would like to try NYC for shopping break.