The Falkirk FC Thread

4 minutes ago, Should know better at 70 said:

I don't think it will be too much of an embarrassment due to the current circumstances, where some supporters may be suffering financially due to Covid, buying or renewing a season ticket won't be high on their list of priorities at the moment.

It will still be embarrassing. I know plenty who are not renewing this year and its predominantly due to non-financial reasons.

The thing about season tickets is we don't know what we're buying. Will I be getting 18 games in a normal stadium situation where I can sit where I usually do in the SS or will it be a socially distanced arrangement with limited numbers and sit where you're told - in the far corner of the MS for instance? Or will it be the godawful stream?

They're selling a product, until I know what it is I ain't buying. 

As for "support your club" and treat it like a donation - they can get that in the sea. 

1 hour ago, Newbornbairn said:

The thing about season tickets is we don't know what we're buying. Will I be getting 18 games in a normal stadium situation where I can sit where I usually do in the SS or will it be a socially distanced arrangement with limited numbers and sit where you're told - in the far corner of the MS for instance? Or will it be the godawful stream?

They're selling a product, until I know what it is I ain't buying. 

As for "support your club" and treat it like a donation - they can get that in the sea. 

Most clubs are in the exact same situation. Going by the dates, we’ll have full stadium’s by August 9th at the earliest. If it’s pushed back then the likelihood is at some point we’ll all be back in. 

2 hours ago, Should know better at 70 said:

I don't think it will be too much of an embarrassment due to the current circumstances, where some supporters may be suffering financially due to Covid, buying or renewing a season ticket won't be high on their list of priorities at the moment.

And how shite we have been for the last 4 seasons 

2 hours ago, latapythelegend said:

It will still be embarrassing. I know plenty who are not renewing this year and its predominantly due to non-financial reasons.

Was always going to be the case. People getting out of the habit. Doing other things on a Saturday. Shite stadium - team - managers - directors.

That on top of financial insecurity they will be lucky if they get a 2/3rds take up from last season.

That is the sad reality of FFC at the moment.

Guest Peter LaFleur

Michael Ruth linked on-loan from Aberdeen by Scott Burns who is normally spot on. Makes sense with the Sheerin/Aberdeen connection also.

You'd rather see signings like that than jobbers like Wilson or Robertson, no guarantees of success ofcourse, only need to look at Fotheringham and McLelland last season, but at least we can console ourselves with the fact that superscout Holt would sign them again, the trumpet. 

9 minutes ago, Peter LaFleur said:

Michael Ruth linked on-loan from Aberdeen by Scott Burns who is normally spot on. Makes sense with the Sheerin/Aberdeen connection also.

Don't imagine he'll be the last Aberdeen youth player coming our way.

Guest Peter LaFleur
1 minute ago, ebobsboy said:

You'd rather see signings like that than jobbers like Wilson or Robertson, no guarantees of success ofcourse, only need to look at Fotheringham and McLelland last season, but at least we can console ourselves with the fact that superscout Holt would sign them again, the trumpet. 

Sheerin having a look at Holtys gems from Sunday league and thinking f**k this I’ll get some kids from Aberdeen.

Edited by Peter LaFleur

What a goal machine!

Sign him up.

Michael Ruth
Personal information
Full name Michael Ruth
Date of birth 8 January 2002 (age 19)
Place of birth Glasgow, Scotland
Position(s) Forward
Club information
Current team
Aberdeen
Number 28
Youth career
–2018 Queen's Park
Senior career*
Years Team Apps (Gls)
2018–2019 Queen's Park 10 (1)
2019– Aberdeen 1 (0)
2020–2021  Arbroath (loan) 11 (0)
* Senior club appearances and goals counted for the domestic league only and correct as of 23:53, 25 April 2021 (UTC)

1 minute ago, ebobsboy said:

In fairness Robertson's history isn't exactly any different to Ruth. 19 year old striker who has only just been released by a premier league team. Again Sheerin's worked with Ruth so he knows what he's getting from him so we just need to trust that he knows best here. Doesn't seem to have done much at Arbroath on loan but to be fair I don't think many of the Arbroath team done much the first half of the season.

It's one thing signing a youngster as a gamble but you have to have a player much closer to a sure bet for goals in your squad too.  Look at our rivals this season. Cove have strikers with goals in them, queen's park have strikers with goals in them at the moment I wouldn't bet on any of our boys getting more than 4 or 5 and that would include a youngster with very little game time. We cannot go into the league campaign with a crocked Keena, dowds and a young boy with zero experience as our striking options.  Any other addition better not be either of those jobbers from the meadow game. You would have thought that whilst Holt was signing all these pre contracts last season a striker would've been a priority considering how utterly woeful their record was last season.

Got to thinking about Holt's answer about getting a prolific goal scoring striker in and how there have only been 18 players scoring 15 goals a season over the last 3 seasons. I never knew that we only played football in Scotland. Try looking further afield man: National League and National Leagues North and South in England, the Irish League, the League of Ireland, the Welsh League. Stop sending fecking emails at 12 midnight and do some research on these leagues, earn your money.

11 minutes ago, Bairn in Exile said:

Got to thinking about Holt's answer about getting a prolific goal scoring striker in and how there have only been 18 players scoring 15 goals a season over the last 3 seasons. I never knew that we only played football in Scotland. Try looking further afield man: National League and National Leagues North and South in England, the Irish League, the League of Ireland, the Welsh League. Stop sending fecking emails at 12 midnight and do some research on these leagues, earn your money.

He's earning his money, it's actually 1am he's sending his emails.

Just now, Shadwell Dog said:

Half the battle is that from the pictures he looks like a right jobber. 

Shadders you can't tell a jobber from pictures. He can look like a right fud from pictures but you can't tell how he plays from them. As RandomGuy has said could just be a case of a club giving him his chance for him to kick on. He's 19 years old for christ sake. Sheerin's rightfully having a look at him to get his own judgement. If he's shite Sheerin will identify that and off he will pop. 

52 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

It's one thing signing a youngster as a gamble but you have to have a player much closer to a sure bet for goals in your squad too.  Look at our rivals this season. Cove have strikers with goals in them, queen's park have strikers with goals in them at the moment I wouldn't bet on any of our boys getting more than 4 or 5 and that would include a youngster with very little game time. We cannot go into the league campaign with a crocked Keena, dowds and a young boy with zero experience as our striking options.  Any other addition better not be either of those jobbers from the meadow game. You would have thought that whilst Holt was signing all these pre contracts last season a striker would've been a priority considering how utterly woeful their record was last season.

They said there would be 2 more permanent signings and 3/4 loans therefore you'd like to think one of those permanent signings will still be a striker regardless of whether Ruth comes in or not. 

33 minutes ago, FFC 1876 said:

Shadders you can't tell a jobber from pictures. He can look like a right fud from pictures but you can't tell how he plays from them. As RandomGuy has said could just be a case of a club giving him his chance for him to kick on. He's 19 years old for christ sake. Sheerin's rightfully having a look at him to get his own judgement. If he's shite Sheerin will identify that and off he will pop. 

They said there would be 2 more permanent signings and 3/4 loans therefore you'd like to think one of those permanent signings will still be a striker regardless of whether Ruth comes in or not. 

Shaved heid socks rooms his ankles  actually looks far older than 19 . You can't tell his football from a picture but to me he disnae look much like a pro footballer. Means absolutely nothing though in the grand scheme of things and I'm not writing him off because of that. I'm just not convinced by any of these boys . You'd maybe take one of Ruth, Wilson or Robertson as a gamble but I'd be concerned if we signed 2 of them.