the_bully_wee Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Watched 21 Jump Street over Easter, it was alright I guess, neither here nor there. Watchable. 6/10. Looking forward to American Pie: The Reunion (even though it'll probably disappoint), The Dictator and also Ted, with the trailers of the latter two looking very promising indeed. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SaltyTON Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Rear Window (1954) Seriously, did Hitchcock make any bad films? A guy with a broken leg (the legendary James Stewart) sits all day watching his neighbours, until he thinks he may have seen a murder... but his policeman friend doesn't believe him. Was there a murder, or something more sinister? Grace Kelly is unbelievably hot in this! 10/10 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bennett Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Albino Farm 7/10 A bit cliched in bits but was overall enjoyable. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
yoda Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Fight Club I finally got round to seeing this. It's good but I feel it's over-hyped. It explores a few different themes (I like how it doesn't nail its colours to any one theme), and it kept my interest throughout with a few splashes of humour thrown in. All three main performances are solid but not spectacular. It's not a criticism of the actors (although Norton is one who I associate with being "solid but never spectacular" for the most part). IMO the best part of the film was the cinematography, and I really like how Fincher styles his films. The film cuts about but it flows very well. It's an enjoyable watch but I don't think it's worthy of a higher rating. 7.5/10 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr. Brightside Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 (edited) I thought Brad Pitt, as usual, was amazing in Fight Club. I think I'm yet to see him give a performance that isn't great. Also, Ed Norton was excellent in American History X. Edited April 30, 2012 by Mr. Brightside 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr. Brightside Posted April 30, 2012 Share Posted April 30, 2012 Fight club is one of my favourite films, Brad Pitt is tremendous in it. Ed Norton rarely disappoints either. Indeed. I always feel that Ed Norton seems rather sinister, whether that is intended or not. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
forehead7 Posted May 1, 2012 Share Posted May 1, 2012 (although Norton is one who I associate with being "solid but never spectacular" for the most part) Also, Ed Norton was excellent in American History X. Beaten to it. American History X is brilliant and he's amazing in it. Quick question but how does Cameron Diaz manage to look worse and worse in every film yet is portrayed as some sort of sexual goddess? She's absolutely haggard and ropey these days and is just not suited to the roles she's given. I dunno. She looked pretty damn fine in Bad Teacher. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ludo*1 Posted May 1, 2012 Share Posted May 1, 2012 Martyrs Probably my favourite 'shock' film. Has decent themes rather than just going out to shock, which it also does pretty well. A lot better than the likes of A Serbian Film & The Human Centipede and it shouldn't be categorized with them. 7/10 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LinkinFighter Posted May 1, 2012 Share Posted May 1, 2012 American Reunion - 10/10 As massive fan of all the original cast films this ticks all the boxes, go see it. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
young_bairn Posted May 1, 2012 Share Posted May 1, 2012 Avengers 7/10 This was cool and good fun. 3D was good too. Had the right amount of laughs with some great CGI. The Hulk is awesome. This is how big budget comic book movies should be. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SaltyTON Posted May 1, 2012 Share Posted May 1, 2012 Nightmare Concert (A Cat in the Brain) (1990) Lucio Fulci is making a horror film within this film, and a copycat killer is carrying out similar murders in real life at the same time. Normally Fulci's films are pretty bloody, and with dodgy special effects... but they tend to work given they were made in the 70s. This doesn't though, it's a 90s effort that cost $100k... and it looks it! I know it's meant to be a 'self parody', but it doesn't work at all! It was banned for over a decade, but is available now uncut. Don't waste your time with this one. 4/10 - mainly as I like the concept, and the scene where he sticks a woman's head in microwave yet you can see it's just her standing behind a cut off bit of cardboard, and her fully clothed shoulder is visible, made me laugh! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
young_bairn Posted May 2, 2012 Share Posted May 2, 2012 (edited) Warrior. 7 or 8 out of 10 (finding this hard to mark) This was great and a must see if you like films like Rocky and The Fighter. Basically this is a film based on mma. A broken family forced to confront through the sport. As these types of films go its quite predictable but the story outwith the fight scenes is emotional and that's down to the excellent acting. Highly recommend. Edit: Deserves an 8. Edited May 2, 2012 by young_bairn 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albino Rover Posted May 2, 2012 Share Posted May 2, 2012 Badlands It was in this month's Empire's "masterpiece" section, after reading it I couldn't resist getting out the old DVD of Terrence Malick's debut, the story of two lovers on the run. Apparently Malick was really into Arthur Penn at the time, but denied he was trying to copy Bonnie And Clyde... Anyway, it's much more conventional than his later stuff, and there's more killing and stuff, so for those that were too closed-minded to enjoy The Tree Of Life, maybe this is one to take a chance on. It's very cleverly done: the quiet, sedate tone makes it seem more a romance than anything else, and the snowballing mass-murder almost passes you by. There's a lot of poetry in Sissy Spacek's voiceover, and the Malick cinematography is beautiful as ever. Spacek and Martin Sheen shine as the young couple, both perfect for their very different roles. It's a brilliant film and very ambitious for a debut but in the end as a piece doesn't amount to the same as Days Of Heaven or The Thin Red Line- that's what I'll always compare it to. 9/10 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SaltyTON Posted May 2, 2012 Share Posted May 2, 2012 Strangers on a Train (1951) Two strangers meet on a train, and one introduces the idea that they should dispose of each other's problem. Not as entertaining as some of Hitchcock's other films, however the concluding scene is well worth the wait. 8/10 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
paul-r-cfc Posted May 3, 2012 Share Posted May 3, 2012 Just watched Free Willy tonight - I expected shit and I got relatively watchable shit. I count that as a win Was somewhat disappointed that young Jessy wasn't crushed to death by big Boaby the Orca at the end but oh well 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Satans_Husband Posted May 3, 2012 Share Posted May 3, 2012 Strangers on a Train (1951) Two strangers meet on a train, and one introduces the idea that they should dispose of each other's problem. Not as entertaining as some of Hitchcock's other films, however the concluding scene is well worth the wait. 8/10 Possibly my favourite Hitchcock film, even though the roundabout scene doesn't work very well. Robert Walker is simply amazing in it. An interesting and tortured actor, he died while making his next film. His son Robert Walker Jnr looks almost identical to him and popped up in loads of TV stuff. I'll need to check out if Jnr ever played Jesus, he would have been good at that - in a sinister way. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
caleyjaggi Posted May 4, 2012 Share Posted May 4, 2012 The Devil inside Up there with the worst films I've ever seen. They couldnt even be arsed giving it an ending. Not even funny bad. Pure pish . 0 / 10 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SaltyTON Posted May 4, 2012 Share Posted May 4, 2012 The Devil inside Up there with the worst films I've ever seen. They couldnt even be arsed giving it an ending. Not even funny bad. Pure pish . 0 / 10 There hasn't been a good exorcism film since The Exorcist in 1973... they should just give up! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DomDom Posted May 4, 2012 Share Posted May 4, 2012 I thought The Last Exorcism was great fun. Plus Exorcist 3 has one of the best jump scares ever, but the movie itself is shite. Worth a mention though. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DomDom Posted May 4, 2012 Share Posted May 4, 2012 Aye. I lost my shit. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...