whisky lovers

I don't get the Springbank thing. I mean I really like Cambeltown whisky and I've still got about 2/3rds of a Springbank 15 which is a great dram (although probably prefer the 10), but I always think the hype and difficulty to get a bottle is a bit weird. Especially when the 10s and 15s don't go for that much at auction. 

45 minutes ago, Sarcastic Bairn said:

Opened this tonight, first impressions were good.

Quite mild with a bit of spice at the finish.

Good shout!

I think its quite like old pulteney in terms of saltiness. Nice! 

Edit - your missus left you yet? 😂

Edited by V.Aye.R

Got this to celebrate my 100th Munro purely because it said 100 proof but it’s actually decent for the 50quid mark for cask strength peat.

Have Glenfarclas 105 for next ‘mile stone’ if anybody has any other suggestions that gives me a weak excuse to buy more whisky.

image.jpeg

6 hours ago, gannonball said:

Got this to celebrate my 100th Munro purely because it said 100 proof but it’s actually decent for the 50quid mark for cask strength peat.

Have Glenfarclas 105 for next ‘mile stone’ if anybody has any other suggestions that gives me a weak excuse to buy more whisky.

image.jpeg

Anything by Ben Nevis is worth your money. If you haven't don't Càrn Mòr Dearg yet it would be a perfect excuse for a bottle of their Coire Leis.

Anyone got views on Loch Lomond. I wrote them off after some rank SMWS bottlings but the standard 10yo is agreeing with me. Touch sweet but very nice 

1 hour ago, invergowrie arab said:

Anything by Ben Nevis is worth your money. If you haven't don't Càrn Mòr Dearg yet it would be a perfect excuse for a bottle of their Coire Leis.

Anyone got views on Loch Lomond. I wrote them off after some rank SMWS bottlings but the standard 10yo is agreeing with me. Touch sweet but very nice 

I've never even had a mediocre Ben Nevis, never mind a poor one. Exceptional quality.

I've only ever tried the core Loch Lomond 10 and 12. Nothing objectionable, but would like to have a go at an indie bottling and a higher abv to see what it's really about.

Have been enjoying sipping a couple of rums (Ron Zacapa 23, Plantation XO 20th anniversary) so decided it might be time to try and get into whisky, having never really gone for neat spirits before. Ordered a few miniatures to get started as not really willing to commit to a battle in case I didn't like it. I've tried whisky in the past but have never really enjoyed it. Anyway, thought I'd give it a try and see where it goes. No real thought went into the selection of the miniatures, just hit and hope really. 

So far: 

Glenlivet Founders Reserve - won't lie, only went for.this one because Costco has it at a reasonable price. Thought it was alright - easy enough to drink. Not really sure what I'm meant to be tasting in particular but I'd get it again. Not sure I'd commit to the bottle at this stage. 

Ardbeg 10 - I really didn't like the first sip of this one; VERY smoky and I felt it was overpowering. However I've persevered and am warming to the rest of it. The smoky flavour seems a bit more subtle now; sits on the palate a while but is pleasant and not overpowering. Would have again. 

There's a Jura 10, Balvennie 12, Glenrothes 12 and bunnahabhain 12 left. I'll have another one tonight and will leave it there. Probably take the other 3 next week and maybe get another six miniatures to see how they go. Might be a bit more targeted based on what I liked

Edited by Michael W

1 hour ago, Peedzy said:

I've never even had a mediocre Ben Nevis, never mind a poor one. Exceptional quality.

I've only ever tried the core Loch Lomond 10 and 12. Nothing objectionable, but would like to have a go at an indie bottling and a higher abv to see what it's really about.

The ones I had were wine finishes so the natural sweetness became over bearing. I still have 3 quarters  of the sauternes finish left. 

I'd be interested in a single cask just left in the bourbon cask

Edited by invergowrie arab

12 minutes ago, Michael W said:

Have been enjoying sipping a couple of rums (Ron Zacapa 23, Plantation XO 20th anniversary) so decided it might be time to try and get into whisky, having never really gone for neat spirits before. Ordered a few miniatures to get started as not really willing to commit to a battle in case I didn't like it. I've tried whisky in the past but have never really enjoyed it. Anyway, thought I'd give it a try and see where it goes. No real thought went into the selection of the miniatures, just hit and hope really. 

So far: 

Glenlivet Founders Reserve - won't lie, only went for.this one because Costco has it at a reasonable price. Thought it was alright - easy enough to drink. Not really sure what I'm meant to be tasting in particular but I'd get it again. Notbsure I'd commit to the vottke at this stage. 

Ardbeg 10 - I really didn't like the first sip of this one; VERY smoky and I felt it was overpowering. However I've persevered and am warming to the rest of it. The smoky flavour seems a bit more subtle now; sits on the palate a while but is pleasant and not overpowering. Would have again. 

There's a Jura 10, Balvennie 12, Glenrothes 12 and bunnahabhain 12 left. I'll have another one tonight and will leave it there. Probably take the other 3 next week and maybe get another six miniatures to see how they go. Might be a bit more targeted based on what I liked

Of your into your rum try some rum finishes as a bridge into whisky. Balvennie Caribbean cask is excellent. You often get it in supermarkets. Tesco also do a Jura rum finish 

You have reminded me I'm to buy a bottle of plantation overproof  o.f.t.d.

Had it in the Rum Shack the other week and despite it being 70% abv it's absolutely delicious. One is enough though 

Edited by invergowrie arab

@Michael W another wee tip is if tasting a few try and leave smoky Islays to last so they dont overpower subsequent whiskies.

Also leave a wee mouthful in the glass as you move on and then go back and start again as air, warmth and the other whiskies opening your pallete up sometimes make the whiskies very different from when you first taste it. 

2 hours ago, invergowrie arab said:

The ones I had were wine finishes so the natural sweetness became over bearing. I still have 3 quarters  of the sauternes finish left. 

I'd be interested in a single cask just left in the bourbon cask

https://www.abbeywhisky.com/products/periodical-batch-2-14-year-old-croftengea-loch-lomond-north-star-spirits

This was the one I fancied, but I was too late to grab one.

The worst thing about that is the 5 star review because it was delivered on time. "Will open with family" report back after that, daft c**t.

Edited by GiGi

17 minutes ago, invergowrie arab said:

@Michael W another wee tip is if tasting a few try and leave smoky Islays to last so they dont overpower subsequent whiskies.

Also leave a wee mouthful in the glass as you move on and then go back and start again as air, warmth and the other whiskies opening your pallete up sometimes make the whiskies very different from when you first taste it. 

Cheers. I'll save the bunnahabhain to last from the ones I've got as recommended. 

Just been reading reviews on the Ardberg there and strangely enough a few people said to let it air for a few minutes as the smokiness is less intense. 

22 hours ago, invergowrie arab said:

Uncle hosted a whisky tasting on Friday, Lomond apparently the example used as a poor whisky.

Edited by RH33

22 hours ago, invergowrie arab said:

Have done that but I haven’t really had much Ben Nevis tbh will keep an eye out.

24 minutes ago, gannonball said:

Have done that but I haven’t really had much Ben Nevis tbh will keep an eye out.

Never tried Ben Nevis. Going to go through Fort William in May so might pop in the distillery shop and see what can tempt me to part with some cash.

23 hours ago, invergowrie arab said:

I've enjoyed the Loch Lomond bottles I got from SMWS. That 10 year old they are selling in the supermarkets just now which is always on sale from £35 to £25 is pretty nice as well, happy to buy it for £25. The 12 year old is meant to be nice. 

I am looking at an auction just now and wonder if anyone can answer this.

There is a bottle up for auction which you can buy online for £110.00, you have to look for it but they are available. The bids now on these bottles are £100.00. The bidder then has to pay the commission on top of this and cost of delivery. Why are people paying this sort of money? Is it folks from abroad? I was hoping to get a bargain but that is not happening now. Not on this bottle.

1 hour ago, HeartsOfficialMoaner said:

I've enjoyed the Loch Lomond bottles I got from SMWS. That 10 year old they are selling in the supermarkets just now which is always on sale from £35 to £25 is pretty nice as well, happy to buy it for £25. The 12 year old is meant to be nice. 

I am looking at an auction just now and wonder if anyone can answer this.

There is a bottle up for auction which you can buy online for £110.00, you have to look for it but they are available. The bids now on these bottles are £100.00. The bidder then has to pay the commission on top of this and cost of delivery. Why are people paying this sort of money? Is it folks from abroad? I was hoping to get a bargain but that is not happening now. Not on this bottle.

The auctions are specialists at international shipping. 

They can also hold into bottles long term for people perhaps overseas for extended periods. 

Edit - don't chase the obvious stuff or big brands on auction, you'll find this all mostly goes the same way. If you want to low ball bids I'd suggest you look at less well known distilleries or damaged boxes/labels which tend to go under the radar of collectors. 

Edited by V.Aye.R
Extra info