Big Rangers Administration/Liquidation Thread - All chat here!

Without beoing pedantic I'd say these were Rangers punishments:

a) a 10 point deduction;

b) banned from Europe for three years;

c) fined £160,000;

d) a transfer embargo; and

e) refused membership of the SPL.

a) and b) were in the rule book;

c) I think is being paid in installments;

d) was illegally applied by the governing bodies; and

e) has been applied.

Pollock eh more like bollock.

Wrong in so many things one of which is rangers were not refused membership of spl. They died on the operating table. Sorry for your loss. I can recommend a good bereavement counsellor if you wish.

Without beoing pedantic I'd say these were Rangers punishments:

a) a 10 point deduction;

Ineffectual, as you were never catching Celtic, and never finishing behind Motherwell anyway. However this still remains the only actual punishment you've received for going into administation.

b) banned from Europe for three years;

Wrong. You don't meet UEFA's entry requirements. It's not a punishment.

c) fined £160,000;

An irrelevance as it disappeared into the OldCo's debt black hole.

d) a transfer embargo; and

Overturned as you pointed out, and also applied to the OldCo, so not relevant.

e) refused membership of the SPL.

Sevco5088 are a new club, applied to get straight into the SPL, and quite rightly were denied this. Definitely not a punishment.

So, in effect the only apparent and applicable punishment was a 10 point deduction, which i believe was the standard points penalty applied by the SPL, presumably voted on, and agreed by Rangers at the time of it's adoption to the constitution.

Being rejected on Friday by the SFL won't be a punishment either. It will simply be a decision based on Sevco5088 not meeting the necessary criteria to satisfy the League. Remember, at the moment you've shifted less than a few hundred season tickets, have about 5 first team players and no evidence of working capital to keep the club going. Were it not for the SFA trying to drive a fucking bus through the application procedure for your new club, i'd have to doubt whether or not you even meet the criteria for SFL at any level, given that you'll struggle to survive in Division Three.

The bottom line in all of this, is that if OldCo or NewCo Rangers had shown even the slightest bit of humility in this process, instead of throwing tantrums, and blaming/threatening everyone else, you'd probably have probably been in the SPL next season.

I suggest you stop reading that Rangers propaganda in the Daily Record and read this instead. wink.gif

What If There’s No Santa?

“If Santa knows that you’re being bad, you’ll not get any presents on Christmas Day.”

Were any of us not subjected to that threat at some point in our childhood?

What a brilliant way to keep someone in line! Invent a myth, keep repeating it until you convince your weans that it’s true and then use it to manipulate them according to your wishes. As a child, I sometimes wondered about the logistics of this remarkable operation. We all did. The whole world? In one night? Presents for every single well-behaved child? All carried on one sleigh? Seriously?

It seemed that something didn’t quite add up here but wherever I looked, everyone confirmed the reality of Santa. Parents, relatives, neighbours, teachers, random strangers all had their stories straight. Television programmes and adverts, grottos in department stores, pictures on billboards, songs on the radio, each provided further evidence that nobody except me had even noticed any of the inherent inconsistencies about this extraordinary person and his work.

Why don’t all the starving children in Africa ask for enough food to keep them alive? If his elves are making all these toys themselves, how come they look exactly the same as the ones in the shops? What’s the point of the shops trying to sell Air-fix Lancaster bomber model kits or Subbuteo sets if everyone can get one for nothing? It didn’t make sense.

On the other hand, I had a suspicion that it might be unwise to express too much scepticism. It might even cost me a train set.

By all accounts, only people who actually believed in Santa got presents from him. It finally came to the point when I not only knew beyond reasonable doubt that Santa must be a myth; I also realised that I had been surrounded by liars for years. But no sooner had I become cognisant of the Great Deception than the liars invited me to join their conspiracy. There were younger siblings and cousins who had to remain deceived and it wouldn’t do for me to blow the whistle. I calculated that by publicly maintaining the pretence that I believed in Santa, I might be able to raise the stakes for next Christmas. It was to be a red bicycle or else.

(At this point I must apologise to any readers who hadn’t yet heard the bad news that there is no Santa. If it’s any consolation, Graham Speirs knew this three weeks ago before anyone else although he didn’t bother to write about it. In any case, in a few months time the Daily Record will claim that it was the first to break the story.)

As with the Santa myth, so with the Rangers myths. One of the recurring myths is that Rangers are a financial powerhouse, an economic engine which supplies Scottish football with huge revenues upon which almost every club is almost totally reliant. According to myth, even Celtic need Rangers.

Celtic have long since grown up and don’t believe in Rangers so they have dismissed that myth. Many other clubs, however, are holding out for a red bicycle. Some will settle for a train set. So long as they are compliant and believe in Rangers, they’ll get something for nothing in defiance of all logic.

Over the course of the last decade, the mighty Rangers economic powerhouse ran itself into the ground. If the tax authorities know anything about taxes – and it seems to me to be a reasonable starting assumption that they know quite a lot – we can go on to assume that when Rangers crashed into oblivion, the hole they were in was about £140 million deep. In truth it is even deeper.

On top of the money owed to hundreds of creditors there are previous matters to consider. In 2004, the mythical billionaire Minty Moonbeams reportedly squirted a £51.4 million pound “injection” into Rangers simmering accounts after a rights issue was formulated to reduce the club’s then £73.9 million debt. In truth, the attempt to raise capital was a catastrophic failure and Murray MHL Limited, which had underwritten the share issue, was obliged to take the hit. In effect, all that happened was that some paperwork was signed so that a £50 million debt to HBOS was shifted sideways from one basket case Murray business in Ibrox to another, even worse one in Edinburgh.

The debt was never paid back before HBOS croaked. It was subsequently picked up by the tax-payer as part of Gordon Brown’s £37 billion rescue package to maintain the lifestyles of corrupt, fraudulent banksters and their cronies. We’re now getting close to £200 million of Rangers damage to other parties. But say nothing. There might be a red bicycle in it for you.

Meanwhile, despite running up the longest series of consecutive 0-3 defeats in the history of football, Rangers were awarded the championship titles on five occasions during this period, thus enabling the SPL to divert millions of pounds of prize money away from the rightful league winners and into the colossal overdraft of the mythical economic powerhouse. The SFA, hoping for a red bicycle, duly notified UEFA that Rangers would represent Scotland in the Champions league in the following season. Tens of millions of pounds worth of prize money would never reach the club which had really earned that place by playing the game according to the rules.

Five seasons of SPL and Champions League prize money take the damage up to the quarter of a billion pound mark. Yet the economic powerhouse still went bust.

There have been other substantial cash investments from dubious sources. Dave King still faces hundreds of charges of fraud, tax evasion and money-laundering in South Africa on an industrial scale. At the last count, I made it 322 charges in all. The money laundering activities relate to drugs-running operations, illegal arms deals, child pornography and a host of other unwholesome activities. Fortunately for Rangers, £25 million of the proceeds of those disgusting enterprises found its way into Dick Advocat’s warchest. Red bicycles for everyone who sees no connection.

In 1992, Joe Lewis made his fortune by launching an all out attack on the UK’s currency reserves which cost the nation a minimum of £3.4 billion pounds on Black Wednesday. To balance up the damage done to the economy, Lewis dribbled £40 million into Ibrox economic powerhouse. Red bicycles for everyone who believes forty million pounds minus three point four billion pounds equals a positive balance. No need to show your working; just believe.

And on and on and on.

Just over a year ago, Chief Constable of Strathclyde Police Stephen House was so convinced by the magnitude of Rangers’ contribution to society that he dominated the news headlines for days with his calls for ‘Old Firm’ games to be played behind closed doors or even banned altogether. Police Federation Spokesman, Les Gray, repeatedly rammed home a similar message that the country could no longer afford to bear the financial cost to the police, A&E, ambulance services and so on.

Ignore all that and collect your red bicycle on Christmas Day.

A slight digression:

There are different methods which can be employed to control a system. Those who want to direct the behaviour of others have a number of options which range from reasoned, enlightened consensus to brutal, violent oppression. In practice, most systems are operated along the lines of one of the other options in between these extremes. The best and most efficient way for human beings to prosper together is within a co-operative, consensual group which is founded on mutual trust and respect. This has been demonstrated and proved in countless studies yet the notion is regularly undermined and dismissed.

It’s important to recognise that this co-operative model struggles to gain acceptance purely because we live in a society that is dominated by a Psychopathic Control Grid (PCG). The PCG embraces government, banking and financial systems, the military, corporate industry, the media, the advertising industry and the education system. It is utterly dependent upon its ability to control, manipulate and exploit the rest of us. To this end, it creates myths which require us to suspend our critical faculties in order to accept them.

It is clearly not in the self-interest of the type of parasites who hold positions of power within the Psychopathic Control Grid to encourage us to believe that we don’t need them. They prefer to promulgate myths such as the Survival Of The Fittest, create unnecessary confrontations and frighten us with imaginary threats from which they will “protect” us by restricting our options. The fact still remains that we are all better off when we are co-operating with each other instead of allowing ourselves to be exploited by abusers. But a smokescreen of misinformation and distortion of the true picture creates uncertainty and confusion. The Roman occupation can continue indefinitely for as long as the People’s Front of Judea argue with the Judean People’s Front, the Judean Popular People’s Front, the Campaign for a Free Galilee, and the Popular Front of Judea.

A fundamental, practical weakness of a tyrannical approach, backed by brute force, is that it is hopelessly inefficient. The overwhelming majority of those involved in such a system understand that they are being mercilessly exploited but even those who expect to emerge as winners ultimately find that their own position is insecure and constantly under threat. They are constantly running up the down escalator just to maintain position and know that will be swept back to the bottom if they ever ease up. Nevertheless, this inhuman Babylonian model is still the one which comes most naturally to a psychopath. It’s in widespread use, whether in the context of an abusive family unit, a Mafia-style organisation or an entire Police State.

In the most successful and more sophisticated variations of the model, people’s sense of their own worth is chronically undermined by a relentless tide of psychological assaults designed to rob them of confidence, security and perception. This approach reduces the need for the controllers to resort to outright physical oppression. Words themselves lose their meaning; a peace-keeping force consists almost entirely of trained warriors who are armed to the teeth; austerity measures require tens of millions of pounds to be paid to the people who collapsed the economy; rebels and insurgents are people who are trying to kick occupying forces from distant continents out of their homelands; and sporting integrity is a system whereby the biggest cheats in the history of British football are effectively given a guarantee that they will win their next league campaign, even if the rule book has to be scrapped to make it happen. There is such an overwhelming, never-ending bombardment of lies, deceits and affronts to decency that it becomes harder and harder for anyone to stand up confidently, point to the truth and say, “There it is!”

Regardless of all that, here is the truth.

The SFL and SFA, amongst others, have dedicated themselves to the perpetuation of the Rangers Myth.

They worship at the shrine of a fake god which they have created themselves. They warn of dire consequences if puny mortals fail to venerate this mighty deity. They sacrifice honour, justice and honesty at the altar of their idol. They glorify their god through acts of bare-faced hypocrisy, blatant match-fixing and stinking corruption.

For red bicycles and Santa, read SPL money and television.

For Rudolf defying the laws of aerodynamics, read Rangers defying the fundamentals of economics.

Just as Santa could only complete his night’s work by travelling faster than the speed of light, contrary to every principle of physics, so Zombie **** can only compete in Scottish football if every inconvenient rule is deliberately broken and every sporting principle is ignored.

To those who staunchly, defiantly believe in Rangers, despite all the evidence, this is as straightforward as believing in Santa Claus.

They just have to ignore the overwhelming proofs that what they want to believe cannot possibly be true. They’ll see one club recklessly spending everyone else’s money and they’ll call it generating revenue. They’ll see tax evasion, fraud and cheating but they’ll call it financial might, vision and dignity. They must wilfully ignore that even when the now-defunct club was at its most successful it still sucked far more money out of society than it put in.

They are determined to perpetuate the myth of Rangers for the sake of a red bicycle.

But the facts are laid bare for all to see. Zombie ****, and Rangers before them, are no more a linchpin of a successful, solvent, sustainable Scottish football set-up than a letter to Santa is a solution to the banking crisis.

http://henryclarson.wordpress.com/

So, all these brazillions of pounds that RFC put into Scottish football over the years are the real cause of their demise. They've been so generous to the rest of Scottish football, that they've ignored their own financial well-being and put themselves into debt, admin and finally liquidation just to benefit the diddys. If that's so, and the New Rangers have a different business plan to run on a sustainable basis, we're going to be even worse off, cos they'll be keeping all the money to themselves, rather than being the munificent benefactor that Old Rangers were before their death. We didnae even get anything oot the will, other than threats and the promise of financial armageddon.

The bottom line in all of this, is that if OldCo or NewCo Rangers had shown even the slightest bit of humility in this process, instead of throwing tantrums, and blaming/threatening everyone else, you'd probably have probably been in the SPL next season.

All the points you make about "punishments" are good ones, but this last part is a revisionist view of how many observers looked on (and you only need to examine the early pages of this thread to see it). Any attempt to shoehorn the newco into the SPL, even if McCoist came out and said, "sorry guys, our bad", would have been resisted by fans.

There's no way at all the newco would or should have been admitted to the SPL, even with a massive dose of humility - and this is fair, just, and entirely correct.

Edited by Huistrinho

They still think that this is some vast conspiracy to kill their club, they still think that some billionaire will buy them out and save ra Gers.

To this date supporters of the former Rangers football club have had; a march on Hampden, and a shambolic sermon on the mount outside Ibrox from what appears to be yet another snake-oil salesman. What little money they have scraped together to save their club they want to spend on fighting legal cases and building a website to expose 'mhedia lies'.

I think they might all be insane in their membranes.

There's no way at all the newco would or should have been admitted to the SPL, even with a massive dose of humility - and this is fair, just, and entirely correct.

Yep lets not sugarcoat things here, it's clear that pretty much everyone seems to hate Rangers and is very much enjoying their death. I seriously doubt that a showing of humility ( how would that even work anyway, Ally McCoist crawling on hand and knee down Argyle Street while we all threw rotten tomatoes at him maybe?) would have made any difference.

Edited by Broccoli Dog

New RTC blog today:

http://rangerstaxcase.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/the-last-drink-in-the-last-chance-saloon/

It is roughly seventeen months since this project started. Despite all of the revelations from this blog, and from other ‘new media’ outlets, little has changed in the world of Scottish football. This might seem a strange claim given that the largest football club in the country has become insolvent and now sits on corporate death-row awaiting its execution. However, the major institutions that feed on the blood of Scottish football fans: the SFA; the SPL; and the newspapers- appear to have learned little from events in this time.

They still believe that the people who pay their wages are imbeciles. They still dish out fatuous lies and peddle disinformation as if Sir David Murray was still in his heyday. The hysterical exaggerations and tales of impending financial doom should be transparent to the businessmen who fill most of the Chairman roles at Scottish football clubs. Anyone with even a few minutes of business experience will see through the lies of the Scottish football establishment. These scare stories are not the issue. It is the dangling of long requested changes in the structure of the Scottish game that will present clubs from both the Scottish Premier League and the Scottish Football League with a dilemma.

From their public statements, it is clear that the driving forces behind this attempt at league-rigging are SFA Chief Executive Stewart Regan and SPL Chief Executive Neil Doncaster. Despite being paid to promote the Scottish game, they have spent recent weeks trying to convince advertisers and TV companies that their product is worthless without someone representing Rangers’ legacy playing in the SFL1 next season. It is as if Sevco Ltd was a panacea and that this new club will be guaranteed promotion to the SPL within a single season.

Let us be in no doubt. Scottish football faces a period of turmoil and some financial belt-tightening regardless of what happens in any of the upcoming votes. (If Servco Ltd are forced to start in SFL3, the nattering nabobs of the mainstream Scottish sports press will doubtless blame every player transfer and setback on ‘internet bampots’ and shortsighted fans of so-called ‘diddy teams’). The Scottish game became unsustainable and unhealthily unbalanced towards just two clubs. In an era when it is easy to watch the best football from every country all week long, we need to extract the cancers that have been devouring our game for over twenty years rather than battling to preserve them. Among the assorted symptoms of the illness facing our game are:

• Scottish football has failed to develop a single stand-out talent since the early 1980s
  • Scottish football has been spending more than it takes in for far too long
  • Scottish football has fallen far behind global standards in the quality of entertainment it offers

Scottish football had become dull and uninteresting for all but the fans of the two clubs that could entertain thoughts of ever winning the league.

There is a now a golden opportunity for creative minds to remake the game. Instead, we have intellectual pygmies telling us that everything in Scottish football is fantastic and must be saved at all costs. What is worth saving? Declining attendances? A terrible set of TV contracts that do not realise the full value of the Scottish game? A national team that cannot qualify for any international competitions? We have a game that is viewed with universal contempt for both its lack of technical quality and the lopsidedness of its top division. This is where our game finds itself almost three decades after the “Souness Revolution” started at Rangers. The false economies started by David Holmes, and placed on steroids by David Murray, eventually devastated all around it. Rangers embodied the ideas that financial might made right and reckless spending was the key to success. Their demise should be a cautionary tale to others to get their house in order. Instead, the Scottish football establishment wants to send the signal that if you are going to fail, make sure you do it on a spectacular scale: we will make everyone else carry you if it goes wrong.

Mr. Doncaster trained as a lawyer and has an MBA. If Scottish football was a case study at a business school, anyone submitting a paper that recommended crushing the last remnants of fairness in the game to prop up a failed old-order would not get a passing mark. Doncaster in particular is failing. (Funny that Messers Doncaster & Regan find it so easy to predict the effects of Sevco Ltd playing in SFL3, but could not use these same skills to anticipate Rangers’ implosion. Even when the aforementioned ‘internet bampots’ had warned years earlier of an crisis brewing at Ibrox, the men with the crystal ball today were unable to see something that was so obvious). When the dust settles on this disaster one way or another, one can only hope that Doncaster and Regan have absented themselves. It is clear that they lack the imaginations required to improve our game. Our hopes for restoring the thrill of Scottish football now rests on the men who run the clubs in the SPL and the SFL. We must hope that they have the backbone to stand-up to being bullied and the foresight to realise that all that is being dangled by Regan & Doncaster can be obtained anyway- without sacrificing the game and without the hired hands for whom this all appears to be just a job.

If fairness fails and Sevco Ltd is able to field a team in the SFL1 next season, it is for each fan to make an individual decision on whether it is worth returning to watch a game played with loaded dice. For those who do decide to go back (I am still undecided), something will still be missing in the game. An unfillable void will have opened. The men who will vote on this decision have to realise that they are not just voting on short-term revenues. They are going to irreparably alter the Scottish game whatever happens. Money will ebb and flow in football in proportion to the excitement and quality of the competition. If fans believe that there is no competition because a winner is preordained, money will leave and it will stay gone.

LOLOLOL - I was having a laugh with my old boy last night about who they could possibly wheel-out next to tell us we HAD to put Cevco in the 1st..............they sure blindsided our ideas with Theo Paphitis :lol:

I can see for tomorrow's Sun we're gonna have to think really out-the-box.............."Keith Harris & Orville insist any diddy plan plan to put the mighty Gers in the Third Division would mean the end of Western Civilisation"

Is that German Octapus still alive, it was good for a prediction. :)

This bit caught my eye:

"I congratulate supporters for putting integrity and good governance of the game to the top of the agenda. The fans have done a good job, but it's now time for them to join us in 
addressing the other issues in Scottish football."

Delivered like a true politician. Oh... wait....

Groucho Marx saw this lot coming...

"the art of looking for trouble, finding it everywhere, diagnosing it incorrectly and applying the wrong remedies."

Yep lets not sugarcoat things here, it's clear that pretty much everyone seems to hate Rangers and is very much enjoying their death. I seriously doubt that a showing of humility ( how would that even work anyway, Ally McCoist crawling on hand and knee down Argyle Street while we all threw rotten tomatoes at him maybe?) would have made any difference.

And, if anyone seriously takes the view that showing some humility would have made a difference, I doubt that sporting integrity is their prime motive.

I love how throughout this whole episode all and sundry have fallen over themselves to tell us that we all need Rangers/Servco.............

Ask yourself what the common denominator is ? Yes....that's right ! they all earn a living off Scottish football and their job would be so much harder if they actually had to research who St Mirren's No 4 was or exactly what the score was the last time Motherwell faced Hibs at Easter Road !

Hopefully two things will come out of this

1. Servco FC in Division 3 at best.

2. There is a Stalin style purge throughout our sports media.

And, if anyone seriously takes the view that showing some humility would have made a difference, I doubt that sporting integrity is their prime motive.

Showing humility shouldn't make a difference, as the road should have been made clear from day 1 which steps Green would have to take to field a team next season. The current clusterfuck is all the doing of the governing bodies. Of course Green is going to try to get in at the highest possible level, he only cares about the £££.

Yes, and I'm very pleased with that. It was however, nothing to do with Sevco's decision, but the SPL and their choice of TV money. I'm just glad we're getting a little justice out of our deal, and the same with Dundee United. It's teams like Rapid Vienna that were £1 million that I feel sorry for.

I love how throughout this whole episode all and sundry have fallen over themselves to tell us that we all need Rangers/Servco.............

Ask yourself what the common denominator is ? Yes....that's right ! they all earn a living off Scottish football and their job would be so much harder if they actually had to research who St Mirren's No 4 was or exactly what the score was the last time Motherwell faced Hibs at Easter Road !

Hopefully two things will come out of this

1. Servco FC in Division 3 at best.

2. There is a Stalin style purge throughout our sports media.

You can split the camps into two:

1. People who put money into Scottish football - the club chairmen/owners and us, the fans. I do not include the commercail sponsors because they are only funding something that they are getting a return from, their is nothing altruistic in their actions and they have no loyalty.

2. People who take money out of Scottish football - the 'pundits', players, managers, administrators, newpaper publishers and 'journalists' - self interest is their motivating factor.

Whilst I recognise the club chairmen and owners are under a great deal of pressure I am convinced, if left to their own devices, they would do the right thing. I believe they understand the sporting integrity issue and agree with it. The view of the overwhelming majority of the fans is well known.

So the people who take money out of the game are trying to dictate to the people who put money into the game, then criticise and belittle them when they won't dance to their tune.

Believe it or not but I've wanted the right thing done throughout for the sake of sporting integrity.

The thing that sticks in my craw is that we wouldn't even be having this conversation if the Club in question wasn't Rangers (or Celtic for that matter).