The Queen of the South thread

20 minutes ago, sidofthesouth said:

Can we ask Raith where they bought their pitch. Has looked a good surface every time I’ve seen a game on it. They were terrific tonight in demolishing the Pars

Yes,  certainly looks more "natural"  than ours,  as do a few others tbf,  and it seems to play better too.  Maybe playing the ball on the deck more makes it look a better surface. If ours is due for renewal soon  I hope we get something better than what's down now. 

13 hours ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

Yes,  certainly looks more "natural"  than ours,  as do a few others tbf,  and it seems to play better too.  Maybe playing the ball on the deck more makes it look a better surface. If ours is due for renewal soon  I hope we get something better than what's down now. 

Raith pitch is more like what they have at Falkirk both look and play more like a grass pitch .

Our pitch will only have 1 more season before it needs replaced think the Raith pitch cost around £500,000.

It must help Raith that they train on it every day some of the passing was brilliant against Dunfermline  

5 minutes ago, Northfield 53 said:

Raith pitch is more like what they have at Falkirk both look and play more like a grass pitch .

Our pitch will only have 1 more season before it needs replaced think the Raith pitch cost around £500,000.

It must help Raith that they train on it every day some of the passing was brilliant against Dunfermline  

Think we paid 750k.

It's a great surface, just don't slide tackle on it when it hasn't been sprayed. 🔥 

Regarding artificial pitches,  a question for those more knowledgeable,  is the substructure make up under all artificial pitches the same.  For example can you instal a softer,  more cushioned,  sub-base so that the ball doesn't bounce so high,  or is the cushioning determined by the quality/pile of the finished surface? 

There are guidelines and regulations that cover the installation of the pitch. This includes the sub base, the 'grass' and the infill. All are equally important. Whilst it should ensure a high standard, in practice, there are variables, who laid it, the sub base ratio used, the grade of grass specified and the infill size. The infill (ground recycled truck tyres) has to match the grass length as this is what makes the grass stand up as well as help play. But this has to be balanced with grass choice. And it has to be brushed in correctly. Usually 1-4mm stuff, but some pitches use 1mm infill. It certainly can and does go wrong in terms of this element. There are any number of suppliers and the products can be/are different. Bear in mind a well used pitch can lose between 1-2 tonnes per year!!!  So keeping on top of it is essential. 

16 hours ago, Flash said:

Aye.

Did Johnston say in his interview after the Hearts game that Jones is back training with the squad tomorrow? It was difficult to make out what he was saying. If so, he might make the bench on Monday or, at least, be available for the ICT game.

Aye, back in training today hopefully. 

Our historic win at Tynecastle has certainly brought us right back into the Play Off mix. Dunfermline are in freefall having only picked up one solitary point out of a possible 18 in the last six matches. Raith’s performance last night was absolutely outstanding from start to finish and while making predictions in this crazy league is fraught with danger, it is really hard to see Raith not occupying one of the available play off spots. For me it is Dundee, Caley, Pars and QOS for two spots. Dundee are strong favourites for one other spot so perhaps it is perm 1 from 3 for 4th spot although it could all change dramatically.

The reported early return of Jones could be massive for us and the good thing for us is that all our remaining games are basically against our direct rivals so in our own hands.

It would be really helpful if Hearts could leap into action as they still have Pars, Caley and Raith to play. If they could get their act together and win all of these 3 games it would help our cause considerably although we need to take care of business ourselves.

It has been some journey for us to even dare to “dream” but we all know how dangerous it is for any Queens supporter to become even remotely optimistic.

21 minutes ago, queenslad said:

Hadn't realised Josh Todd had gone to Ayr utd on loan

Noticed that yesterday on the Ayr thread.  General concensus among Ayr fans is it seems to be its a pretty uninspiring signing, he wasn't  getting much game time at Falkirk.  He hasnt really progressed as well as expected since he left Queens.  

Guest Flash
1 hour ago, Rjc-1988 said:

Our historic win at Tynecastle has certainly brought us right back into the Play Off mix. Dunfermline are in freefall having only picked up one solitary point out of a possible 18 in the last six matches. Raith’s performance last night was absolutely outstanding from start to finish and while making predictions in this crazy league is fraught with danger, it is really hard to see Raith not occupying one of the available play off spots. For me it is Dundee, Caley, Pars and QOS for two spots. Dundee are strong favourites for one other spot so perhaps it is perm 1 from 3 for 4th spot although it could all change dramatically.

The reported early return of Jones could be massive for us and the good thing for us is that all our remaining games are basically against our direct rivals so in our own hands.

It would be really helpful if Hearts could leap into action as they still have Pars, Caley and Raith to play. If they could get their act together and win all of these 3 games it would help our cause considerably although we need to take care of business ourselves.

It has been some journey for us to even dare to “dream” but we all know how dangerous it is for any Queens supporter to become even remotely optimistic.

Fair comments but Dunfermline have taken 6 points in the last 6 games. 
Eta think you must have looked at their away form that is 1 point from 6.

Edited by Flash

Noticed that yesterday on the Ayr thread.  General concensus among Ayr fans is it seems to be its a pretty uninspiring signing, he wasn't  getting much game time at Falkirk.  He hasnt really progressed as well as expected since he left Queens.  

I think I’m in the minority in thinking it’s a good signing. He probably won’t score the goals that Cammy Smith did but I always thought he was great against us for you lot and hopefully he creates enough for the other forwards in the team.

Guest Flash
1 minute ago, D'Jaffo said:

I think I’m in the minority in thinking it’s a good signing. He probably won’t score the goals that Cammy Smith did but I always thought he was great against us for you lot and hopefully he creates enough for the other forwards in the team.

On a positive note, he does have experience of playing in a team that won the relegation play-offs.  ;)

11 hours ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

Regarding artificial pitches,  a question for those more knowledgeable,  is the substructure make up under all artificial pitches the same.  For example can you instal a softer,  more cushioned,  sub-base so that the ball doesn't bounce so high,  or is the cushioning determined by the quality/pile of the finished surface? 

I’m sure it was reported  at the time  that Raith paid something  like £300,000  extra to lay some sort of cushioned underlay at Starks to their Astro. Well worth it when you see it compared to others

Fair comments but Dunfermline have taken 6 points in the last 6 games. 
Eta think you must have looked at their away form that is 1 point from 6.

I stand corrected - I certainly missed their 1-0 home win against Morton. Well spotted.

Dare I say it but could players like Ayo not wait until the end of the season, see where we end up?!
Would it make much difference if we were promoted? I ask that completely sincerely, not sarcastically. I know we would pay a wee bit more as we'd budget for bigger crowds (if there were crowds by the time the season started) but I expect we'd still be the lowest paying club in that division.

2 hours ago, 19QOS19 said:
4 hours ago, BIGdavieT said:
Dare I say it but could players like Ayo not wait until the end of the season, see where we end up?!

Would it make much difference if we were promoted? I ask that completely sincerely, not sarcastically. I know we would pay a wee bit more as we'd budget for bigger crowds (if there were crowds by the time the season started) but I expect we'd still be the lowest paying club in that division.

It would make a massive difference if we were promoted don't think that will happen.

Livi don't pay big wages the thing they have is that they are in the SPL players with always want to play in a better league with the hope that if they do well at Livi then they can do what Dykes has done