The Falkirk FC Thread

3 hours ago, 1320Lichtie said:

Hetherington another good player. As was Dowds. There’s a theme here

No, not having that. Dowds had a bit about him, had injury problems and was badly treated when fit. Hetherington on the other hand, what a shit player :lol: Look no further than the 6-0 game against QP for a vintage performance of his:

https://youtu.be/uz2FoO-BrVU

Left for dead by well known speed-merchant Jake Davidson down the touchline for the first. Nicely demonstrating his complete lack of pace.

Turned his back on a powderpuff shot for the second, deflecting it in. Nicely demonstrating his complete shitebaggery. 

The backpass for the third. Nicely demonstrating his complete inability to pick out a teammate from more than about two yards away.

Falling on his arse rather than easily dispossessing Longridge for the fourth. Nicely demonstrating his complete inability to do anything at all.

I know I've picked out one game only, but he really has been that disappointing in virtually every single match he has played for us.

In 27 appearances last season he didn't manage even 1 goal and I'm struggling to think of an assist? Now, I understand he's not an attacking player but if he was signed for his tackling ability he certainly didn't show that either. He repeatedly picked up stupid niggly bookings after arriving about 800 years late to the scene of most 50/50 balls and was a constant liability.

It was no coincidence that we played better when he was suspended and results improved when he was finally dropped, only to then go backwards when injury to others forced us to play him again. I can't be bothered compiling the actual stats but he wasn't involved in any of our 3 biggest wins (3-0 vs Alloa and Clyde and 6-2 vs Dumbarton) and pretty much only acceptable team performances last season. Worth also mentioning that in the two games when he was sent off we still won both matches. 

All of the above make him a genuine contender for our worst ever 11. And we've had some absolute rotters over the years.

If McGlynn can somehow get a tune out of him or Brad McKay I'll consider it a Guardiola-esque achievement.  

2 minutes ago, NavyBlueArmy1876 said:

No, not having that. Dowds had a bit about him, had injury problems and was badly treated when fit. Hetherington on the other hand, what a shit player :lol: Look no further than the 6-0 game against QP for a vintage performance of his:

https://youtu.be/uz2FoO-BrVU

Left for dead by well known speed-merchant Jake Davidson down the touchline for the first. Nicely demonstrating his complete lack of pace.

Turned his back on a powderpuff shot for the second, deflecting it in. Nicely demonstrating his complete shitebaggery. 

The backpass for the third. Nicely demonstrating his complete inability to pick out a teammate from more than about two yards away.

Falling on his arse rather than easily dispossessing Longridge for the fourth. Nicely demonstrating his complete inability to do anything at all.

I know I've picked out one game only, but he really has been that disappointing in virtually every single match he has played for us.

In 27 appearances last season he didn't manage even 1 goal and I'm struggling to think of an assist? Now, I understand he's not an attacking player but if he was signed for his tackling ability he certainly didn't show that either. He repeatedly picked up stupid niggly bookings after arriving about 800 years late to the scene of most 50/50 balls and was a constant liability.

It was no coincidence that we played better when he was suspended and results improved when he was finally dropped, only to then go backwards when injury to others forced us to play him again. I can't be bothered compiling the actual stats but he wasn't involved in any of our 3 biggest wins (3-0 vs Alloa and Clyde and 6-2 vs Dumbarton) and pretty much only acceptable team performances last season. Worth also mentioning that in the two games when he was sent off we still won both matches. 

All of the above make him a genuine contender for our worst ever 11. And we've had some absolute rotters over the years.

If McGlynn can somehow get a tune out of him or Brad McKay I'll consider it a Guardiola-esque achievement.  

He’s obviously been terrible for Falkirk but he got his move to Falkirk because he was a very good player for a good Alloa team. Would’ve had plenty of offers last summer

1 minute ago, 1320Lichtie said:

He’s obviously been terrible for Falkirk but he got his move to Falkirk because he was a very good player for a good Alloa team. Would’ve had plenty of offers last summer

There's more to it than some are making out. I wasn't disappointed or excited when he was signed up, knew he'd done well at Alloa and thought okay that's another option in midfield for us. I think everybody thought Hetherington would come in and be an option off the bench in midfield or someone to come on and tighten things up when needed...

However Sheerin installed him as Team Captain, and seemed to play him however poorly he played. An example being we were thumping Airdrie away for the first time in 2 seasons, 2-0 up in 30 minutes before Hetherington gets himself sent off and nearly costs the side the win. Big Ernaldo Krasniqi (GBNF) came off the bench controlling the midfield and we got away with a 2-1 win.

We then went on to play Clyde without Hetherington, won 3-0, next game he's back in the side, 1-0 loss to QP. 

We then won 2 games out of the next 15 with Hetherington as captain and Krasniqi getting very limited minutes before Fucking off back down south. 

Im not saying at all that he's 100% at fault for that horrendous campaign, but he definitely didn't perform to any sort of decent level last season. 

With Hetherington we were promised a ball winning centre midfielder who could play a bit, instead we got a player who's constantly caught on the ball and is 5 years too late to every tackle. There's no doubt that he's trying, he's just not anywhere near good enough. Hopefully Alloa fancy him back.

7 minutes ago, Senor Bairn said:

There's more to it than some are making out. I wasn't disappointed or excited when he was signed up, knew he'd done well at Alloa and thought okay that's another option in midfield for us. I think everybody thought Hetherington would come in and be an option off the bench in midfield or someone to come on and tighten things up when needed...

However Sheerin installed him as Team Captain, and seemed to play him however poorly he played. An example being we were thumping Airdrie away for the first time in 2 seasons, 2-0 up in 30 minutes before Hetherington gets himself sent off and nearly costs the side the win. Big Ernaldo Krasniqi (GBNF) came off the bench controlling the midfield and we got away with a 2-1 win.

We then went on to play Clyde without Hetherington, won 3-0, next game he's back in the side, 1-0 loss to QP. 

We then won 2 games out of the next 15 with Hetherington as captain and Krasniqi getting very limited minutes before Fucking off back down south. 

Im not saying at all that he's 100% at fault for that horrendous campaign, but he definitely didn't perform to any sort of decent level last season. 

Aye you’ll all know what you’re talking about. Not disagreeing with any of it. I just think that there’s been some kind of proper malaise there and some terrible managerial appointments (tbf I obviously had maroon tinted specs on talking about Sheerin, looking back it looked like Stewart Petrie was intact the brains of the outfit at Arbroath while Sheerin was playing) so me or anyone judging players based off their time with you doesn’t seem like a great idea. Seems like nearly everyone’s been terrible.

Dowds was before he left by all accounts a lot of people were saying good riddance including upper management 

Like I’ve said in here I believe McGlynn will change that he is a great appointment 

5 hours ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Doubt hetherington was ever a good player. Dowds yes there's a player there if used correctly but hetherington is just brutal.  Got away with it at alloa playing avoid relegation football  but in any team that wants to actually win something he's nae use. Never seen a player give the ball away so much . Struggles to pass it 5 yards and can't tackle. The times he got red cards they were for sheer stupidity and not actually just getting stuck in. I'd drive him anywhere that wants him.

Did you watch any Alloa v Falkirk games when Hetherington was an Alloa player? He was an absolute stand-out. I was so excited when we signed him. Unfortunately, he's been shite with us. 

24 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

Aye you’ll all know what you’re talking about. Not disagreeing with any of it. I just think that there’s been some kind of proper malaise there and some terrible managerial appointments (tbf I obviously had maroon tinted specs on talking about Sheerin, looking back it looked like Stewart Petrie was intact the brains of the outfit at Arbroath while Sheerin was playing) so me or anyone judging players based off their time with you doesn’t seem like a great idea. Seems like nearly everyone’s been terrible.

Dowds was before he left by all accounts a lot of people were saying good riddance including upper management 

Like I’ve said in here I believe McGlynn will change that he is a great appointment 

Dowds first season with us was the Covid season and to be fair he wasn't given a proper chance, he looked really unfit. I don't know how he looked in the last preseason however it was clear he wasn't in Sheerins plans of playing a 4231 with a mobile striker up top to press and link with the midfield (We got Michael Ruth instead lol). 

Holt and Sheerins (Mostly Holts) handling of the Loan move berating Dowds at the Q&A while he was still our player was one of the most embarrassing moments of last season. Showed how out of touch our full upper management was. 

I really feel for Dowds, I'm glad he showed how good he could've been for us and I hope he goes on to have a good career, the way he was treated here was shocking and fair play to him for coming back and actually putting a shift in the second half of the season for us cause if it was me I'd have telt the club to f**k off.

5 hours ago, gav-ffc said:

He looked like someone who hadn’t played football in a year.

He also looked like someone who won’t play football again (other than as a coach). Looked well and truly done, but not in a Griffiths way. Simply age had caught up with him.

2 hours ago, Kempes said:

And Nick Pope could be a good back-up keeper…

Utter nonsense. If he signs, he will be first choice imho.

8 minutes ago, Duncan Freemason said:

He also looked like someone who won’t play football again (other than as a coach). Looked well and truly done, but not in a Griffiths way. Simply age had caught up with him.

Thirty two years old. Coming into a struggling team after playing 3 games in 17 months. Injury also fractures to his foot, not muscle. Pre season and a run of matches will do him wonders. I’m personally very happy with it and think it’ll be an upgrade on Chris Hamilton (very good player and effective in that position but really needed to improve with the football at his feet) who will find a good club this summer too 

We shall see. With lack of games, you would rightly expect to see game on game improvements in staying power, in competitiveness. There was not one shred of that over two or three months. Genuinely looked done, not just a bit off the pace.

1 hour ago, The Laddie Gastineau said:

Did you watch any Alloa v Falkirk games when Hetherington was an Alloa player? He was an absolute stand-out. I was so excited when we signed him. Unfortunately, he's been shite with us. 

Yes I did. Wasn't impressed by any of the alloa players that season to be honest. We managed to beat them twice despite being god awful.