A great feeling at Cappielow..

Im a Rae supporter, but there wouldn't need to be a queue of people, just one person willing to do it, and you have absolutely no idea if that person is out there or not.

Yes, and neither does IainMorton or anyone else shouting for Rae to GTF, and so it's just an utterly ridiculous suggestion.

I'm not a Rae supporter as such but he's far from being the cause of the teams continuous failures.

Morton are a First Division team. Simple as. Realistic expectations from fans would be a good start.

Oh I know that. Is it too much to want to see my team doing better than finishing in the bottom half of the 1st Division every season?

Edited by IainMorton

Well done Raith Rovers for bringing smiles to my face throughout the course of the afternoon.

Hope you win the league next season.

Lots of love x

Did you not smile when we brought rays of Greenock sunshine to Dens Matty?.....(oh aye ...sorry...I forgot).

Oh I know that. Is it too much to want to see my team doing better than finishing in the bottom half of the 1st Division every season?

ahem....might be an idea if we confined intimate club talk to the .org forum Iain...no offence.

Yes, and neither does IainMorton or anyone else shouting for Rae to GTF, and so it's just an utterly ridiculous suggestion.

I'm not a Rae supporter as such but he's far from being the cause of the teams continuous failures.

Morton were getting 3 - 5000 crowds not so long ago and against some pish that didnt bring a support, tho would Rae back a serious ground face lift..... Then do Morton fans want a serious ground face lift.....???

As for wanting Rae out, I dont recall previous owners name, but I do recall he nearly killed the club, sometimes its better the devil you know and that in this current climate I dont think anyone would be queuing up to buy/takeover any of the first div clubs.

Our serious money man who pumped a lot of money into Falkirk in the past has took a back seat, he obviously has seen football is a empty bottomless pit....

That said Scottish football is fucked....the promise land of the SPL is no longer £ £ £ £ £ £......more prestige, tv and press cover but its not long till it becomes as relevant as the Irish leagues.....

This thread provided a great source of comfort as Rovers huffed and puffed through a dreadful season. And just when you thought it had given all it could we tank Morton at Cappielow on the last day to go above them and still some Morton fans are talking about needing someone to take them to the 'next level', clinging to an ancient cup win and best of all posting pictures of Allan Moore with the Scottish Cup. Beautiful.

Thank you Foxbarton. Gone but not forgotten

Morton were getting 3 - 5000 crowds not so long ago and against some pish that didnt bring a support, tho would Rae back a serious ground face lift..... Then do Morton fans want a serious ground face lift.....???

As for wanting Rae out, I dont recall previous owners name, but I do recall he nearly killed the club, sometimes its better the devil you know and that in this current climate I dont think anyone would be queuing up to buy/takeover any of the first div clubs.

Our serious money man who pumped a lot of money into Falkirk in the past has took a back seat, he obviously has seen football is a empty bottomless pit....

That said Scottish football is fucked....the promise land of the SPL is no longer £ £ £ £ £ £......more prestige, tv and press cover but its not long till it becomes as relevant as the Irish leagues.....

Probably the most valid post of the evening regarding Greenock Morton...well said Mr Dust. The previous owner you refer to was a certain Mr Hugh Scott who damn nearly killrd our club...Mortons best interests were certainly NOT his priority...and funnily enough I too was thinking the other day it wasnt that far back that we were indeed pulling in crowds of 4000 plus at Cappielow...I used to compare Mortons home gate to that of Dundee Utd on the same day (my pal is an Arab)..and sometimes we outstripped them...and not just United!...The fact is ...these fans have not emigrated en mass...theyre still in Greenock..but fitba fans are fickle...the attendances at the start of the season..ok..not 4000...were signifficantly higher than that today..ok meaningless game.....Winning team...gate goes up.

ahem....might be an idea if we confined intimate club talk to the .org forum Iain...no offence.

:huh:

What's wrong with discussing wanting my team to do better with the fans of other teams? After all, I am sure they want the same for their team too...

:huh:

What's wrong with discussing wanting my team to do better with the fans of other teams? After all, I am sure they want the same for their team too...

Absolutely nothing wrong with that Iain..all Morton fans want that...just thought it would be better if we hung out our 'dirty linen' in oor own backyard if ye know what I mean?

Is it unrealistic to expect better than the shite season we've just had? Is it unrealistic to expect the chairman not to accuse us of not being real fans for daring to criticise a team which is clearly under-performing?

Well this thread has been a lot of fun.

Now obviously, any Morton fan can provide - and some have already done it - the punchline that no matter how shit Morton have been, Queens have been significantly shitter.

The point is however, that no Queens fan has suggested we've been going places (other than Methil etc).

Don't forget while enjoying this thread, about the one started on the SPL forum at about the same time. Throw in the Colin McMenamin one on here and it's clear that foresight is not a specialist subject in Greenock.

So in a season where someone strolled to the title and we made bottom spot our own, I'd like to thank Foxbarton and co. You've provided me with far more entertainment than anyone Gus chose to field this year.

Well this thread has been a lot of fun.

Now obviously, any Morton fan can provide - and some have already done it - the punchline that no matter how shit Morton have been, Queens have been significantly shitter.

The point is however, that no Queens fan has suggested we've been going places (other than Methil etc).

Don't forget while enjoying this thread, about the one started on the SPL forum at about the same time. Throw in the Colin McMenamin one on here and it's clear that foresight is not a specialist subject in Greenock.

So in a season where someone strolled to the title and we made bottom spot our own, I'd like to thank Foxbarton and co. You've provided me with far more entertainment than anyone Gus chose to field this year.

Actually now that you mention it, where's the season prediction thread from August? I recall a few Queens fans stating that they would not be relegated as they've been here so long. Delusions of grandeur etc, roflcopter.

GiGi youre not coming out of this well

Is it unrealistic to expect better than the shite season we've just had? Is it unrealistic to expect the chairman not to accuse us of not being real fans for daring to criticise a team which is clearly under-performing?

1. Of course it's not. However, too many people think that as soon as Dougie leaves that Morton will become some sort of unstoppable force in Europe. This division is home to teams like Thistle, Accies, Falkirk, Dundee, etc who are as big, if not bigger than Morton Football Club; not teams like East Stirling and Montrose. Someone has to take 8th place. Every team goes through good spells and bad spells in their history. Our time will come and not necessarily as soon as Rae hands the club over. People want instant success and don't stop to think about where we were as little as 10 years ago. God forbid we got to the SPL - there'd be about 20 of us at Cappielow every week. DDF is the reason our commercial department is almost non existent and other such things; he's not the reason for our on-pitch failures.

2. Well, again, no ... but he's never actually said that. The furore over his comments about banning the abusive twats from Cappielow was taken to mean everyone who dared to criticise the team even though it's not what he said, and this caused him to backtrack a bit yesterday when he really shouldn't have had to. Dougie wants Morton to be successful and Morton can only be successful by having the best players and the best players don't want to come and play for a team that has fans which abuse and boo their own players (and by that I don't mean a collective boo after heavy defeats, I mean the shocking booing of the likes of Paul Di Giacomo yesterday and Colin Stewart earlier in the season). Of course that's not the sole reason, but it's a contributive factor whether you want to believe it or not.

Edited by Rudy

GiGi youre not coming out of this well

Coming out of what well? I don't think I ever predicted any title wins or started any great feeling threads.

This is absolute shite. Neither have the vast, vast majority of Morton fans. You've been asked all season to produce evidence to the contrary, and have failed to do so each and every time.

And many Queen's fans laughed of the suggestions of relegation at the start of the season. They were probably more optimistic than the majority of Morton were in this, and and any other, thread.

Edited by Horoz

watching QPR v Newcastle just now loads of skill on show from QPR, cutting up defences great attacking football....then i looked at the strip and who did it remind me off...?

Kilwinning rangers?