The get fit, stay fit thread

On 27/04/2021 at 15:15, Rasputin said:

It was the one at Craigleith... 

I was in Craigleith M&S and Homebase yesterday afternoon. Queues were mad at Nike! As it happens, I had just gone up the road after a garage weights session, dressed in my auld training gear because I had been taking a bootload of garden stuff to the dump in the morning, and I thought I would get a bit more use of of it before putting it all in the wash. I was about as scruffy as a man can be, walking past the line of people who were all desperate for their new-gear fix. Quite the contrast in nattiness aspirations.

(Tonight I'll have the relatively smart newer gear on, and will head for a track session at Saughton. It will... challenge me.)

25 minutes ago, sugna said:

I was in Craigleith M&S and Homebase yesterday afternoon. Queues were mad at Nike! As it happens, I had just gone up the road after a garage weights session, dressed in my auld training gear because I had been taking a bootload of garden stuff to the dump in the morning, and I thought I would get a bit more use of of it before putting it all in the wash. I was about as scruffy as a man can be, walking past the line of people who were all desperate for their new-gear fix. Quite the contrast in nattiness aspirations.

(Tonight I'll have the relatively smart newer gear on, and will head for a track session at Saughton. It will... challenge me.)

Sometimes it’s good to go all Rocky with the battered old gear and look no-nonsense and with it very cool. Bought the dandiest top I could find though and have already been prancing about the living room in it doing shadow boxing. 

Did some work with the guy who owns my gym yesterday. Helped me out with my deadlifts. Felt really good. Better form going forward and breezed up to 130kg. Feel good about DLs now and probably need to do the same to tidy up my squats and bench

He then decided we should do some other stuff and about 13 minutes later I was lying on the floor gasping for air and he was telling me just to stay down for a wee while [emoji23]

1 hour ago, Bairnardo said:

Did some work with the guy who owns my gym yesterday. Helped me out with my deadlifts. Felt really good. Better form going forward and breezed up to 130kg. Feel good about DLs now and probably need to do the same to tidy up my squats and bench

He then decided we should do some other stuff and about 13 minutes later I was lying on the floor gasping for air and he was telling me just to stay down for a wee while emoji23.png

Do you pay extra on top of the membership fee for that? Well done anyway. I’ve got as far as trying on my new gym gear. 

I haven't been back to the gym yet.  Am going to keep my membership as it's only £15 a month but am happy lifting in the garage at the moment.  Only issue is benching, which I can't do at home.  

2 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

I haven't been back to the gym yet.  Am going to keep my membership as it's only £15 a month but am happy lifting in the garage at the moment.  Only issue is benching, which I can't do at home.  

Get the wean to spot you

He then decided we should do some other stuff and about 13 minutes later I was lying on the floor gasping for air and he was telling me just to stay down for a wee while [emoji23]
Not sure what it is about deadlifts but they're the one exercise which leave me absolutely hanging. Did them the other day and after 4 sets the gym was spinning and I was ready to spew.

3 minutes ago, Ron Aldo said:
3 hours ago, Bairnardo said:

He then decided we should do some other stuff and about 13 minutes later I was lying on the floor gasping for air and he was telling me just to stay down for a wee while emoji23.png

Not sure what it is about deadlifts but they're the one exercise which leave me absolutely hanging. Did them the other day and after 4 sets the gym was spinning and I was ready to spew.

Aye, I did a lot yesterday cos he has moving me up to find a five, then a three, then a one, so instead of the nine il do going forward I probably did about 30 😂 lower back in bits today. 

That said, its done my confidence the world of good in terms of not fearing injury affer the layoff

First session back on Monday night, did chest and bit of arms. I have never felt doms like this before. I’d actually assume I’ve injured myself if it wasn’t consistent across all of the muscles. Wild that it’s Friday afternoon and they are at their sorest so far. Brutal.

7 hours ago, Bairnardo said:

Good stuff, Bairnardo! Feels great to make measurable progress in the numbers, and to lay the foundations for further improvements on the technique front. All 3 powerlifting lifts benefit greatly from sound technique. My squats are technically really quite poor; but I'm not currently doing much squatting, and I've made a mental note to get some eyes-on advice when our squad is back to full training.

Deadlift is one of the most favoured "whole body" exercises, along with pull-ups, and I've been grazing my shins quite a lot over the last year to try to use it as such. It's also important for anyone past the testosterone-rich years, as consistent heavyish DLs promote testosterone production, which in turn helps the benefits from other, lighter exercises.

Last year, I consulted a strong lad who does the same sport as me for some specific DL progressions. We have very similar backgrounds, although he has gone quite a bit heavier in bodyweight over the last decade or so. But I thought he'd know where I was coming from, and be able to give me some good steers as he is also a personal trainer (and a really sound guy - one of life's natural helpers).

His initial reply on his own lifting (bearing in mind that I was lifting 3 x 6 x 120kg, and we were similar sizes and strength until about 2010:

I only really lift light due to long term injuries and conditions.

I'm thinking, "OK, fair enough."

Deadlift I will do a light weight high rep session so maybe 10-12 sets of 10-12 reps 60-80kg .

I'm still thinking, "OK, fair enough."

Then a heavier session , so warm up with 60kg same rep range as above . Then 100kg , 120kg, 140kg, 160kg, 180kg maybe 200kg then back down reps are based on failure so I push and don’t count reps

Then suddenly I'm feeling really weak.

But after recovering my self esteem a bit, I was very interested in the extremeness of his light-heavy sessions approach. He performed last year at around PB levels in his main sport, in his mid-40s. Some people retain that drive to improve their sporting performances despite the advances of time, and I find myself admiring it (but not quite wanting to emulate it).

3 hours ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

First session back on Monday night, did chest and bit of arms. I have never felt doms like this before. I’d actually assume I’ve injured myself if it wasn’t consistent across all of the muscles. Wild that it’s Friday afternoon and they are at their sorest so far. Brutal.

Old age creeping in! When you’re younger stuff hurts the next day but with age I find it’s usually two to three days later that the stiffness etc starts to kick in. 

18 minutes ago, sugna said:

Good stuff, Bairnardo! Feels great to make measurable progress in the numbers, and to lay the foundations for further improvements on the technique front. All 3 powerlifting lifts benefit greatly from sound technique. My squats are technically really quite poor; but I'm not currently doing much squatting, and I've made a mental note to get some eyes-on advice when our squad is back to full training.

Deadlift is one of the most favoured "whole body" exercises, along with pull-ups, and I've been grazing my shins quite a lot over the last year to try to use it as such. It's also important for anyone past the testosterone-rich years, as consistent heavyish DLs promote testosterone production, which in turn helps the benefits from other, lighter exercises.

Last year, I consulted a strong lad who does the same sport as me for some specific DL progressions. We have very similar backgrounds, although he has gone quite a bit heavier in bodyweight over the last decade or so. But I thought he'd know where I was coming from, and be able to give me some good steers as he is also a personal trainer (and a really sound guy - one of life's natural helpers).

His initial reply on his own lifting (bearing in mind that I was lifting 3 x 6 x 120kg, and we were similar sizes and strength until about 2010:

I'm thinking, "OK, fair enough."

I'm still thinking, "OK, fair enough."

Then suddenly I'm feeling really weak.

But after recovering my self esteem a bit, I was very interested in the extremeness of his light-heavy sessions approach. He performed last year at around PB levels in his main sport, in his mid-40s. Some people retain that drive to improve their sporting performances despite the advances of time, and I find myself admiring it (but not quite wanting to emulate it).

I can recall, althoigh its a ling time ago, how good you feel after knocking out the big lifts. Feel like ten men the whole day after it. I was worried after my first set of fives that iv set a goal I cant achieve but really focusing on the tekkers with someone who gave me advice gave me my confidence back. 

Like you though, squats need serious work to safely push on in weight.

Bench is just about getting back into it. I finished off at 60kg for 5 the other day so if I got to 5 3 1 as the trainer was suggesting, I dont think my 1 will be too far off target in a few weeks time. 

A few weeks of 5s tho with bent over row and shoulder press in there too, initially I think, to get the muscle memory and cardio system up and running again and get the lifts zeroed in before focusing on the big 3

1 hour ago, Rasputin said:

First training session for me of 2021 today. A bit of muscle memory is in there somewhere and felt more sprightly after an hour than at the start.

Was writing my name on the sheet at the end like I had Parkinsons.