Walking Down The Halbeath Road

I don`t even know where we go with the youth academy if we`ve appointed Bill Hendry who ran Fife Elite which let`s be honest was far from a success. Why do we stick with the same people time and time again? A goalkeeping coach who`s the first choice keeper? The same coaches with three managers now? Multiple players clearly miles of it and still playing?? Is this part of the problem why we are not going forward?

I lifted that from .net. A lot of truth in that to be fair. 

We are very reluctant to let go of under performers. Could even say a jobs for the boys organisation.

Edited by Chubbychops

9 minutes ago, Ludo*1 said:

I do feel sympathy for Dunfermline, but this is for the greater good if it ensures John Hughes is done as a manager. Too often he gets linked with clubs (including my own) when there is a vacancy. His swing round the merry-go-round needs to stop.

You're doing us all a good turn here lads. Think of it that way and you'll feel better.

Taking one for the team.

Agree though. Hughes will be done with jobs in the Premiership once he takes us down. He'll probably still get a Championship job at some point mind.

Think we're going down and really think the club is in big trouble because of that.

League 1 next year will be mental, almost certainly the most competitive in the country and the strongest for decades. I fear we would struggle and could spend a few years down there. That would just knacker the club.

The Youth Academy would be the first thing to go when finances get tight. Training facilities with it. Also the plan of attracting overseas players will take a huge hit, as getting them to play for a League 1 club will be much harder than getting them to play for a Championship club. Why then would the investors hang around? 

North stand would be shut. 

We'd hemorrhage fans. We'd be in very serious trouble.

All because some fucking morons thought Peter Grant, a proven failure multiple times, would be good, and allowed him to assemble one of the worst squads ever seen at East End. These morons then appointed John Hughes, a shite manager when he had to work with a limited squad and limited budget. And gave this idiot an 18 month contract. 

Get every single one of those involved with those two appointments away from ever being involved with any decisions in the club ever again.

2 minutes ago, North Terrace Gazza said:

Hughes was hero after a couple of wins now he’s a total loser after your hammering today? What is he if you win next week?

Hughes has only won one game with us.

29 minutes ago, Chubbychops said:

I don`t even know where we go with the youth academy if we`ve appointed Bill Hendry who ran Fife Elite which let`s be honest was far from a success. Why do we stick with the same people time and time again? A goalkeeping coach who`s the first choice keeper? The same coaches with three managers now? Multiple players clearly miles of it and still playing?? Is this part of the problem why we are not going forward?

I lifted that from .net. A lot of truth in that to be fair. 

We are very reluctant to let go of under performers. Could even say a jobs for the boys organisation.

In fairness, Fife Elite was a success, just not for Dunfermline. We've taken in transfer fees of over £300k from it excluding sell on clauses. We've still got 6 players on our books who have come through it. 

Just listened to Hughes post match interview. What a lot of empty shite. Someone predicted he'd be on about how good they are on the training pitch and them putting the jersey on (or not) and lo and behold - he did exactly that. He simply confirms he has no clue how to motivate the squad he has, find a way to play his better players or change things when it's not working. It's the same old tired, clueless nonsense and his patter has long since worn thin with everyone except his media pals. It was literally a dreadful time when he mismanaged the Rovers down to the seaside so I know exactly how you boys feel. You have some hope though - you have time on your side and some decent players (O'Hara, Wighton, Thomas at least). If, however, they're not getting games or playing in the right positions, Hughes a) cant see it, and b) wouldn't know what to do even if he could see it. Your saviour is unlikely to arrive as a transfer so how do you get out of this mess?

2 minutes ago, Broken Algorithms said:

In fairness, Fife Elite was a success, just not for Dunfermline. We've taken in transfer fees of over £300k from it excluding sell on clauses. We've still got 6 players on our books who have come through it. 

Aye, true enough. Another example of us being behind the rest.  

3 minutes ago, Chubbychops said:

Hughes had made the team worse the more coaching they get from him. This ludicrous passing from the back has only got more prominent in recent weeks.

Yep that is Yogi for you,tippy tappy football when going nowhere,and good help you if he needs to sign a keeper as he cannot spot a decent one.

19 minutes ago, Broken Algorithms said:
21 minutes ago, Chubbychops said:
Aye, true enough. Another example of us being behind the rest.  

I think it was summed up when Quinn Coulson, a Pars fan, turned you down to sign for us because he felt we would offer better opportunities in the future of first team football.

He also wouldn’t have had a chump like Crawford coaching him. Instead McGlynn, a guy who launched the careers of several Scotland internationals.

1 hour ago, Chubbychops said:

Nae issue with folk rubbing it in.

Our board have created this laughing stock and just got to take it on the chin. 

Also pretty funny how Rovers have still not managed to beat our shitshow in three attempts.

But we are 20 points clear of you with no threat of relegation. Now away and enjoy Yogi and the pish he speaks. 

The only games we have competed in have been against teams in the top half. The games where players don’t really need added incentive/motivation aren’t an issue. The games where the manager seems to be saying “we know we can beat them” are when the players look like they expect to stroll it and can’t be arsed putting in effort. Arbroath seem to be the anomaly, in that they have hammered us 3 times. Can only imagine it’s the whole “we should beat part time jobbers” mentality, completely disregarding their performances to date and league position. We got our ‘new manager bounce’ at home to Ayr, other than that we’ve been absolutely honking against bottom half teams. Our defence seems to capitulate in those games more than any other and it’s bizarre.

Aggregate scores against teams this season:

Arbroath 2-10 (0 points)
Raith 2-2 (3 points)
Kilmarnock 2-2 (1 point - from 1 game)
Inverness 2-1 (4 points)
Partick 0-3 (1 point)
Hamilton 0-1 (1 point)
Ayr 4-3 (3 points*)
Morton 3-10 (1 point)
QoS 3-4 (1 point)

*includes that 3-0 ‘new manager bounce’

We’ve conceded 36 league goals this season so far. 17 of them were scored by the 3 other teams in the bottom 4. If we keep dropping points and gifting goals to teams directly competing with us to avoid relegation, it’s just impossible to stay up.

60% of our points have come against top half teams (even despite our record v Arbroath). We’ve shared a win each with 7th placed Ayr and the clubs in 8th and 9th have beaten us (in Morton’s case twice) without us managing to beat them yet.

Morton have scored 45% of their total goals against us. That’s a horrendous statistic and can’t be ignored. The 5 teams 2nd-6th in the table have scored 9 goals against us. Morton alone have scored 10, as have Arbroath. Attitude is a huge problem, from management and players.

1 hour ago, Chubbychops said:

That's why it's funny you haven't beaten us. Not sure why you're getting nipped.

It's also very funny that such a large club is facing relegation and years of suffering in the Seaside leagues.