FFC 1876 Posted December 7, 2020 Share Posted December 7, 2020 Did Gomis go off at half time due to an injury or was it just a case of keeping him fresh? Hopefully Telfer's fine from the knock he took and we should have Miller & Mutch back training at somepoint this week so nearly back to a fully fit squad. Got to say watching the games on Falkirk TV instead of being at the game allows you to get a much better look at the opposition. Thought Steven Boyd looked lively upfront for them and then the young lad Lyle Cameron on loan from Dundee made a huge difference when he came on. Didn't really make much of Scott Brown do I'm glad we never signed him in the summer. Still think Forfar's the worst of the lot we've played so far. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hank von Hell Posted December 7, 2020 Share Posted December 7, 2020 Listened to the John Baird episode of WDH , as usual great stuff from the guys but as was said earlier by others John was refreshingly honest which made this one particularly great. I'm glad he feels the same as me about the biggest scandal of our recent history - the scrapping of the academy. Craig Campbell and Margret Lang (and her made up figures) are two of the biggest villains in modern times. Good that the Rawlins want to bring it back but as Bairdy says it will take at least a decade to deliver again. Anyway, I was struck by what he said about that Houston team that ran Rangers & Hibs all the way - almost that it was unappreciated. Maybe having experienced a long period of ongoing great teams we were taking it for granted at the time. That's certainly not the case now for me, got to look back at that team as the last of the brilliant ones for sure. Hopefully when we get back in the Championship we can build again & have those levels of player once more. One thing that struck me is that he said he has emigrated to Australia , I tell you there is no way they will understand him here speaking at that speed and that Weegie. I had to rewind him more than a few times to catch what he was saying. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
NavyBlueArmy1876 Posted December 7, 2020 Share Posted December 7, 2020 (edited) Peterhead, East Fife and Dumbarton and Forfar have all looked awful so far. Cove and Montrose look competent sides at this level and will be sniffing around the playoffs. I suspect Clyde and Airdrie will be very similar outfits to our previous encounters. But the only teams that managed to beat us last season, so important we turn up for these games and actually attempt to mark Goodwillie. Partick have looked like the only competent challengers for automatic promotion so far, but they can't seem to stick the ball in the back of the net (they've scored exactly half the number of goals we have so far). As others have said the game on boxing day will be massive Edited December 7, 2020 by NavyBlueArmy1876 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superandy_07 Posted December 7, 2020 Share Posted December 7, 2020 What a man 8 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluegrass Bairn Posted December 7, 2020 Share Posted December 7, 2020 1 hour ago, superandy_07 said: What a man Loved that game v Gretna at Motherwell. . We played great stuff that day and really put those puffed-up feckers right back in their box. Seem to remember a Bairns fan running on the pitch and across the 6-yard box and sarcastically patting the Gretna goalie on the head after Russell's goal (top left pic)? Is that right? Went to see the wee man play at the World Cup in 2006 - kilts, T&T tops and rasta wigs, and a big Bairns flag behind the goals in Kaiserslautern when he made his 20-minute cameo against Paraguay. Great day out, even though T&T lost...Just like being at a Scotand game, ironically. 6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
60`s bairn Posted December 7, 2020 Share Posted December 7, 2020 4 hours ago, superandy_07 said: What a man Meant to add this one in...a nice wee "Dink" past Bryn Halliwell from the penalty spot!! 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaz Posted December 7, 2020 Share Posted December 7, 2020 (edited) My two memories of Bryn Halliwell are him pulling off one of the best saves I've ever seen from Pedro Moutinho(?) at Broadwood, and then him celebrating like he'd won the World Cup after a 0-0 draw at TFS which pretty much all but ended Clyde's championship challenge back in 04/05. EDIT: The save is here at 50 seconds: Can't quite work out if it's Pedro, the resolution isn't great. Edited December 7, 2020 by Gaz 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaz Posted December 7, 2020 Share Posted December 7, 2020 After watching it again with the sound on, it definitely is Pedro. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thundermonkey Posted December 7, 2020 Share Posted December 7, 2020 So John Hughes eh? Booooooooo -1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Popular Post Andy Dufresne Posted December 7, 2020 Popular Post Share Posted December 7, 2020 Said goodbye to my father in law today ,4 generations of us went to games together. RIP Ferg you were a legend. 24 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thundermonkey Posted December 7, 2020 Share Posted December 7, 2020 52 minutes ago, keithgy said: Said goodbye to my father in law today ,4 generations of us went to games together. RIP Ferg you were a legend. So sorry to hear this Keith. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Syd Puddefoot Posted December 8, 2020 Share Posted December 8, 2020 1 hour ago, Bantabairn said: Hearts are ready to talk to Andy Irving about a new long term deal, is it just another player that never “clicked with us” ? He was 18 and playing in a relegation battle with a totally duff set of players. That said, he really lacked stamina,understandable at that age,wasn't pacy either. Would have been difficult to click at all in those circumstances. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
NavyBlueArmy1876 Posted December 8, 2020 Share Posted December 8, 2020 I've watched a few Hearts games since he left us and not been impressed with Irving tbh. Don't get me wrong, he's improved a lot and would walk in to our current team, but if I were Hearts I'd be looking for better. Though maybe theyve finally learned their lesson and are trying to improve home grown players rather than signing swathes of foreign dross on enormous wages 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FFC 1876 Posted December 8, 2020 Share Posted December 8, 2020 2 hours ago, Bantabairn said: Hearts are ready to talk to Andy Irving about a new long term deal, is it just another player that never “clicked with us” ? I think it's very harsh to put the blame on him, I think it's more a case of we never utilised him as effectively as we should have. The talent in him was plain to see and to be honest I was disappointed when we sent him back to Hearts. Sprayed the ball well, always looked to pick a forward pass and considering he was only 18 he never shyed away from getting on the ball which is more than can be said for some that season. Got to remember as well he was replaced in midfield by diddies like Osman and Buaben. 6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigbrbairn Posted December 8, 2020 Share Posted December 8, 2020 Off to get my vaccine today. Surely I can use my season ticket after the second jab early January? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shadwell Dog Posted December 8, 2020 Share Posted December 8, 2020 (edited) Irving flattered to deceive if you ask me. Hid in far too many games and wanted to keep hold of the ball far too long. Seen far better 18 year olds at Falkirk over the past decade or so. He like the vast majority of hearts youngsters that have been fawned over will go nowhere. Wasn't that long ago they were raving about Harry Cochrane and now he's struggling to get a game for Montrose. Moore was another who will soon end up in league one or two. Edited December 8, 2020 by Shadwell Dog 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FFC 1876 Posted December 8, 2020 Share Posted December 8, 2020 1 hour ago, Shadwell Dog said: Irving flattered to deceive if you ask me. Hid in far too many games and wanted to keep hold of the ball far too long. Seen far better 18 year olds at Falkirk over the past decade or so. He like the vast majority of hearts youngsters that have been fawned over will go nowhere. Wasn't that long ago they were raving about Harry Cochrane and now he's struggling to get a game for Montrose. Moore was another who will soon end up in league one or two. The same Harry Cochrane that's started in 4 out of the 5/6 league games he's been at Montrose? I think his problem is down to attitude but you can't really blame the kid when you look at some of the press articles released when he first broke into the Hearts team. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bairney The Dinosaur Posted December 8, 2020 Share Posted December 8, 2020 When Irving first came in I thought he looked a really good player. I thought it was more a case of his standards being dragged down by those around him. 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MrDust Posted December 8, 2020 Share Posted December 8, 2020 5 hours ago, Bantabairn said: Hearts are ready to talk to Andy Irving about a new long term deal, is it just another player that never “clicked with us” ? He looked our best signing tbh for me and signed a day or two before his debut. He wasnt a superstar just looked capable 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShaggerG Posted December 8, 2020 Share Posted December 8, 2020 7 hours ago, Bantabairn said: Hearts are ready to talk to Andy Irving about a new long term deal, is it just another player that never “clicked with us” ? Good footballer; nae oomph! 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...