Big Rangers Administration/Liquidation Thread - All chat here!

Team: Forfar Athletic - the currant's favourite "lie down and roll over" club of choice in countless cup contests.

Closet currant ahoy!

dry.gif

And there's what's wrong with Scottish football - what I hoped was a balanced post, and I'm a closet bun :( .

And as for Forfar lying down...

League Cup Semi Final 1977-78.................2-1 up with 7 minutes to go, and needed extra-time to be beaten

Scottish Cup Semi Final 1981-1982............they needed a dodgy decision and a replay to stop us knocking them out

Scottish Cup 1982-83..................................1-0 up at half-time at Ibrox before losing 2-1

Skol Cup 1986-87........................................they needed penalties to beat us

I appreciate that they have stuffed us a few times since, but not many "diddy" teams have been that close that often to beating them.

Does the shooter on that zombie pic up there have a celtic clover on his back? If so, why? Celtic can hardly claim this as their doing, considering the silence has been deafening from them for the past few months. Self aggrandizing twats.

Edited by Easy Target

Was going to start on the seating arrangements "you sit over there mate this table for SPL fans only " and work from there?

You might also want to:

- Hand him the kids menu, explaining that budgets are a lot tighter at the lower end of the food chain these days

- Demand the cash up front "just in case"

- Remark on the cutlery, mentioning perhaps the amount of silverware on the table in comparison to the amount of silverware won by Sevco.

- If the food isn't quite up to scratch, suggest he demands "Just who are these chefs?" and threaten to burn the restaurant down

- Trash a pub in another area of town (preferably one with a fucked telly), blaming "heavy-handed" bouncers

If all that seems like too much work, simply laugh at his club of choice dying and thank him for Dundee's place in the SPL.

Does the shooter on that zombie pic up there have a celtic clover on his back? If so, why? Celtic can hardly claim this as their doing, considering the silence has been deafening from them for the past few months. Self aggrandizing twats.

Edit: And the Celtic fans will no doubt be joining in with their own historical re-write about how their club was to the fore in ridding the league of the evil SevCo and the rest of us are punishing Celtic for doing the right thing (with optional "showing their true colours")

I've not seen/heard/read anything to sugges tCeltic fans will take credit for this. If anything, Celtic fans are applauding the other clubs and their fans for THEIR actions and are crying out for Celtic to follow suit. Well done though on your wee rant.

That will change as soon as the Celtic board finds things a bit tougher in the SPL. Bookmark it

*waves to Mik*

Edited by The Old Northerner

You might also want to:

- Hand him the kids menu, explaining that budgets are a lot tighter at the lower end of the food chain these days

- Demand the cash up front "just in case"

- Remark on the cutlery, mentioning perhaps the amount of silverware on the table in comparison to the amount of silverware won by Sevco.

- If the food isn't quite up to scratch, suggest he demands "Just who are these chefs?" and threaten to burn the restaurant down

- Trash a pub in another area of town (preferably one with a fucked telly), blaming "heavy-handed" bouncers

If all that seems like too much work, simply laugh at his club of choice dying and thank him for Dundee's place in the SPL.

Oh don't worry vengeance will be mine, choice use of business is business and for every £5 I spend your supposed to spend a £10 will be used when it comes to getting the rounds in.

And there's what's wrong with Scottish football - what I hoped was a balanced post, and I'm a closet bun :( .

And as for Forfar lying down...

League Cup Semi Final 1977-78.................2-1 up with 7 minutes to go, and needed extra-time to be beaten

Scottish Cup Semi Final 1981-1982............they needed a dodgy decision and a replay to stop us knocking them out

Scottish Cup 1982-83..................................1-0 up at half-time at Ibrox before losing 2-1

Skol Cup 1986-87........................................they needed penalties to beat us

I appreciate that they have stuffed us a few times since, but not many "diddy" teams have been that close that often to beating them.

Bollocks, Rangers are what's wrong with Scottish football, the sooner they are buried, the better.

If the Daily Record is correct that SPL are buying SFL rights in a £1.2M deal over 3 years, i.e. £400k for 15 games a year, then that is utterly ridiculous... £400k a year for 15 games is less than £27k per match. BBC Alba paid more than that direct to the clubs being shown when it put on SFL1 games a season or two ago?!?! It'd only be 1/8th of what TV pays per SPL game.

If it's £1.2M for 15 games a year (why just 15 btw?) that's better - still lower than I'd have thought, tbh, but there it is.

SPL certainly come out of it rosy either way... deal grows from £13M to £16M as planned, they lose only £400k or £1.2M buying rights off SFL, and they end-up with 50 games on TV instead of 60. So much for "unviability" and "slow lingering death" and a "£3M deal".

Edited by HibeeJibee

It's just an example of the bandwagon-jumping mentality. I doubt even the vast majority of them can seriously believe they've had any significant role to play in the c***s' demise

Taking all the emotion out of this it us utterly ludicrous for the sfa to licence newco with no guarantee that they can sustain themselves financially for the whole season. Backers still aren't public if they even exists and e haven't seen any evidence that they have any working capital at all let alone enough to cover the enormous losses they will inevitably incur or pay off the current football debts.

How bad a deal have the SFL signed?

SPL sign a shocking deal that works out at ~£1.22 per match day viewer.

SFL accept a deal that equates to Newco games attaining an average match day audience of ~ 22,000, 14% of the viewers they provided for non-OF SPL games.

~£0.17 per viewer if Newco attained the same audience figures.

Are we really saying that Newco will only attain ~75% of the match audience a meaningless Killie v Motherwell game managed?

We'd be better with Bert and Ernie doing our fcuking negotiating with Elmo drawing up the contracts.

Edited by ayrmad

Why would the SFA jeopardise their own standing in world football for something as trivial as the olympic games which is even more tainted than FiFA. The whole ethos of sport has been corrupted by commercialism . Football in the Olympics are a sideshow that has no more relevance than those of the tennis fraternity. Come on you only have to see the attitude of fellow football supporters around the country with the ticket uptake.

Great Ryan Giggs finally gets to play a big game but if he was in his twenties I bet he wouldn't have been anywhere near the competition. Perhaps he may get know for something other than a super injunction before retiring.

The apparent apathy to Olympic football, is only really apparent within these isles. The rest of the world take it very seriously indeed and to compare it to Tennis which was parachuted into the games very recently, is unfair, as Football has been an Olympic fixture for a very long time and pre-dates even the world cup as a worldwide football tournament.

The fact that we appear to have picked a team more to suit ticket sales (see your point re Giggs), is just another indication of how we treat what the rest of the world take very seriously.

I don't see how the SFA would be jeopardising their standing either, given that FIFA are on record as saying the independence of the 4 home nations is unaffected by any Olympic team. I believe one of the top womens players in Britain is Scottish and I wonder how she feels being denied the opportunity of a lifetime to represent her country at the highest level? I also think its ironic to talk about the SFA's 'standing in world football' given recent events!!

I suppose it does allow the Scots to have their usual tournament experience of supporting whoever play us, as opposed to actually taking part.

Taking all the emotion out of this it us utterly ludicrous for the sfa to licence newco with no guarantee that they can sustain themselves financially for the whole season. Backers still aren't public if they even exists and e haven't seen any evidence that they have any working capital at all let alone enough to cover the enormous losses they will inevitably incur or pay off the current football debts.

In fairness, such matters of sustainability are predominantly for their league.

Only SFA competition they'll be entering is the Scottish Cup.

I believe one of the top womens players in Britain is Scottish and I wonder how she feels being denied the opportunity of a lifetime to represent her country at the highest level? I also think its ironic to talk about the SFA's 'standing in world football' given recent events!!

I suppose it does allow the Scots to have their usual tournament experience of supporting whoever play us, as opposed to actually taking part.

See, I think you just answered your own question.

The apparent apathy to Olympic football, is only really apparent within these isles. The rest of the world take it very seriously indeed and to compare it to Tennis which was parachuted into the games very recently, is unfair, as Football has been an Olympic fixture for a very long time and pre-dates even the world cup as a worldwide football tournament.

The fact that we appear to have picked a team more to suit ticket sales (see your point re Giggs), is just another indication of how we treat what the rest of the world take very seriously.

I don't see how the SFA would be jeopardising their standing either, given that FIFA are on record as saying the independence of the 4 home nations is unaffected by any Olympic team. I believe one of the top womens players in Britain is Scottish and I wonder how she feels being denied the opportunity of a lifetime to represent her country at the highest level? I also think its ironic to talk about the SFA's 'standing in world football' given recent events!!

The argument that usually gets given - that football already has the world cup - may hold more water were it not for the fact that every sport at the olympics has its own major championships or finals as it is. In terms of picking sporting champions the whole Olympics is basically redundant.

(Though your rant may have held more water if you had noticed that two Scottish women were playing for Team GB's football team this week.)

As for people slagging the authorities for caving in/negotiating a pish tv deal, perhaps we should wait for what actually gets revealed later today before working on sheer speculation? (Still, that would be rather unusual for this thread, I understand).

Oooh, touchy, touchy! Disappointed after the draw?

Not disappointed as much as you appear to be delighted with it, which is just a tad sad don't you think?

Anyway, this thread is not the place, so we will leave it there and agree to differ eh?

Two Scottish women are in the Olympic Team for 2012. The rest are all English, no Welsh or NI players in the womens team.