The Falkirk FC Thread

10 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

I dont have a problem with the way Dobbie is paid, and find his attachment to Queens quite nice really. 

But he operates outwith the clubs affordability and only the willingness of a group of locals to fund the endeavour has kept yourselves from what would undoubtedly be a freefall. You have an unsustainably expensive Trump card that has literally kept you in the league. 

So aye, Dobbie loves Queens, and you are football fans, of course you enjoy seeing it, but we'll take zero lectures from Queens about use of funds, when we only spend money we generate and by all accounts, are run sensibly (financially speaking)

It's quite amazing that they've got a player that good for that level and yet are fighting off relegation every year. Doesnt say much for the managers in charge.  I reckon even dross like mckinnon wouldve kept us up with him playing in the side. 

Just now, HopeStreetWalker said:

Stirling Uni !

Yeah and that's going to be cheap. Training there will cost us a few quid and then you've got to add on the cost of renting the stadium for matches. Probably cost us more than we're paying the now.

What do we think Gary Deans was trying to say here?
“I have already embarked upon discussions with other clubs who share my anger and we will be considering the next steps to take over the weekend. I will keep you informed as matters progress but for now the club has made it clear that we cannot support this unfair decision taken by six clubs and supported by those at the SPFL. Change is required.”
Do you think he was pushing for change without the top flight?…

“I have already embarked upon discussions with other clubs who share my anger and we will be considering the next steps to take over the weekend. I will keep you informed as matters progress but for now the club has made it clear that we cannot support this unfair decision taken by six clubs and supported by those at the SPFL. Change is required.”
I think he was howling at the moon using a technique successfully employed to allay the concerns of idiots, by The Rangers*.

The comparisons arent just for fun, that's what this is, they and to an increasing extent, Celtic do it because it works. He is copying them.

He needs to drop it.

1 minute ago, roman_bairn said:

You cant help but feel that the league and relationships between some  teams has been irrevocably damaged by the complete shambles of the last few weeks.

What a shower!

Just read a summary of a report by a respected epidemiologist in The Lancet whose view (I repeat view), is that everyone is eventually going to be infected by this virus and it will affect people in different ways from zero to death. The only advantage of lockdown is to slow this process down which it has done which means that the health service is operating at a very low capacity.

His view is that it would be better to end lockdown and speed up the infection rate and build up immunity.

He reckons that the benefits of a speedier return to economic normality and the health benefits therefrom far outweigh keepIng everyone battened down under house arrest.

I’ll leave you with a reference to an article by Toby Young who states that the biggest fear by lots of people is not the virus but coming out of furlough and going back to work.

Time we started putting pressure on the UK and Scottish governments to show a bit of grit and determination.

Personally , I would be quite happy to retake my seat in August with the usual folks next to me.

3 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

I think he was howling at the moon using a technique successfully employed to allay the concerns of idiots, by The Rangers*.

The comparisons arent just for fun, that's what this is, they and to an increasing extent, Celtic do it because it works. He is copying them.

He needs to drop it.

Depends how many teams hes talking about surely.

What a shower!
Just read a summary of a report by a respected epidemiologist in The Lancet whose view (I repeat view), is that everyone is eventually going to be infected by this virus and it will affect people in different ways from zero to death. The only advantage of lockdown is to slow this process down which it has done which means that the health service is operating at a very low capacity.
His view is that it would be better to end lockdown and speed up the infection rate and build up immunity.
He reckons that the benefits of a speedier return to economic normality and the health benefits therefrom far outweigh keepIng everyone battened down under house arrest.
I’ll leave you with a reference to an article by Toby Young who states that the biggest fear by lots of people is not the virus but coming out of furlough and going back to work.
Time we started putting pressure on the UK and Scottish governments to show a bit of grit and determination.
Personally , I would be quite happy to retake my seat in August with the usual folks next to me.

You need to look at some graphs to understand the difference in the number of cases in an R of less than one and an R or anything over 1.
Our health service will not cope with anything over 1 for a prolonged period.
As for Toby Young......🤪

4 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Depends how many teams hes talking about surely.

Whatever he is talking about, it will require lengthy, probably months of discussions. If they have initiated something formally, tell us. If not, shut up until you have instead of ranting when all probability tells us that f**k all is happening or will happen. 

3 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Whatever he is talking about, it will require lengthy, probably months of discussions. If they have initiated something formally, tell us. If not, shut up until you have instead of ranting when all probability tells us that f**k all is happening or will happen. 

I do agree that we're great at doing the ranting but very rarely do anything apart from finally rolling over and having our tummies tickled.  Mind you we're only one of a long line of clubs that has done that. Hearts and Rangers may or may not prove to be the next ones we'll find out soon enough. 

7 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Yeah and that's going to be cheap. Training there will cost us a few quid and then you've got to add on the cost of renting the stadium for matches. Probably cost us more than we're paying the now.

Never know until you sit down and negotiate. This is a new business environment and old arrangements no longer apply. Most companies are reviewing contracts with suppliers and customers saying just that.

For the first time since we moved there.   Business dictates if the deal we have is not re negotiated to the clubs satisfaction we walk.

So before they sit down with the council they are aware FFC have an alternative to go to.

Let them squirm ! we owe no loyalty or goodwill towards the council. The realisation their only sizable income stream is about to go elsewhere should focus their minds.

Walk in and sit down with the groundwork done. The council knowing they have to convince FFC to stay or its a financial black hole they have on their hands.

Screw them to the wall. Peppercorn rent - 80% of car park fees to the club on match days - Long term lease on a rent to buy basis. That will do for starters !

There must be some hard nosed negotiator the club can get on board !

I do agree that we're great at doing the ranting but very rarely do anything apart from finally rolling over and having our tummies tickled.  Mind you we're only one of a long line of clubs that has done that. Hearts and Rangers may or may not prove to be the next ones we'll find out soon enough. 
I prefer our shit to be handled with dignity. There seems to be a total head in the sand approach as AGPar already said, that a next season, and indeed existence for all clubs is a foregone conclusion. It's far from it and I would rather our primary focus was having a club, followed by participating in any and all discussions about the way forward for football in Scotland.

This statement lends absolutely nothing to anything, except to appease raging fans.

Any outcome folk think might somehow come from that statement could also have been achieved without the statement. It's the definition of pointless moon howling, and it's not dignified.

So aye, prob my last word on it but it's a big faux pas for me.

1 hour ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

Not an issue ! hire it for matches and leave the Council to it.

"Ah, you want to hire the stadium for a Scottish Cup replay in 3 days? Please fill out this form in triplicate 28 days in advance of your intended booking"

"A re-scheduled match on a Tuesday night? Sorry, the Polmont junior ladies team are training that night"

22 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

He needs to drop it.

I don’t want us to be like Rangers or Celtic mate.

Both supported by scumbags and run by scumbags.

f**k them both. We are Falkirk.

1 minute ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

Never know until you sit down and negotiate. This is a new business environment and old arrangements no longer apply. Most companies are reviewing contracts with suppliers and customers saying just that.

For the first time since we moved there.   Business dictates if the deal we have is not re negotiated to the clubs satisfaction we walk.

So before they sit down with the council they are aware FFC have an alternative to go to.

Let them squirm ! we owe no loyalty or goodwill towards the council. The realisation their only sizable income stream is about to go elsewhere should focus their minds.

Walk in and sit down with the groundwork done. The council knowing they have to convince FFC to stay or its a financial black hole they have on their hands.

Screw them to the wall. Peppercorn rent - 80% of car park fees to the club on match days - Long term lease on a rent to buy basis. That will do for starters !

There must be some hard nosed negotiator the club can get on board !

Surely they know though that we've got nowhere else to play games. Where are we going to play otherwise? Stenny isn't big enough and your not wanting your fans travelling far for home games. It's not as if we have the upper hand with that. Plus you've got a long term agreement with SA  to rent that stand. We'd be renting it out and yet playing somewhere else.

1 minute ago, NewBornBairn said:

"Ah, you want to hire the stadium for a Scottish Cup replay in 3 days? Please fill out this form in triplicate 28 days in advance of your intended booking"

"A re-scheduled match on a Tuesday night? Sorry, the Polmont junior ladies team are training that night"

That's what is covered when you negotiate correctly !  Stipulate there will be instances when short notice hire will be required that overrides other hires.

It was a similar match day access only arrangement we had in place at the time that led to the absolute embarrassment of having to rearrange an important playoff match due to a BMX tournament at the stadium.

4 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

I prefer our shit to be handled with dignity. There seems to be a total head in the sand approach as AGPar already said, that a next season, and indeed existence for all clubs is a foregone conclusion. It's far from it and I would rather our primary focus was having a club, followed by participating in any and all discussions about the way forward for football in Scotland.

This statement lends absolutely nothing to anything, except to appease raging fans.

Any outcome folk think might somehow come from that statement could also have been achieved without the statement. It's the definition of pointless moon howling, and it's not dignified.

So aye, prob my last word on it but it's a big faux pas for me.

The vast majority of our fans will lap it up though and I would think that's all that matters in a sense of going forward.

1 minute ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Surely they know though that we've got nowhere else to play games. Where are we going to play otherwise? Stenny isn't big enough and your not wanting your fans travelling far for home games. It's not as if we have the upper hand with that. Plus you've got a long term agreement with SA  to rent that stand. We'd be renting it out and yet playing somewhere else.

Then with that mindset we are no more than the Councils bitch ! That's why we have to have an option and if its Stenny so be it ! The long term agreement on the rest of the stand is re negotiated separate if need be. Fallback maybe but when we sit down with the council they have to know we are serious.

I have no affection or sense of empathy with the place and don't rate it as a stadium, its not even ours FFS. Companies terminate leases and rents and move to new locations all the times. Same applies to Football Clubs. For once not owning the stadium could work for us !