Walking Down The Halbeath Road

Just watched Pybus’ interview.

“Massive club” also talks about how the mentality is different at Dunfermline “you’re actually expected to play well and win games”. Says he wasn’t given a chance to prove he can play football at Queens and goes back to talk about how we’ll be expected to win games, which obviously wasn’t the case at QoS.

I like Pybus.

Aye, that well known tactic of telling your players to misplace passes.

Under AJ, Shaun Byrne didn’t look like a technically good midfielder at Dunfermline. Went on to prove otherwise. He’s never really asked his midfielders to play the type of football we’re looking to play. Pybus has been on trial for more than a week. If he hadn’t shown enough ability, I don’t think we’d have signed him.

Think the reaction from fans is poor. Give the guy a chance. As I say, there are countless examples of players being poor/underwhelming at some teams and starred in others.

What does it matter what numpties like us do or don’t say about players? If he’s a decent player then he’ll show it and if he’s average AF then he’ll show that too.

The reaction to his signing from fans makes absolutely zero difference.

36 minutes ago, CallumPar said:

Under AJ, Shaun Byrne didn’t look like a technically good midfielder at Dunfermline. Went on to prove otherwise. He’s never really asked his midfielders to play the type of football we’re looking to play. Pybus has been on trial for more than a week. If he hadn’t shown enough ability, I don’t think we’d have signed him.

Think the reaction from fans is poor. Give the guy a chance. As I say, there are countless examples of players being poor/underwhelming at some teams and starred in others.

Eh that’s exactly what he looked like so that’s where I’ll stop reading. 

I always felt like he gave the ball away too often and was caught out of position a lot. Being lightweight was definitely his biggest issue, but he didn’t look anything like the player he went on to become and couldn’t get a game ahead of Geggan/Falkingham/McCabe towards the end of his time here. He’s gone on to be a better midfielder than all 3.

Regardless of individual opinions, the point still stands. I’m not going to start throwing a tantrum over signing a 23 year old midfielder because he was reportedly underwhelming in an AJ team. I really don’t understand the overreaction here. Why can’t people just give him a chance and see how he works out in our team/system?

2 minutes ago, CallumPar said:

I always felt like he gave the ball away too often and was caught out of position a lot. Being lightweight was definitely his biggest issue, but he didn’t look anything like the player he went on to become and couldn’t get a game ahead of Geggan/Falkingham/McCabe towards the end of his time here. He’s gone on to be a better midfielder than all 3.

Regardless of individual opinions, the point still stands. I’m not going to start throwing a tantrum over signing a 23 year old midfielder because he was reportedly underwhelming in an AJ team. I really don’t understand the overreaction here. Why can’t people just give him a chance and see how he works out in our team/system?

The fact is, he's shown nothing in 50 odd games at a smaller club then signs for us, a team banging on about winning the league this year. Not really sure how you don't get the reaction tbh.

2 minutes ago, The Great Cornholio said:

put him in a better team, in possibly a different role as he talks about in his interview and see what he does.

the overreaction was totally expected, it will be the same with whoever else we sign.

Nah, pretty much most signings were welcomed in recent times.  The reaction is due to this signing not meeting the same standard.

The fact is, he's shown nothing in 50 odd games at a smaller club then signs for us, a team banging on about winning the league this year. Not really sure how you don't get the reaction tbh.

Shaun Rooney was dreadful for us. Look at him now.

Gavin Reilly was useless for us, then helped St Mirren win the league the next season.

Mark Durnan came with a good reputation at this level and was completely hopeless.

Harry Cochrane was supposed to be a great signing at this level, based on performances for Hearts beforehand, he did nothing in his time with us.

Kevin Nisbet had been poor in his 2 spells at championship level before joining us.

In football, it’s actually pretty common for players to look good in some teams/systems and poor in others. I think it’s safe to say that Grant’s style of play is very different to AJ’s at QoS. So why not wait and see how the guy gets on in a new team/system, before criticising him? If you’d rather be critical of the guy before he’s even kicked a ball than give him a chance, fair enough. I hope it works out and he proves the manager right.

The difference with Pybus is that his fundamental skills level just isn't good enough. His touch and passing ability are just not at the level required. He'll cover plenty ground for you, even win the ball fairly regularly. It's just that he'll give it away again just as much.

4 minutes ago, CallumPar said:

Shaun Rooney was dreadful for us. Look at him now.

Gavin Reilly was useless for us, then helped St Mirren win the league the next season.

Mark Durnan came with a good reputation at this level and was completely hopeless.

Harry Cochrane was supposed to be a great signing at this level, based on performances for Hearts beforehand, he did nothing in his time with us.

Kevin Nisbet had been poor in his 2 spells at championship level before joining us.

In football, it’s actually pretty common for players to look good in some teams/systems and poor in others. I think it’s safe to say that Grant’s style of play is very different to AJ’s at QoS. So why not wait and see how the guy gets on in a new team/system, before criticising him? If you’d rather be critical of the guy before he’s even kicked a ball than give him a chance, fair enough. I hope it works out and he proves the manager right.

Durnan was a pish signing at the time. Nisbet had just scored 30 odd goals for Rovers. Folk were pleased with that signing.  Reilly has had  that one season and done nothing since, back to type. 

Re-writing history doesn't prove your point. 

IMO, and nobody probably cares, but Pybus will be better than you expect, but worse than you hope.

Also seems like a lot of coaches who are quite "obsessed" are having a fascination with the 3-4-3 set up this Summer, and Grant strikes me as someone who'll join in that craze.

I congratulate Sir Dan of Pybus for joining the championship merry go round of signings and hope he can get many a move to a Morton/Ayr etc until his late 20s.

The merry go round is fantastic. Embrace it. Drink it in.

14 minutes ago, Rob1885 said:

I congratulate Sir Dan of Pybus for joining the championship merry go round of signings and hope he can get many a move to a Morton/Ayr etc until his late 20s.

The merry go round is fantastic. Embrace it. Drink it in.

Then onto Airdrie and Dumbarton to give the usual crescendo of demise

2 hours ago, CallumPar said:

Just watched Pybus’ interview.

“Massive club” also talks about how the mentality is different at Dunfermline “you’re actually expected to play well and win games”. Says he wasn’t given a chance to prove he can play football at Queens and goes back to talk about how we’ll be expected to win games, which obviously wasn’t the case at QoS.

I like Pybus.

He was given plenty of chances to show he could play football at Queens,  he only succeeded in showing that it was largely beyond him. It's also strange why he signed on again for another season if he wasn't being given any chances.  Good luck with him anyway,  he'll run about a lot if that's any good to you. 

Just now, Fae_the_'briggs said:

He was given plenty of chances to show he could play football at Queens,  he only succeeded in showing that it was largely beyond him. It's also strange why he signed on again for another season if he wasn't being given any chances.  Good luck with him anyway,  he'll run about a lot if that's any good to you. 

Cheers for the info pal, but I think it's best to stick our fingers in our ears and believe that he will become a completely different player in the next two weeks.