Springfield Posted October 31, 2022 Share Posted October 31, 2022 3 hours ago, Bairnardo said: I would give the players credit for responding to a big crowd in the away game. I just hope they go one better this time because its high time some of these big crowds were capitalised on. Saturday is the sort of day that has the potential to keep some of these fans coming back. But we all know too well how many times wev had that big crowd and anticipation in recent years and fell flat on our faces. You’ve said it spot on, far to many times we’ve fallen flat when we’ve had opportunities to really get the stay away/ fed up / new fans on board / huge numbers and………. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy Dufresne Posted October 31, 2022 Share Posted October 31, 2022 The Sportsman Breakfast at the Park Hotel when all of us came together to help G. Gordon Profit put most of this together and a few of us helped as much as we could. 7 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FFC1965 Posted October 31, 2022 Share Posted October 31, 2022 The first time I recall us falling flat in front of a big crowd was in our ill fated 78/79 season. I recall a huge crowd at Brockville for our 2nd last game of the season, Cowdenbeath. The team fell flat losing 3-0. -> https://bettermeddle.org.uk/archive/match.php?season=1979&id=238&type=1 and we missed out on promotion as a result. I recall standing in the enclosure with my dad who hardly ever went to Falkirk games as he was a Stirling Albion man. The other thing about that season is that we didn't play between December 10th and February 9th - that was back when winters were winter! Really looking forward to Saturday - the stadium really needs a near full house to have any atmosphere. I think we will win 2-0. Burrell and Morrison. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duncan Freemason Posted October 31, 2022 Share Posted October 31, 2022 (edited) 4 hours ago, Back Post Misses said: What a terrific piece on the website by Michael White regarding Gordon McFarlane. He really hit the right note and I had a real lump in my throat reading it. Brilliant. A great memory for me was being with Gordon that day in Airdrie for the Willie Whigham interview. It was an experience and a half. When we got back to the car, Gordon said “gimme a minute to work this out”. He sat flicking through pages of notes (he had a wee voice recorder as well), and he said “Right, it’s not too bad. If we take out out the slanderous stuff and the expletives, we’ve still got 22 words for the article. We will have to pad it out a bit”. Big Gordy……..an absolute hero. It would be fantastic to win this Saturday for him. Edited October 31, 2022 by Duncan Freemason 8 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RC55 FFC Posted October 31, 2022 Share Posted October 31, 2022 New episode of Falkirk Daft out NOW. This show is dedicated to the memory of Gordon McFarlane “Roll out the Burrell of goals, as Ross & John look back at Queen of the South in the company of guest pundit, head of the Crunchie Initiative (and John’s brother) Dave McInally. Of course there is the small matter of the game against THEM, as we preview Saturday in the company of Michael from ‘That’s Never 10 Yards’ podcast. Plus spooky Falkirk footballers for Halloween, the breaking FSS news and the BIG draw for FSS members for hospitality and of course that Falkirk Daft beer bucket! Expect the Unexpected!” 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bairn in Exile Posted October 31, 2022 Share Posted October 31, 2022 3 hours ago, Newbornbairn said: Invited a colleague to this game and went to get hi a SS ticket today - sold out. Couldn't very well put him in the Main Stand himself so had to buy two tickets to sit amongst the sweetie rustlers. I'm betting the SS will be epic too, especially when Burrell gets his hat-trick. Good for you! I'm guessing by your post that you are an SS ST holder? So does this mean that there is going to be an empty seat in the SS on Saturday? Why don't you: a) Sell your seat in the SS to cover the cost of your Main Stand ticket? b) Sell your seat in the SS and donate the money to the FSS? c) Give your SS seat to somebody down on their luck? Whatever you decide, it would be great if there was a bum on your KM7 Stand seat come 3.00pm on Saturday. #COYB 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbornbairn Posted October 31, 2022 Share Posted October 31, 2022 Not sure how that works? Happy to give the seat away but how? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RC55 FFC Posted October 31, 2022 Share Posted October 31, 2022 2 minutes ago, Newbornbairn said: Not sure how that works? Happy to give the seat away but how? You would need to give your ST card to someone to use 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bairn in Exile Posted October 31, 2022 Share Posted October 31, 2022 2 minutes ago, Newbornbairn said: Not sure how that works? Happy to give the seat away but how? Maybe offer it for sale on here? Invite PMs to your inbox? FELLOW BAIRNS, THERE IS A SEAT AVAILABLE IN THE SOUTH STAND FOR SATURDAY, PLEASE PUT YOUR OFFERS IN NOW! What do you think? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duncan Freemason Posted October 31, 2022 Share Posted October 31, 2022 My KM7 ST is available too. Don’t want anything for it, just want it to go to someone who needs it (and will hand it back at the end of the game ). 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harry Kinnear Posted October 31, 2022 Share Posted October 31, 2022 Mine was available as well as I’m in hospitality but my nephew who used to go to games but stopped has claimed it. Hopefully if we get the right result he will get the bug again. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbornbairn Posted November 1, 2022 Share Posted November 1, 2022 1 hour ago, Duncan Freemason said: (and will hand it back at the end of the game ). Call me cynical, but that is what would worry me. If I contacted the club, could they re-sell my seat? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duncan Freemason Posted November 1, 2022 Share Posted November 1, 2022 1 hour ago, Newbornbairn said: Call me cynical, but that is what would worry me. If I contacted the club, could they re-sell my seat? I really don’t know. Might be a lot of hassle tbh. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bairn in Exile Posted November 1, 2022 Share Posted November 1, 2022 3 hours ago, Newbornbairn said: Call me cynical, but that is what would worry me. If I contacted the club, could they re-sell my seat? 2 hours ago, Duncan Freemason said: I really don’t know. Might be a lot of hassle tbh. My apologies, as an old fart who lives abroad I didn't realise that it was all electronic these days. I appreciate that it might not be as easy as I first thought. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trump Posted November 1, 2022 Share Posted November 1, 2022 Reading ESPN stats online, we were well aware Nesbitt had 7 assists and is the highest in the league. Second highest in the league? Stephen McGinn with 5. Not what I would have expected from our midfielder protecting the back 4. What a signing he has been. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Van_damage Posted November 1, 2022 Share Posted November 1, 2022 11 hours ago, RC55 FFC said: New episode of Falkirk Daft out NOW. This show is dedicated to the memory of Gordon McFarlane “Roll out the Burrell of goals, as Ross & John look back at Queen of the South in the company of guest pundit, head of the Crunchie Initiative (and John’s brother) Dave McInally. Of course there is the small matter of the game against THEM, as we preview Saturday in the company of Michael from ‘That’s Never 10 Yards’ podcast. Plus spooky Falkirk footballers for Halloween, the breaking FSS news and the BIG draw for FSS members for hospitality and of course that Falkirk Daft beer bucket! Expect the Unexpected!” As mentioned on this weeks episode of Falkirk Daft, we’re giving away 60 free beers at the Brockville Bar on Saturday(1st come, 1st serve) in honour of Crunchie’s 60th birthday next week. They’re only available to Falkirk Supporters Society members so if you want to find out how to claim one then sign up by Friday! The Bar opens at 12pm so sooner you get there, the better chance you have of claiming a free beer. #COYB 16 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Popular Post 18BAIRN76 Posted November 1, 2022 Popular Post Share Posted November 1, 2022 (edited) What a difference a few months makes, by the way. As we’ve discussed so many times over the last few weeks, the team we have at the moment is nowhere near the finished article, but after the last few years of insipid garbage dominated by charlatans unfit to wear the shirt, manage or run the club, it finally feels like we’re slowly beginning to get the Falkirk FC we all love back. Huge credit must go to the players and management for that. No doubt there will be bumps and justifiable criticisms to come, but to actually be looking forward to games on a Saturday again is a class feeling. Edited November 1, 2022 by 18BAIRN76 31 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Popular Post Kevin James Left Knee Posted November 2, 2022 Popular Post Share Posted November 2, 2022 (edited) The FSS membership went past the 600 mark last night - that's a fantastic jump from 500 about 6 weeks ago. Many pay more than the basic £10 a month also. Moreover it was the one year anniversary of the launch yesterday so that's great news. Thanks to all who supported this initiative and we hope it will grow and grow. We should announce that FSS is the communally fourth largest shareholder in the club soon. Edited November 2, 2022 by Kevin James Left Knee 45 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
effeffsee_the2nd Posted November 2, 2022 Share Posted November 2, 2022 The last 2 posts have just summed up for me the feeling that has come back this season, I honeslty think that for clubs like us there are 2 things we need t give us a heart and sole. one is fan ownership and the other is a youth system made up of majority locally sourced players. and we finally look like we're getting somewhere "but after the last few years of insipid garbage dominated by charlatans unfit to wear the shirt, manage or run the club, it" every professional sports team pays professionals to play and charges spectaters to watch, you're not going down to watch the local lads take on the next town then have a pint in the club afterwards, that is understood. but when the entire club from directors to players is made up of utterly uninterested journeymen on a footballing mery-go-round playing absolute garbage and getting no results, you can't simply expect people to keep turning up just becuase they live in the same town that the club operates in. You have got to give people a reason to keep turning up Post covid there is a social media driven renaissance of diddy fitbaw on scotland. some think it is a bit cringy and samey but hey, if it gets young people into otherwise empty and quiet stadiums then I'm all for it. A strong fan ownership, fan representation and a youth system providing a pathway for local players well ensure that we are on the right side of history. without fans football is nothing? without a paying audience - proffessional sport is not viable 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scottsdad Posted November 2, 2022 Share Posted November 2, 2022 I last went to a game in 2019. I honestly felt a little detached as the club lurched from crisis to crisis. Covid stopped the fans going, largely, but even when things reopened I wasn't getting the feeling. That car crash board meeting with fans a year ago really got me thinking that it would be a long time before I went back. Things really have moved on. New board, an actual football manager, results, performances, all up. My interest in the team has been very much reignited this year. So, I'll be there on Saturday. This match actually has me excited about a Falkirk game for the first time in years. If the numbers are right the place could be packed. I hope so! 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...