What Was The Last Movie You Watched?

Rugster

I've been trying to get a hold of that for ages. Amazon have it but are wanting something like 60 quid.

Get it on the Amazon Marketplace, zoverstocks has it for about a tenner incl. postage.

That is the seller I regularly buy DVDs from on Play, it's a company on the Channel Islands that sells second hand DVDs/games/CDs by the thousands. If the disc has any issues they will send you out a replacement if they have it in stock, or a refund, with no questions asked and they don't expect you return the faulty one.

I've been trying to get a hold of that for ages. Amazon have it but are wanting something like 60 quid.

Irreversible - Worth fast forwarding the first 10 minutes or so or you'll just end up thinking "wtf is this pish". And possibly get a migraine. Good film though once the start is over.

Edited by Dariusz

Martyrs

Incredible French film, very hard to describe without giving away too much. It might be a bit much for some people to stomach as the violence is on a different level here and the effects are very well done. It certainly had me gripped for the entire film, which is quite rare.

9/10

Have you seen "Frontiers"? Another great French horror film.

Get it on the Amazon Marketplace, zoverstocks has it for about a tenner incl. postage.

That is the seller I regularly buy DVDs from on Play, it's a company on the Channel Islands that sells second hand DVDs/games/CDs by the thousands. If the disc has any issues they will send you out a replacement if they have it in stock, or a refund, with no questions asked and they don't expect you return the faulty one.

I'll check that out. Cheers.

Have you seen "Frontiers"? Another great French horror film.

I didn't really like Frontiers. Mainly just torture porn to me, certainly not a patch on Martyrs (which I realise had a lot of gore and violence but i was hooked, and fucking scared, from the start).

Trust - 8/10

Clive Owen and Catherine Keener play the parents of a 14 year old girl who falls for a guy she chats to online, decides to meet him and the guy (who is actually 35 years old) rapes her after persuading her to go back to a hotel.

The girl playing the victim is terrific. I actually found myself angry at her naivety whilst trying to deal with what has happened to her, but i think that's the point. Her attacker is a clever older man who has her infatuated, and her emotions are all over the place.

The ending won't be to everyone's taste, but i admired it.

The Tree of Life

I'm a fan of Terrence Malick BUT, even though I was prepared for a slow moving meditation on life, this bored me rigid. The scenes of outer space were spectacular and the cinematography was magnificent but the rest of it was philosophical meandering at its worst. And watching the kids messing around doing this and that may have amused some of the parents in the audience but, for me, it was tedious in the extreme. The near final scene is something that's been done many times before and is devoid of imagination.

The notorious dinosaur scene was pointless.

3/10

Let Me In (2010)

It's almost exactly the same film as Let the Right One In, yet somehow it's a bit shit. I love the Swedish version, and Lina Leandersson is fucking brilliant in it... this on the other hand just seems so unbelievably forced!

Don't waste your time, go straight to the real thing!

5/10

Trust - 8/10

Clive Owen and Catherine Keener play the parents of a 14 year old girl who falls for a guy she chats to online, decides to meet him and the guy (who is actually 35 years old) rapes her after persuading her to go back to a hotel.

The girl playing the victim is terrific. I actually found myself angry at her naivety whilst trying to deal with what has happened to her, but i think that's the point. Her attacker is a clever older man who has her infatuated, and her emotions are all over the place.

The ending won't be to everyone's taste, but i admired it.

Would you recommend it?

Anyway, I watched The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo the other night. I haven't read the book so I had no real expectations. It was alright, certainly a good enough watch for an evening. 6/10. I might watch it again, after reading the books.

666: The Demon Child (Video 2004)

Wee evil baby hatches from an egg and kills bunch of people on a pointless expedition, led by a crazy old man.

The picture says it all, and shows why it doesn't get a 1/10...

666-demonchild.jpg

2/10

h of these in the last few days

Saw bot

Bridesmaids (2011).

9/10.

Funny as f**k.

Was ok. Not as good as I was expecting unfortunately. Should have been called one bridesmaid having a nervous breakdown which was a shame as it was on the verge of being brilliant. They just seemed to abandon sub plots, and potentially interesting characters, throughout. Thought Chris O'Dowd was great in it and the bit where she's trying to get herself arrested/pulled over was hilarious. Still, decent way to spend a couple of hours.

7/10

Went and saw Bad Teacher last night. It was actually pretty good, lot funnier than I expected. Jason Segel was hilarious. With the added bonus of a pretty constant hard on with Cameron Diaz being all sexy and shit.

Watched this tonight. I HATED Diaz's character, I really didn't want to see things come good for her, I thought she was a total cow (but maybe that's cos I'm a teacher). However, Diaz herself was great and it's worth watching for the carwash scene alone. I think the sun shines out Justin Timberlakes arse anyway but I thought he was hilarious in this. The film itself had some funny moments and like Bridesmaids I wouldn't go out my way to see it but it's a fairly decent way to spend an hour and a half.

7/10

I saw the Isle of Man TT film the other night. I believe it was called TT3D: Closer To The Edge.

A documentary that was very well shot, charting the 2010 TT, in particular the fortunes of Guy Martin. He came across as sound guy (pun not intended) and he was quite funny - the sort of guy you would like to go for a pint with. It was a good watch, and some of the racing shots were spectacular. The crashes were also spectacular, but for the wrong reasons.

I would recommend this even if you don't have much of an interest in bike racing (like myself).

7/10

Ringu (1998)

I know it's not normally said, but this is nowhere near as good as the American remake. The set pieces are extremely weak and the acting horrendous.

It obviously gets a pass as I really like the story, and it's basically the same but it badly misses something. I know there was nearly a $50m difference in the budget, but I never use that as a sole excuse for a film's shortcomings.

Just very disappointing.

5/10

Grown Ups

Very silly and a few good one-liners

Passed a hour and a bit away

6/10

Started to watch Scott Pilgrim Versus the world

Turned it off. Whit a pile o shite

1/10

Only gets one point for the bird with who he wanted to shag into oblivion