The Falkirk FC Thread

Just now, Marshmallo said:

A majority of cases are asymptomatic. It can take days from infection to returning a positive test.

I'm all for football restarting but you're making out it's risk free unless a guy with a temperature of 103 is coughing into someone's mouth.

Correct it's about appropriate risk assessment and following guidelines to reduce potential for infections.

Long term testing for clubs outwith top flight is not sustainable.  My last meeting with SFA the chief executive  advised that the cost per test was £75 therefore 20 tests twice a week is 3k.

As such the only way to get back is to follow guidelines, each club will have a covid co-ordinator, risk assessments in place and protocols to follow.  Its the only way to get lower league football back as other wise not financially sustainable to test long term.

5 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

A majority of cases are asymptomatic. It can take days from infection to returning a positive test.

I'm all for football restarting but you're making out it's risk free unless a guy with a temperature of 103 is coughing into someone's mouth.

4 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

This is quite simply bollocks. There is "no scenario" where this could happen?

Testing will likely be happening twice before every match. 

If anyone flags as positive, then another round of testing is done. Thats how its been working for top flight clubs. Of course its not perfect, but if clubs continue to use the right procedures (again, looking at Saints who are using two buses and a minibus to get to away games), then the chances of an entire squad going down and needing to isolate for 14 days is incredibly slim. It would take a massive breach of procedure, or multiple batches of false negative tests/flawed tests, to bring up this "worst case scenario".

How it works for lower league clubs, especially with part time players, is a whole different matter. Let's just hope by October its completely under control in this country.

4 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

Sorry but this is just wrong.

Its not.

Over 14 days players should be tested around 4/5 times at this moment.

The way training is set up, they should not be coming into regular close contact with each other. Everything is sterilised between drills, and all players are given individual balls/share balls in their "bubble". 

Bounce matches, and competitive matches, are the main danger. The only issue will be if the testing procedures (twice before a match, at least 24hrs before the match) fail, or a player with no symptoms gets a false negative, plays, and then every other player gets a false negative when they're tested 24hrs later. After matches players have to self isolate until they're tested again, that's common practice for top flight clubs just now (at least its meant to be). Away games sees players keeping distanced on multiple buses to return home.

Most top flight clubs have videos up of their training sessions if you want to view them. Its not close contact, its all outdoors, and there's specific staff going about with disinfectant wiping everything down routinely. Players arrive, have their cars distanced, wear masks until they make it to the pitch, lay their stuff down in marked out, distanced, areas. They do their training, most of it distanced and with their own ball, and then individually leave. They are then meant to isolate at home until the next training session. It should be virtually impossible for a virus to spread amongst them without a serious breach of protocol. 

So players have to sleep in separate beds from their wives, do no shopping and can't socialise with anyone for a yet to be determined amount of time?

You're talking in absolute terms about something you can't he absolutist about.

This isn't the NBA bubble at Disney.

Guest Ecosse83
11 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

So players have to sleep in separate beds from their wives, do no shopping and can't socialise with anyone for a yet to be determined amount of time?

Randomguy is talking pish, I wouldn't even waste your time replying. Some folk just think they know everything! 😴

18 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

After matches they've to act as if they're self isolating. They've to stay in the house with whoever is "in their bubble". Away from the stadium they've to follow the same protocols as everyone else in terms of shielding. That is how its working. Players will face fines, and/or bans, from the SPFL if they fail to follow guidelines.

During the week they are tested, at least, twice, and are kept as isolated as possible during training.

Clubs have been training for a month, and playing multiple matches against different clubs, and not one single player has been confirmed as positive yet.

If everyone continues to follow protocol, then there's almost no chance you reach the stage of having to shut the league down for 14 days. The closest was an Aberdeen player, who got a false positive but was instantly isolated until he was tested again a few days later, and staff at St Mirren, who don't even work with the players. 

I'll say it again. It would take a massive breach of protocol for a club to have the virus spread through their playing squad. Youd have to have someone away from the club interacting with someone who has the virus but doesn't know, they would then have to catch the virus and have no symptoms, get through a test without it flagging up, come into sustained close contact with a fellow players (everything they share at training is sterilised continuously). These players would then have to get through another test without it flagging up, and then come into close contact with players at a different club. Youd then have, potentially, 36 players who shared a pitch self isolating for 24hrs then getting tested again before they even return to training. By then those infected would have had to have got through 3 tests, and a week, with no idea they had the virus, for it to be a problem.

It just shouldn't happen unless someone fucks up.

Edited by RandomGuy.

2 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Nae offence RandomGuy, but I cant let COVID assurances from you slide without at least a mention that you were willing to swallow that catching covid leaves you with HIV.

I was in a bad way mentally. Being at home constantly didnt agree with me.

3 minutes ago, Ecosse83 said:

Randomguy is talking pish, I wouldn't even waste your time replying. Some folk just think they know everything! 😴

Go look at Motherwells twitter. They give a pretty clear example of how its all working for top flight clubs.

29 minutes ago, Ecosse83 said:

Aye I'm going to stop clogging up the thread now, particularly at a time when folk are sharing memories of David Hagen.

My pet peeve is someone telling others they're wrong as he did, when they themselves are talking complete and utter shit.

25 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

After matches they've to act as if they're self isolating. They've to stay in the house with whoever is "in their bubble". Away from the stadium they've to follow the same protocols as everyone else in terms of shielding. That is how its working. Players will face fines, and/or bans, from the SPFL if they fail to follow guidelines.

During the week they are tested, at least, twice, and are kept as isolated as possible during training.

Clubs have been training for a month, and playing multiple matches against different clubs, and not one single player has been confirmed as positive yet.

If everyone continues to follow protocol, then there's almost no chance you reach the stage of having to shut the league down for 14 days. The closest was an Aberdeen player, who got a false positive but was instantly isolated until he was tested again a few days later, and staff at St Mirren, who don't even work with the players. 

I'll say it again. It would take a massive breach of protocol for a club to have the virus spread through their playing squad. Youd have to have someone away from the club interacting with someone who has the virus but doesn't know, they would then have to catch the virus and have no symptoms, get through a test without it flagging up, come into sustained close contact with a fellow players (everything they share at training is sterilised continuously). These players would then have to get through another test without it flagging up, and then come into close contact with players at a different club. Youd then have, potentially, 36 players who shared a pitch self isolating for 24hrs then getting tested again before they even return to training. By then those infected would have had to have got through 3 tests, and a week, with no idea they had the virus, for it to be a problem.

It just shouldn't happen unless someone fucks up.

Thanks for the insight. You obviously have a close knowledge of the process and a trust in the experts who put that process in place. 

I don't know anything about either. However, I find your explanation more credible than anything your detractors have posted.  

Let's hope - for the sake of all our clubs - that the experts who've set this up have got it right. The consequences if they haven't don't bear thinking about. 

7 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

😂

As I said. Almost all clubs have detailed explanations of what their processes are up on their social media. 

This isnt something I've just created in my mind, its literally the exact process every club is following. The SPFL response group have enforced it, and then the clubs have added wee bits themselves. Theres multiple videos of training happening at these clubs where its clear what theyre doing.

I've zero idea why you think its more possible that a whole club will be put on lockdown for two weeks, when every player is getting tested every 3 days then isolating in-between, than what I've said.

Testing will likely be happening twice before every match. 
If anyone flags as positive, then another round of testing is done. Thats how its been working for top flight clubs. Of course its not perfect, but if clubs continue to use the right procedures (again, looking at Saints who are using two buses and a minibus to get to away games), then the chances of an entire squad going down and needing to isolate for 14 days is incredibly slim. It would take a massive breach of procedure, or multiple batches of false negative tests/flawed tests, to bring up this "worst case scenario".
How it works for lower league clubs, especially with part time players, is a whole different matter. Let's just hope by October its completely under control in this country.

Talking from experience I can tell you the night before I saw my symptoms coming on I was in a restaurant in Austria having a few beers till nearly midnight. I started to feel ill during the night and by the morning I could hardly get out of bed. Granted I am not a fit professional athlete but because someone has tested negative one day it means absolutely nothing. None of this is risk free even with rigorous testing.

1 minute ago, Back Post Misses said:

Talking from experience I can tell you the night before I saw my symptoms coming on I was in a restaurant in Austria having a few beers till nearly midnight. I started to feel ill during the night and by the morning I could hardly get out of bed.

I've drunk beer like that.

5 minutes ago, Back Post Misses said:

Talking from experience I can tell you the night before I saw my symptoms coming on I was in a restaurant in Austria having a few beers till nearly midnight. I started to feel ill during the night and by the morning I could hardly get out of bed. Granted I am not a fit professional athlete but because someone has tested negative one day it means absolutely nothing. None of this is risk free even with rigorous testing.

Of course, which is why they're being tested so regularly.

After St Mirrens "outbreak" of one non-playing staff coach testing positive, St Mirren, Hamilton and Hibernian have all done extra tests. Thats how strict clubs are being about trying to catch and isolate infections.

53 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Go look at Motherwells twitter. They give a pretty clear example of how its all working for top flight clubs.

Its obviously NOT as Motherwell and Rangers have both been asked to explain their testing regime.

I would hazard a guess the fact the SFA/SPFL have dealt with the Scottish Government for the go ahead for the season and games to begin any links to COVID and football matches will see the games closed down again for the protection of the wider community.