The Queen of the South thread

1 hour ago, Grant228 said:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51552821

Article on Kenny Branningan on the BBC website. 

That article has a severe lack of direction. Makes Brannigan come across as an utter welt for the first part, tries to make the reader feel sympathetic towards him and then he offers advice for the future after some reflection.

It's truly reflective of the man.

9 minutes ago, Ludo*1 said:

That article has a severe lack of direction. Makes Brannigan come across as an utter welt for the first part, tries to make the reader feel sympathetic towards him and then he offers advice for the future after some reflection.

It's truly reflective of the man.

It's not a great article, and getting our Scottish Cup Final wrong by two years is just amateurish. Its not massively important but its an easy thing to get right and ruins the credibility. 

I think Derek Cook was probably playing for us when Brannigan broke his jaw too. Sure we signed Cook from Killie.

Kenny Brannigan is an interesting character. I enjoyed his company, he has so many tales, and he is probably a pretty good coach. He is an awful football managwr though. At least he realises it and stays away from it now.

Edited by Skyline Drifter

I was at the game and Derek Cook was indeed playing for Queens that day. As I recall after being red carded and on approaching the tunnel Jim Fleeting said “keep on walking son you’ve played your last game for Killie”. An admirable response to the behaviour of a thug.

So the story of him learning about his dismissal in the press the following day is pish.

4 hours ago, Monkey Tennis said:

He still comes across as a total dick.

A man his age saying "If I'd a banged him I'd have put him in the hospital, trust me" is utterly pathetic and embarrassing.

He's from Bridgeton though which I think means it's okay if I've understood the article correctly.

I was at the game and Derek Cook was indeed playing for Queens that day. As I recall after being red carded and on approaching the tunnel Jim Fleeting said “keep on walking son you’ve played your last game for Killie”. An admirable response to the behaviour of a thug.
So the story of him learning about his dismissal in the press the following day is pish.
That wasn't the 0-6 game in May 1989 was it?

Remember that gubbin well. This was of course well before smart phones existed. Jubilant Killie fans thronged the social club celebrating their great escape. Word then filtered through that Clyde (I think) had scored deep into injury time thus consigning Killie to the lowest tier in Scottish fitba.  I almost felt sorry for them!  The game featuring the assault by Brannigan was earlier in the season at Rugby Park which we lost narrowly.

16 hours ago, Skyline Drifter said:

It's not a great article, and getting our Scottish Cup Final wrong by two years is just amateurish. Its not massively important but its an easy thing to get right and ruins the credibility. 

I think Derek Cook was probably playing for us when Brannigan broke his jaw too. Sure we signed Cook from Killie.

Kenny Brannigan is an interesting character. I enjoyed his company, he has so many tales, and he is probably a pretty good coach. He is an awful football managwr though. At least he realises it and stays away from it now.

What made him so bad SD? I thought Queens were fairly average under his spell, didn't realise they were horrendous. 

2 minutes ago, Grant228 said:

What made him so bad SD? I thought Queens were fairly average under his spell, didn't realise they were horrendous. 

We did ok under him to be fair, as I say he isn't a bad coach. We certainly weren't horrendous, we finished 4th in the League and made the Challenge Cup Final. He's just absolutely hopeless at pretty much everything else that goes into making a football manager. He has zero diplomacy, he hated dealing with the press and regularly made several naive and ridiculous statements there, he didn't want anything to do with player contracts which is a pretty fundamental part of management.

I don't dislike the guy at all but he's never ever a football manager. A bit like Iain Scott actually though a totally different character. Scotty is a lovely guy and another really good coach but was lost in management after a flying start.

4 minutes ago, Skyline Drifter said:

We did ok under him to be fair, as I say he isn't a bad coach. We certainly weren't horrendous, we finished 4th in the League and made the Challenge Cup Final. He's just absolutely hopeless at pretty much everything else that goes into making a football manager. He has zero diplomacy, he hated dealing with the press and regularly made several naive and ridiculous statements there, he didn't want anything to do with player contracts which is a pretty fundamental part of management.

I don't dislike the guy at all but he's never ever a football manager. A bit like Iain Scott actually though a totally different character. Scotty is a lovely guy and another really good coach but was lost in management after a flying start.

Brannigan was also ridiculously negative about the club in his comments.  It comes back to the lack of diplomacy you mention, but it went well beyond that.

The club was cutting back after a spell of overspending, and Brannigan resented it.  He gave some utterly ridiculous interviews, and there were strong suggestions he bullied players.

As I recall, we were both glad to see the back of him at the time.

'2 bob and a doughnut' was my favourite Brannigan line. It transpired that he was right with our financial meltdown just about to kick off, but he somehow managed to look like the doughnut due to his turn of phrase.

ETA: Just googled Bob Harris' career, what the bloody hell happened after his Sheffield United spell?!

Edited by Ludo*1

9 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Brannigan was also ridiculously negative about the club in his comments.  It comes back to the lack of diplomacy you mention, but it went well beyond that.

The club was cutting back after a spell of overspending, and Brannigan resented it.  He gave some utterly ridiculous interviews, and there were strong suggestions he bullied players.

As I recall, we were both glad to see the back of him at the time.

Indeed.

4 minutes ago, Ludo*1 said:

'2 bob and a doughnut' was my favourite Brannigan line. It transpired that he was right with our financial meltdown just about to kick off, but he somehow managed to look like the doughnut due to his turn of phrase.

ETA: Just googled Bob Harris' career, what the bloody hell happened after his Sheffield United spell?!

He got a bad injury (ankle I think) and never played regularly at a decent level again. I don't think he was able to put a run of games together without breaking down. I think he did a bit of pre-season with us before he joined Bristol Rovers.

12 hours ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Indeed.

He got a bad injury (ankle I think) and never played regularly at a decent level again. I don't think he was able to put a run of games together without breaking down. I think he did a bit of pre-season with us before he joined Bristol Rovers.

Great wee player. That was a great team, full of passion. Could do with a few of them now.

I was buying a car in East Kilbride about 10 years ago. Bob Harris was buying a car with his mate at the next table. Was just after nordsjaelland. My wife recognised him which I was quite impressed by. Not from his goal though. She said “Isn’t that the guy who cried on the telly?”

When will the Queens players and staff be put on furlough leave .
 Queens have no income so why pay players when the government have a scheme in place to pay 80% of the wages .

We actually still get income from rents from arena? And why should they announce there doing it if they are? Pretty self explanatory that every football club will be applying it once it actually comes to fruition

23 hours ago, Northfield 53 said:

When will the Queens players and staff be put on furlough leave .

Queens have no income so why pay players when the government have a scheme in place to pay 80% of the wages .

Do you seriously have any doubts that this was the first thing the club did ??