Big Rangers Administration/Liquidation Thread - All chat here!

I see what you meant by follow follow...

Lemmings_gif_small.gif

But but but... It will only be the company so no worries there

Where did those fans come from when you reached the Europa final.

This is why it is dangerous to have one or so few people calling the shots. No one really cared about the finances of their club as long as their was relative success to show for it. This is what made it so easy for Celtic fans to turn against their board in the 90's compared to your in the 00's. At least now we know why benefactor models don't work as they tend to treat it like their plaything and crush disent from fans. It also puts clubs in trouble when they experience financial problems, get bored, fed up or withdraw support. However, I think it will be much more difficult for clubs in future to get away with the carry on that happened from figures like Murray & Masterton

I can't commentate on old Rangers as they were never considered a protestent team during their inception, but Celtic certainly has a disproportiate following from catholics in Scotland. The thing is the rivalry and hatridge between/towards those teams have little to do with religion anymore. Since the majority of us no longer have one. Between the gruesome twosome its more to do with whether your Irish/Scottish or Scottish/Brittish. While "the rest" its more to do with the disproportiate and biased media coverage of the two, and the favourtism/protectionism shown towards them from people in powerful positions within the game and society. However, I have little doubt that supports from both teams will noticably decline in the next 10 years.

We've never reached the Europa final ,that was the 2008 UEFA final, if you want to converse get it right. As for where the fans came from in Manchester in 2008, far and wide, unlike the provincial clubs in Scotland who, despite living on these clubs doorstep simply refuse to turn out in any great numbers on a week to week basis to strenghten there clubs finance and support base. There is the difference.

As for where the fans came from in Manchester in 2008, far and wide, unlike the provincial clubs in Scotland who, despite living on these clubs doorstep simply refuse to turn out in any great numbers on a week to week basis to strenghten there clubs finance and support base. There is the difference.

Agreed. It's tragic how weak and childish people are, isn't it.

That's not the fault of those of us who aren't like that though, or of the clubs who struggle vainly to counter it.

OK So I have bowed to public pressure and got rid of my "Kincardine Loyal" avatar. I hope the BRALT hand-wringers are happier now.

Shoulda brought back Di, rather than the alcoholic depressive, IMO.....

Not nice to be showing Ally a glimpse of his future. :lol:

Agreed. It's tragic how weak and childish people are, isn't it.

That's not the fault of those of us who aren't like that though, or of the clubs who struggle vainly to counter it.

Absolutely spot on, MT.

In an another sphere, we'd love to see quality TV more of the time, but while millions of drones suck up shite like the X-factor, it ain't gonna happen.

We've never reached the Europa final ,that was the 2008 UEFA final, if you want to converse get it right. As for where the fans came from in Manchester in 2008, far and wide, unlike the provincial clubs in Scotland who, despite living on these clubs doorstep simply refuse to turn out in any great numbers on a week to week basis to strenghten there clubs finance and support base. There is the difference.

So much wrong with this I barely know where to start. Funny how when a diddy team reaches a cup final and instantly triples its regular attendance for one game, then they're all derided as gloryhunters who don't support their team through the season, but when Rangers reach the UEFA Cup final and take an eye-popping 250,000 down to Manchester, it's somehow not the same phenomenon.

If Rangers played Celtic in the Europa League final and it was held in a fictitious stadium in Scotland with a capacity of 500,000, then you can bet it would be full. Yet their home crowds are "only" 40,000 or so. It is exactly the same thing. Rangers fans aren't any different in this regard -- the numbers may be bigger, but the proportion of dedicated fan versus part-time fan are exactly the same.

And I have to say, a Rangers fan criticising attendances of other clubs is a bit rich, since every town in Scotland is plagued by OF fans. It's like the school bully stealing everyone's lunch money, then wondering why no one can afford to buy a decent lunch.

Furthermore, since the best any other club can hope for is finishing 3rd (or 2nd for now), it's not exactly getting the punters through the door. If your club ever endured a long spell of having no hope of ever winning a league title, you might understand this better.

Yes, it theoretically could, but it wouldn't.

Italy is a much bigger country than Scotland. I'm also guessing that you wouldn't find over thirty other clubs that play in the top few tiers of the national structure, within about sixty miles of Milan.

Your insistence on focusing on cities and their populations misses the point entirely. The problem here is that so many in Scotland look instinctively beyond clubs that play near their houses every fortnight, because (in part) of the religious associations.

Half right, maybe. People move about and settle elsewhere in this day and age and will take their support with them. Up here in Inverness the population has grown largely due to folks moving up from the central belt to find work and say if an individual and or family supports Celtic its highly likely the next generation brought up in the area with that family will also support Celtic due to family affinity or ancestry reasons, but you will get the occasional individual who will be drawn to the local team from such a family.

I think the argument now of comparing populations of towns and cities to the attendance at the local football ground is a bit of a fallacy, many folks these days are spread out all over this country. Plenty of ICT supporters for example that live in the central belt but can't regularly make the home games but will attend the away games. Of the Rangers and Celtic fans I know now through work or socially the majority are not interested in the politics/religion or unwilling to talk about the subjects as the football comes first.

I know the majority of football fans in the Highland capital are Rangers and Celtic, then Inverness CT, Ross County (quite a few originally from the Ross and Cromarty area live and work in Inverness), Aberdeen, Hearts and then there's one or two Dundee Utd, Dunfermline, St. Mirren, Partick Thistle and Hibs supporters here. Quite a variety and I would assume any percentage here would also be reflected elsewhere with different teams except for the big two who would be in the majority all the time. The populations of towns and cities here in Scotland have also been increased due to the influx of Poles, Latvians, Slovaks etc they can't be ignored and they if football supporters have to be taken into consideration now as some will despite supporting a team back home will satisfy their footy cravings by picking a Scottish team to follow and go and watch that team's games.

Half right, maybe. People move about and settle elsewhere in this day and age and will take their support with them. Up here in Inverness the population has grown largely due to folks moving up from the central belt to find work and say if an individual and or family supports Celtic its highly likely the next generation brought up in the area with that family will also support Celtic due to family affinity or ancestry reasons, but you will get the occasional individual who will be drawn to the local team from such a family.

I think the argument now of comparing populations of towns and cities to the attendance at the local football ground is a bit of a fallacy, many folks these days are spread out all over this country. Plenty of ICT supporters for example that live in the central belt but can't regularly make the home games but will attend the away games. Of the Rangers and Celtic fans I know now through work or socially the majority are not interested in the politics/religion or unwilling to talk about the subjects as the football comes first.

I know the majority of football fans in the Highland capital are Rangers and Celtic, then Inverness CT, Ross County (quite a few originally from the Ross and Cromarty area live and work in Inverness), Aberdeen, Hearts and then there's one or two Dundee Utd, Dunfermline, St. Mirren, Partick Thistle and Hibs supporters here. Quite a variety and I would assume any percentage here would also be reflected elsewhere with different teams except for the big two who would be in the majority all the time. The populations of towns and cities here in Scotland have also been increased due to the influx of Poles, Latvians, Slovaks etc they can't be ignored and they if football supporters have to be taken into consideration now as some will despite supporting a team back home will satisfy their footy cravings by picking a Scottish team to follow and go and watch that team's games.

Thanks for explaining that to me in such detail.

People move around, you say? I'd really no idea.

Edited by Monkey Tennis

Thanks for explaining that to me in such detail.

People move around, you say? I'd really no idea.

Sorry about that, got a bit carried away. :rolleyes:

Just a wee bit on the religious rivalry spilling over to other teams from Rangers and Celtic, but St. Roch's play Larkhall Thistle today, I believe there is history with those two and attracts football supporters that wouldn't normally go to watch either teams.

Always an entertaining read...Maybe if you diddies spent more time supporting your own clubs they would be able to mount a serious challenge.

Self confessed part timer Monkey Tennis and No timer WRK complaining about the Big Glasgow clubs stealing their support. You honestly couldn't make you two up

Edited by No8.

No8., on 06 Apr 2013 - 10:49, said:

Always an entertaining read...Maybe if you diddies spent more time supporting your own clubs they would be able to mount a serious challenge.

Self confessed part timer Monkey Tennis and No timer WRK complaining about the Big Glasgow clubs stealing their support. You honestly couldn't make you two up

The Rangers FC are the biggest 'diddies' in scottish football.

and they prove it with every development of the ongoing clusterfuck that has evolved ever since Moonbeams got EBT advice from the pornstar.

when do you think you will be able to mount a 'serious challenge'?

A challenge that isn't fuelled by dodgy financial jiggery-pokery and contempt for the accepted rules that everyone else plays to?

as you say - always and entertaining read.

Edited by Ken Fitlike

Go out for a few drinks, come back on the next day and laugh at all the things which have offended mad Norman.

Union flags, the word "loyal" and really anything to do with Rangers.

Go out for a few drinks, come back on the next day and laugh at all the things which have offended mad Norman.

Union flags, the word "loyal" and really anything to do with Rangers.

To be fair Bennett, those 3 annoy the shoite outa me too.....