The Queen of the South thread

2 hours ago, Doonhamer doon south said:

When do the shirts go on sale? I checked website and shop site page nothing to say about a launch date. 

Have heard it could take longer than was first thought. Heard could be early August...

Edited by euanQOS

1 hour ago, kleinfaethetoon said:

Some talk here in Perth that the Saints are going to send Kerr back out on loan till Christmas

Aye right! Hes been there best player and has been talked about for future Scotland call ups and moves south. Would probably already be commanding a fee close to 1 million

Some talk here in Perth that the Saints are going to send Kerr back out on loan till Christmas

I would say that the chances of that happening are about the same as us attracting 2000 Home supporters to a league match anytime soon - zero.

That said it wouldn't surprise me if we try and get Liam Gordon from Saints on loan. We have a good relationship there and that might be a realistic option.

1 hour ago, euanQOS said:

Have heard it could take longer than was first thought. Heard could be early August...

Serious. Ah well ok im sure its worth the wait. Be nice if the club to score a PR victory and announce a release date soon. Any reason for the delay that you know of?

1 hour ago, Doonhamer doon south said:

Serious. Ah well ok im sure its worth the wait. Be nice if the club to score a PR victory and announce a release date soon. Any reason for the delay that you know of?

What I was told it's the supplier that has caused the delay. Players kits all here though, I believe. 

To be fair to Queens in past seasons they have always been good at having tops available way before the first game of the season. 

Aye right! Hes been there best player and has been talked about for future Scotland call ups and moves south. Would probably already be commanding a fee close to 1 million

I only go watch the saints if for some reason I can’t get to see QOS. A friend of mine who has his ears close to the ground all things saints has heard this, bit pie in the sky a million pound for him though !!

42 minutes ago, kleinfaethetoon said:

I only go watch the saints if for some reason I can’t get to see QOS. A friend of mine who has his ears close to the ground all things saints has heard this, bit pie in the sky a million pound for him though !!

is your friend generally right when breaking these stories? 

On 01/07/2018 at 14:35, Rjc-1988 said:

On the earlier subject of Danny Carmichael - is he looking at options or is he sadly "hanging up his boots"

I heard through the old grape vine that he was finished playing. Training to do either fitness coaching or along the lines of physio based. 

48 minutes ago, Brother Grimm said:

Just seen this on the Premiership forum, the policing costs for Queens seem a bit excessive?

https://theferret.scot/police-scotland-charged-scottish-football-clubs/

Why so much? Whenever i have gone i have only really 2 dozen or so stewards which i imagine is a different cost all together. Are we a club with a substansial need for police? Is stewarding not enough? 

1 hour ago, Doonhamer doon south said:

Why so much? Whenever i have gone i have only really 2 dozen or so stewards which i imagine is a different cost all together. Are we a club with a substansial need for police? Is stewarding not enough? 

I'm sure we have had "low risk" games in the past couple or so seasons where no police were present,  only stewards.  Whether it's now compulsory to have X amount of police present I don't know,  but I'm sure policing costs have also increased quite dramatically for a lot of public events.  The Eden Festival at Raehills as an example reported a significant increase in policing costs over the past couple of years. It is "hidden" costs such as this that a lot of fans overlook when wanting to splash out cash on players. 

Not sure how reliable the source is but if true it seems quite excessive. If £24 an hour is correct and they are there for say 3 hours on game day it works out at £1500 odd for one copper for a season (if you add 3 home cup games). I can't recall ever seeing more than 2 there on a regular basis but obviously it goes up with bigger crowds. There are 5 clubs paying considerably less than us who will have considerably bigger crowds so I wonder if the figures have just been plucked out of the air.

On ‎02‎/‎07‎/‎2018 at 10:30, kleinfaethetoon said:

To good to be true, but here's hoping.

Guest Flash
1 hour ago, 19QOS19 said:

Not sure how reliable the source is but if true it seems quite excessive. If £24 an hour is correct and they are there for say 3 hours on game day it works out at £1500 odd for one copper for a season (if you add 3 home cup games). I can't recall ever seeing more than 2 there on a regular basis but obviously it goes up with bigger crowds. There are 5 clubs paying considerably less than us who will have considerably bigger crowds so I wonder if the figures have just been plucked out of the air.

Whether the figures are entirely accurate or not, it is clear that we have more police at games than other clubs who have bigger crowds. For example, when we played Thistle in the League Cup at Firhill, there were none there. I’d say, unless it is a rare game with none, we regulalry have between 4 and 8 visible at every game, with more for bigger crowds, even ones that are less than 2,000. And that doesn’t include the “match commander” and any who are in the control “room” that houses the cctv. We also had about 30 police visible in the ground when we played Hibs and the crowd was about 3,700 (not last season, obviously, and this was before their one-off Hampden pitch invasion).

I also read on the BBC website a wee while back that policing costs at music festivals in the Dumfries area are far higher than anywhere else in the country. 

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-south-scotland-37923567

30 minutes ago, Flash said:

Whether the figures are entirely accurate or not, it is clear that we have more police at games than other clubs who have bigger crowds. For example, when we played Thistle in the League Cup at Firhill, there were none there. I’d say, unless it is a rare game with none, we regulalry have between 4 and 8 visible at every game, with more for bigger crowds, even ones that are less than 2,000. And that doesn’t include the “match commander” and any who are in the control “room” that houses the cctv. We also had about 30 police visible in the ground when we played Hibs and the crowd was about 3,700 (not last season, obviously, and this was before their one-off Hampden pitch invasion).

I also read on the BBC website a wee while back that policing costs at music festivals in the Dumfries area are far higher than anywhere else in the country. 

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-south-scotland-37923567

Charges for policing are set at a national level but the numbers required are set locally. Everybody in Scotland pays the same rates but not necessarily for the same number of officers. Not everyone you see in uniform is a charged officer, some are specials.

We were police free last season v Brechin, Dumbarton, Livingston, Inverness, Morton and Dunfermline. Matches v St Mirren, Dundee Utd and Falkirk were policed. As of course was the Scottish Cup tie with Thistle.

Its about local risk. Morton were police free for all games except St Mirren. They havent had any issues with United.  We have had issues with Dundee Utd every time they come so we need policed. No idea why they insist on policing Falkirk as cant recall the last issue we had with them.

Edited by Skyline Drifter

Guest Flash
26 minutes ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Charges for policing are set at a national level but the numbers required are set locally. Everybody in Scotland pays the same rates but not necessarily for the same number of officers. Not everyone you see in uniform is a charged officer, some are specials.

We were police free last season v Brechin, Dumbarton, Livingston, Inverness, Morton and Dunfermline. Matches v St Mirren, Dundee Utd and Falkirk were policed. As of course was the Scottish Cup tie with Thistle.

Its about local risk. Morton were police free for all games except St Mirren. They havent had any issues with United.  We have had issues with Dundee Utd every time they come so we need policed. No idea why they insist on policing Falkirk as cant recall the last issue we had with them.

Are you sure about the police-free matches? Difficult thing for me to prove, but I believe there are at least 2 in the East Stand and 2 on the terracing at most matches, certainly those involving Morton and Dunfermline. I’m fairly sure there were police at the last ICT game as well.

Here is a link to a picture of 2 of them at a Dunfermline home game last season. There is another on the OS  of one in the “control room” v Morton, but I think one picture is enough for now. 

https://plus.google.com/photos/105176058393006309605/album/6526226361528371841/6526226371284957490?authkey=CNzSktL-vLbVpgE

Eta here are 2 v ICT

https://plus.google.com/photos/105176058393006309605/album/6495054548028367745/6495054548390173682?authkey=CKifw-bskMzqGg

Edited by Flash

48 minutes ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Not everyone you see in uniform is a charged officer, some are specials.

24 minutes ago, Flash said:

Are you sure about the police-free matches? Difficult thing for me to prove, but I believe there are at least 2 in the East Stand and 2 on the terracing at most matches, certainly those involving Morton and Dunfermline. I’m fairly sure there were police at the last ICT game as well.

Here is a link to a picture of 2 of them at a Dunfermline home game last season. There is another on the OS  of one in the “control room” v Morton, but I think one picture is enough for now. 

https://plus.google.com/photos/105176058393006309605/album/6526226361528371841/6526226371284957490?authkey=CNzSktL-vLbVpgE

Eta here are 2 v ICT

https://plus.google.com/photos/105176058393006309605/album/6495054548028367745/6495054548390173682?authkey=CKifw-bskMzqGg

I think one of the Dunfermline games might have been policed. Dont think the first one was. Morton and ICT were definitely police free. Which doesnt mean there werent local specials there or a match commander choosing to turn up voluntarily.

Guest Flash
1 hour ago, Skyline Drifter said:

I think one of the Dunfermline games might have been policed. Dont think the first one was. Morton and ICT were definitely police free. Which doesnt mean there werent local specials there or a match commander choosing to turn up voluntarily.

I very much doubt that the police would show up voluntarily at games when they could insist on having paid for officers there if they wanted to. And you keep mentioning “specials” as though they are free. According to the article, they are £24 per hour. Is that not correct?

In any event, you can’t dispute the numbers which are provided by Police Scotland themselves. So, despite all the supposedly police-free matches, we still have policing costs almost 3 times as much as Dundee United’s and nearly double St.Mirren’s, for example. That seems odd.

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/490812/response/1180998/attach/html/2/18 1438 Response.pdf.html

Edited by Flash