Big Rangers Administration/Liquidation Thread - All chat here!

But CraigKillies question was specifically about the relegated side. You're widening the argument out quite a bit - not that I disagree with your points. I would imagine the EU would have something to say about it RE employment law too.

Yeah - but I took his point to be that it works in an isolated league because it is isolated, and a collective enterprise that need not consider how such a draft will affect those outwith competing to be part of said enterprise. I think saying to a relegated club, or just a club in a tier below, "you have not earned the right to have access to one of these selected young players" is just at odds with how football works (or admittedly, how it doesn't work sometimes!).

I would definitely see that this would be true of sharing TV money too, of course :)

The downside of Rangers going out of existence is that from now until eternity, Celtic fans will assume that all diddy club fans used to be Rangers fans and only started supporting Motherwell/Hearts/St Mirren/whoever in summer 2012.

Agree - let's keep talk of the NFL and a player draft out of it. There's no room for a level playing field, an equal share of revenues, and a truly competitive sporting league in Scottish top flight football.

Enough of this fantasy.

Oh, and Go Broncos. 8)

Have I wandered into the wrong thread? I wanted to point and laugh, not read pointless shite about a "draft".

When you consider that ON topic posts during this saga cover Mr and Mrs Custard The Clowns and the EBT advisor who's a porn star on the side, this is pretty much an "anything goes" discussion :D

This is getting sillier and sillier - latest nonesense article by the Daily Record:

Rangers in crisis: Ibrox administrators confident deal can be done by end of season

RANGERS' administrators maintain a deal to safeguard the future of the beleaguered club can be concluded by the end of the season.

Duff and Phelps are evaluating three offers for the Glasgow giants after American tycoon Bill Miller dramatically withdrew his offer on Tuesday.

Co-administrator David Whitehouse today claimed owner Craig Whyte has reached an agreement to transfer his shares to a UK-based consortium, a requirement for a Company Voluntary Arrangement.

Two of the three bidders are new to the process, according to Whitehouse.

He told the BBC: "It's certainly possible to get a deal done. I think whether we can say that is likely, we will be in a better position to say that tomorrow lunchtime.

"The structures of deals that are being discussed vary but all are working to a timetable that they have to be completed by the end of the season."

Edited by Claymores

Rangers and Gretna; compare and contrast: (from wiki)

The club went into administration on 12 March 2008 after Mileson's withdrawal of support. Under SPL regulations, this resulted in an automatic ten point deduction, meaning they had a total of only six points from 28 games on the date of entering administration.[20] The SPL agreed to pay the players' salaries until the end of the 2007–08 season, ensuring that the club were able to complete its fixtures in the SPL.[21]

Administration led to cost-cutting and redundancies; club captain Chris Innes was made redundant on 25 March 2008, with the club explaining that he had "attracted interest from other clubs".[22] The following day, 22 players, including eight members of the senior squad, along with coaching staff and the former owner's son were also made redundant.[23] Gretna were formally relegated from the SPL on 29 March 2008.

In the spring of 2008 it was revealed by the administrator, Wilson Field of Sheffield, that Gretna had creditors of nearly £4m and assets (Raydale Park) of less than £1m. HM Revenue and Customs was owed nearly £600,000 in total, and it was their threat to wind up the company that precipitated Gretna's move into administration. On 8 May, the administrator set a deadline of 17 May for a buyer to be found, or the club would be liquidated.[25][26]

After that deadline passed without a buyer making a firm offer, all the remaining employees were made redundant, but it was reported that the club were still negotiating with an interested buyer.[27] On 29 May, Gretna were relegated to the Third Division due to their financial struggles, with the Scottish Football League threatening expulsion should a takeover not be completed within a week. After a takeover bid fell through on 1 June,[28] the administrators confirmed the following day that they would look to sell Raydale Park to someone who will use the site for something other than football.[3]

Gretna resigned from the Scottish Football League on 3 June.[29] Near neighbours Annan Athletic won the vote to replace Gretna in the Scottish league.[30] With no ground, staff, players or a competition to play in, the club's dissolution was inevitable and the club was formally liquidated by the administrators on 8 August.

More D&P Pish

Christ, we're back to the old 'deliverable' proposals line.

Do these guys genuinely believe that we are taken in by a single word they utter. You have to credit them with having some front, right enough. They've singularly failed to progress matters more than the length of a uncurled bawhair, yet they continue to pontificate as if they possess mystical skills in alchemy. Surely HMRC will have decided that enough is enough, and will be steaming in to court to have these halfwits launched into touch?

Yeah - but I took his point to be that it works in an isolated league because it is isolated, and a collective enterprise that need not consider how such a draft will affect those outwith competing to be part of said enterprise. I think saying to a relegated club, or just a club in a tier below, "you have not earned the right to have access to one of these selected young players" is just at odds with how football works (or admittedly, how it doesn't work sometimes!).

I would definitely see that this would be true of sharing TV money too, of course :)

I think you've answered your own question, havent you? Whats the difference between access to draftees and the tv revenue, or the SPL prize money? European qualification, even? Conversely, the whats the difference between the SPL entrance criteria, like 6000 seater stadia and "pitch protection"? All of these make the SPL an "isolated league.

This is getting sillier and sillier - latest nonesense article by the Daily Record:

Rangers in crisis: Ibrox administrators confident deal can be done by end of season

RANGERS' administrators maintain a deal to safeguard the future of the beleaguered club can be concluded by the end of the season.

Duff and Phelps are evaluating three offers for the Glasgow giants after American tycoon Bill Miller dramatically withdrew his offer on Tuesday.

Co-administrator David Whitehouse today claimed owner Craig Whyte has reached an agreement to transfer his shares to a UK-based consortium, a requirement for a Company Voluntary Arrangement.

Two of the three bidders are new to the process, according to Whitehouse.

He told the BBC: "It's certainly possible to get a deal done. I think whether we can say that is likely, we will be in a better position to say that tomorrow lunchtime.

"The structures of deals that are being discussed vary but all are working to a timetable that they have to be completed by the end of the season."

that arsehole neil patey was in it aswell, his latest gem is that the BKs could buy it for £1 and then go down the newco route. do they really just print any old shite to give the orcs false hope or is it really to give the rest of us a laugh.

Alex Thomsons blog today.

Wednesday 9 May 2012

11:27 am

Alex Thomson

274Rate this

Being in Brussels doing something completely different and thus probing Rangers part-time is less than ideal but I can now reveal something of what’s been going on and where we are now headed.

Broadly, the Scottish Sun story is correct this morning so cap duly doffed etc – but there’s a lot more to it of course. I can reveal that the group of England-based businessmen with UK big-football club experience has, in fact, been in talks with Rangers Administrators Duff and Phelps for around a week.

That is, all the time that D&P were staging “bogus” press statements at Ibrox and giving pitch-side interviews, they were also talking to this group at least, and possibly at least one more outside-bidder from beyond the UK.

As Channel 4 News indicated last week, much of the whole Miller-meltdown appears now to have been little more than a very public “smoking-out” exercise to see if the Tennessee Trucker really was serious or liked what he saw at Ibrox when he looked at the books or heard the Bears growl “Yanks Out” and other welcoming noises.

Craig Whyte is certainly serious about the Sassenach Saviours and is talking with them today and tomorrow. My information is that, unlike the Miller’s Tale (with apologies to Geoffrey Chaucer), we are now talking something more real with individuals whom it would not be helpful to name at this point.

As one at the heart of it all said:

“Alex – you can certainly say the next 24 to 48 hours are vital for Rangers Football Club.”

And this time around I’d be strongly inclined to say this is more credible stuff after last weeks Caledonian-American ceilidh-of-the-absurd.

So where’s Craigy? The majority shareholder of Rangers, Craig Whyte is talking, talking seriously I believe. And he is shifting. Not long ago he was asking whistfully for £30 million from a club you’d do well to extract 30p from, just now.

I’d say that position’s changed or changing as we speak. He will, I know, be extremely angry at all the time this has taken and the turbulent courtship of Mr Miller will have improved nobody’s mood around these talks.

In sum: expect an English-led deal from people with genuine football experience, minded to avoid liquidation via a CVA (which will be treated like a Newco, UEFA tell me with a 3 year ban), and expect Craig Whyte to agree a final exit strategy.

I’m saying expect something like this to be put on the table, that is not the same as expect this to happen.

But…but…this is Rangers Football Club. I’ve done what I can to map it til, say, Friday but…check against delivery.

East Fife supporter my arse!!...Joined in April and made 123 posts and all on this thread.

So what - East Fife's season is over - they finished safely mid-table as per usual............however, my utter contempt for the cesspit of hate and bigotry that is Ranjurs knows no bounds.

Edited by Claymores