The Falkirk FC Thread

Thought we’d get another update today, however if it’s taking a bit longer to get the correct guys over the line, no worries.
Correct! This is getting boring as folks minds wander onto strips of years gone by. GIVE US OUR NEW 30 GOAL A SEASON STRIKER NOW.

Please

Well, there was certainly a couple of young guys being ushered around at 5:30ish that certainly looked the part. Couldn’t see faces, but who knows? Might or might not be new players. If there’s an announcement on Thursday/Friday, then yes, probably new players. If not, then probably painters and decorators.

Interesting couple of hours at the Crunchie Initiative meeting. Sponsors for the KM Stand were there collecting certs and model letters along with AT for a photoshoot. Crunchie popped in to just say hi to everyone.

One of the guys there (James I believe) has sponsored one of the letters in the stand for £500. The amazing this was that he wasn’t a Falkirk supporter. He was a Chelsea supporter. As a teenager, Crunchie was his hero, so he sponsored a letter, then he and his wife drove up from London just for the chance of a meeting with Crunchie, and to pick up his model letter and certificate. They had booked into a hotel and then we’re headed back south early Wednesday morning. The power of football, and a wee demonstration that Crunchie is still fondly remembered by the Chelsea fans who saw him play.

5 hours ago, Duncan Freemason said:

... The power of football, and a wee demonstration that Crunchie is still fondly remembered by the Chelsea fans who saw him play.

Yet some won't pay fitting tribute because it's Kilmarnock and it's a Friday or the new strips haven't been launched or we aren't playing on grass! 🙄

4 tickets bought and hopefully we see a surge this week.

5 hours ago, Duncan Freemason said:

One of the guys there (James I believe) has sponsored one of the letters in the stand for £500. The amazing this was that he wasn’t a Falkirk supporter. He was a Chelsea supporter. As a teenager, Crunchie was his hero, so he sponsored a letter, then he and his wife drove up from London just for the chance of a meeting with Crunchie, and to pick up his model letter and certificate. They had booked into a hotel and then we’re headed back south early Wednesday morning. The power of football, and a wee demonstration that Crunchie is still fondly remembered by the Chelsea fans who saw him play.

That is brilliant and shows how highly Crunchie is thought of at other clubs. Time for our support to wake up to the fact we had a fantastic footballer in our midst, who gave us some great memories and he was one of us.

GET THOSE F*CKING TICKETS BOUGHT 

Edited by Harry Kinnear

13 minutes ago, Blame Me said:

Yet some won't pay fitting tribute because it's Kilmarnock and it's a Friday or the new strips haven't been launched or we aren't playing on grass! 🙄

4 tickets bought and hopefully we see a surge this week.

There's a bit of a cost of living crisis going on, nae c**t can be criticised for not prioritising football tickets, let alone for a friendly on a Friday night surely? 

4 minutes ago, Grant228 said:

There's a bit of a cost of living crisis going on, nae c**t can be criticised for not prioritising football tickets, let alone for a friendly on a Friday night surely? 

It's a tenner for an adult, fiver concession and a quid for kids.

It is likely the smallest outlay any fans will be asked for over the season. 

10 minutes ago, Grant228 said:

I realise that and if folk can’t afford that then fair play. The tickets are £10 which is to some maybe too much at the moment. The issue is we’ve had folk on here moaning about the opposition, the timing of the game etc etc. The game is to recognise a fantastic servant to our club, so for those that can afford it they should see past who we are playing and when it’s being played. Also the fact our fellow fans on the CI have put in a lot of work to make this happen.

Edited by Harry Kinnear

Just now, Blame Me said:

It's a tenner for an adult, fiver concession and a quid for kids.

It is likely the smallest outlay any fans will be asked for over the season. 

At a pretty costly time in the season where fans will be paying for St's, new strips etc. 

I read the justification for the Friday night and it seems pretty wild, likewise the choice of opponent. I appreciate I'm the outside looking in but I find it surprising that people seem shocked that ticket sales aren't surging. People can still like and revere the player, as well as having other priorities in life, and for some a friendly is pretty far down the priority list. The guilt tripping going on here is very odd. 

14 hours ago, ebobsboy said:

Shite. Nowhere near ready for first team football, but Sheerin thought he was the best thing since sliced bread and always picked him. He scored a few goals though but looked like what he was.. a wee laddie playing mens fitba. As others have said if he bulks out a bit and stops falling on his arse he might do ok for you. 

Absolutely this.....but no doubt when he rocks up at TFS it'll be like the second coming of Mark Hateley...it's what happens these days 

6 minutes ago, Grant228 said:

At a pretty costly time in the season where fans will be paying for St's, new strips etc. 

I read the justification for the Friday night and it seems pretty wild, likewise the choice of opponent. I appreciate I'm the outside looking in but I find it surprising that people seem shocked that ticket sales aren't surging. People can still like and revere the player, as well as having other priorities in life, and for some a friendly is pretty far down the priority list. The guilt tripping going on here is very odd. 

Would you not expect a decent turn out at your club if they were honouring a club legend and the tickets were £10 at a time when there is no other football. I get folk have other priorities at the moment but the game is a one off and I doubt we will ever have another player worthy of getting a stand named after him. All about opinions and priorities though.

2 minutes ago, Harry Kinnear said:

Would you not expect a decent turn out at your club if they were honouring a club legend and the tickets were £10 at a time when there is no other football. I get folk have other priorities at the moment but the game is a one off and I doubt we will ever have another player worthy of getting a stand named after him. All about opinions and priorities though.

If it had been marketed better, on a better date and time, against better opposition? Probably, but people's complaints about this seem quite justified tbh. 

Friendlies always occur at a time when there's no other football and are usually cheap, they are also usually poorly attended. For a better attendance you probably don't bang it on a weeknight to start with? 

1 hour ago, Grant228 said:

We agreed with the club the prices that we thought made it affordable for people to attend however if you are struggling and want to attend then get in touch and we can see if there’s anything we can do to help. 

I really fail to get those who won’t attend for other reasons. Completely miss the point of what this is about. 

Edited by Guest

3 minutes ago, Van_damage said:

We agreed with the club the prices that we thought made it affordable for people to attend however if you are struggling and want to attend then get in touch Crunchie.initiative@gmail.com and we can see if there’s anything we can do to help. 

I really fail to get those who won’t attend for other reasons. Completely miss the point of what this is about. 

I think if you see it as nothing more than a friendly and not an appreciation of the greatest to ever wear the navy blue you need to give yourself a shake

54 minutes ago, Grant228 said:

If it had been marketed better, on a better date and time, against better opposition? Probably, but people's complaints about this seem quite justified tbh. 

Friendlies always occur at a time when there's no other football and are usually cheap, they are also usually poorly attended. For a better attendance you probably don't bang it on a weeknight to start with? 

Can I please ask who you’d rather have as an opponent? Which date and time in the next fortnight you’d want the friendly to be and in what way we can market it to persuade you to go?

Edit to add: just realised you’re not even a Falkirk fan so strange thing to comment on! 

Edited by Guest

10 minutes ago, Van_damage said:

Can I please ask who you’d rather have as an opponent? Which date and time in the next fortnight you’d want the friendly to be and in what way we can market it to persuade you to go?

I may be wrong but I think he’s a Pars supporter so there is no way he is going. 

7 minutes ago, Harry Kinnear said:

I may be wrong but I think he’s a Pars supporter so there is no way he is going. 

Yeh just realised after posting.

Can understand his confusion now with everything! Nothing can be straight forward when you’re still trying to work out why your Mum is your Aunt and your Dad is your Uncle. 

20 minutes ago, Van_damage said:

Edit to add: just realised you’re not even a Falkirk fan so strange thing to comment on! 

Pars fan so I'm absolutely not going, just popped in to see if you had any transfer rumours in here and seen people judging fans for not going to what is, a glorified friendly. 

I absolutely would have had it on a weekend, because that's the best time to have it. Where the most people are available, in Nice weather, 1945 on a Friday night? Christ. 

If it really is all about the player I'd have it centred around the player, what about getting his favourite x11 he's played with? If your adament it has to be against some Killie side then see if you can get there Scottish cup winning side to have a "rematch", on the legends them again you could even have it as a bunch of players from that era, put some proceeds from the match to a charity of the players choice, or alternatively some proceeds go to the player. 

As it is, and this is the crux of the matter, the club or the organising commite haven't made it all about the player and it is a friendly. You could at least have had it with a side relevant to a happy memory of the player, due to the time of the year a Chelsea youth side might be out the question, but surely Hibs would have been better? If it has to be about the cup run then at least have it with a game where the player has fond memories? Who did you play through the run, in the semi finals? Surely to f**k for a club legend there's a club, or a game associated to him that isn't losing a cup final? Who wants to remind themselves of that? In 20 odd years are you having a game to commemorate James Vincent winning the Scottish Cup with Inverness? 

As for marketing I'd have no just how significant and important this is unless your battering about on this forum, on your website its not getting marketed as a "Kevin McCalister tribute game" it's getting hailed as a friendly. 

"TICKETS FOR KILMARNOCK FRIENDLY ON SALE NOW!

Tickets for our first friendly match of the season against Kilmarnock on Friday 24th June are on sale now! The match sets the scene for the opening of the Kevin McAllister stand as the club recognises its player of the millennium. Prices are as follows: Adults – £10 Concession/Under-18s – £5 Under 12s – £1…"

All the first part of that message are conveying that it's a friendly first, not a tribute match. Maybe you should try guilt trip fans through the official website? 

1 minute ago, Van_damage said:

Yeh just realised after posting.

Can understand his confusion now with everything! Nothing can be straight forward when you’re still trying to work out why your Mum is your Aunt and your Dad is your Uncle. 

Ah, only a man with patter as funny as this would think a Friday night would help the attendance. 

I'm sure that he's held in massively high regards by your fanbase to have a stand named after him, so if ticket sails are struggling maybe not blame the fans? Maybe the problem might just be that it's been organised shite? It's a bugbear that the fault always lands at the feet of the fans for turning up, never on the organiser's or the board for putting something decent on for the fans to attend. 

3 minutes ago, Grant228 said:

Pars fan so I'm absolutely not going, just popped in to see if you had any transfer rumours in here and seen people judging fans for not going to what is, a glorified friendly. 

I absolutely would have had it on a weekend, because that's the best time to have it. Where the most people are available, in Nice weather, 1945 on a Friday night? Christ. 

If it really is all about the player I'd have it centred around the player, what about getting his favourite x11 he's played with? If your adament it has to be against some Killie side then see if you can get there Scottish cup winning side to have a "rematch", on the legends them again you could even have it as a bunch of players from that era, put some proceeds from the match to a charity of the players choice, or alternatively some proceeds go to the player. 

As it is, and this is the crux of the matter, the club or the organising commite haven't made it all about the player and it is a friendly. You could at least have had it with a side relevant to a happy memory of the player, due to the time of the year a Chelsea youth side might be out the question, but surely Hibs would have been better? If it has to be about the cup run then at least have it with a game where the player has fond memories? Who did you play through the run, in the semi finals? Surely to f**k for a club legend there's a club, or a game associated to him that isn't losing a cup final? Who wants to remind themselves of that? In 20 odd years are you having a game to commemorate James Vincent winning the Scottish Cup with Inverness? 

As for marketing I'd have no just how significant and important this is unless your battering about on this forum, on your website its not getting marketed as a "Kevin McCalister tribute game" it's getting hailed as a friendly. 

Tickets for our first friendly match of the season against Kilmarnock on Friday 24th June are on sale now! The match sets the scene for the opening of the Kevin McAllister stand as the club recognises its player of the millennium. Prices are as follows: Adults – £10 Concession/Under-18s – £5 Under 12s – £1…"

All the first part of that message are conveying that it's a friendly first, not a tribute match. Maybe you should try guilt trip fans through the official website? 

Ah, only a man with patter as funny as this would think a Friday night would help the attendance. 

I'm sure that he's held in massively high regards by your fanbase to have a stand named after him, so if ticket sails are struggling maybe not blame the fans? Maybe the problem might just be that it's been organised shite? It's a bugbear that the fault always lands at the feet of the fans for turning up, never on the organiser's or the board for putting something decent on for the fans to attend. 

Maybe spend more time trying to work out how to honour one of your own legends than focussing on how we honour ours. Can’t tell you how much time and effort has went in to this. To suggest that the perfect solution is just instantly achievable is disingenuous. 

So much I could comment on but not wasting my time.
As I said if you think you can do better then do it for your own club. Maybe then you’ll see it’s not quite as easy to achieve as you’d think and things aren’t always within your control. 

10 minutes ago, Grant228 said:

Oh f**k off no one cares what you think